Skip to main content

LGBTQ+ Health Resources: Home

Lesbian

CDC Health Resources for Lesbians - Collection of resources relevant to lesbian and bisexual women’s issues curated by the CDC.

Health Issues for Lesbians and Women who have Sex with Women - From the Mayo Clinic.  Information on common health issues for lesbians and women who have sex with women, and how to take charge of everything from STIs to depression.

Health Care for Lesbians and Bisexual Women - From the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology.  Defines and states the prevalence of lesbian women, their barriers to health care, routine health visits, mental and psychosocial considerations, and how to create a friendly-patient care setting.

Lesbian and Bisexual Health - From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women’s Health - Health Issues of particular interest to lesbian and bisexual women.

Ten Things to Discuss with Your Lesbian Patients - From the GMLA.  Ten health issues healthcare providers should discuss with their lesbian patients.

Gay

AIDS Project Worcester - AIDS Project Worcester is a local resource that provides services to people living with HIV/AIDS.

CDC Health Resources for Gay Men - Collection of resources relevant to gay and bisexual men’s issues curated by the CDC.

GLAD - GLAD (Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders) provides legal assistance to both gay and lesbian people.

Health Issues for Gay Men - From the Mayo Clinic. Information on common health issues for gay men and men who have sex with men.

Ten Things to Discuss with Your Gay Patients - From the GMLA.  Ten health issues healthcare providers should discuss with their gay patients.

Rainbow

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rainbow_flag_breeze.jpg

UMMS LGBTA

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies (LGBTA) Committee supports LGBTA faculty, staff and students in the University Community. The committee works to create a visible network of support and serves as a resource for the UMMS LGBT community.

Common Resources

AMA LGBT Resources - Resources form the American Medical Association for providers caring for LGBT patients.

National LGBT Health Education Center - The National LGBT Health Education Center provides resources, webinars, and publications for patients and providers on how to provide appropriate and sensitive care for LGBT people. They have extensive research focused on LGBT health as well as webinars available on-demand for clinicians to educate themselves on a broad range of topics such as HIV prevention, LGBT aging, and Transgender Health.

Human Rights Campaign - The Human Rights Campaign (HRC) is a health care organization committed to LGBT health care that works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender equal rights. They publish a yearly Health Equality Index (HEI) that ranks and evaluates 1,504 healthcare facilities nationwide based on the policies and practices they have in place to ensure equality and inclusion of LGBT patients, employees, and visitors.

Parent and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) - PFLAG publishes a list of LGBT-focused organizations it partners with and provides a list of local groups for support, education, and advocacy of LGBT people. It gives clinicians a resource they can provide to parents, families, friends, and allies about how they can be an ally for their loved ones.

Mautner Project - The Mautner Project provides services to LGBT people with cancer as well as provides health education and workshops to health care professionals as well as to the LGBT community.

Resources for GLTBQ People Experiencing Domestic Violence - GLTBQ patients face a different stigma than other patients when experiencing violence. GLBTQDVP provides a 24 hour hotline and other services specialized for this population.

Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders - LGBT legal advocates for equal justice under law.

Bisexual

Bisexual and Gay Men’s Health - From the CDC. A broad range of information on health concerns of bisexual and gay men.

Bisexual Resource Center - The Bisexual Resource Center is a nonprofit that advocates for increased visibility and awareness for bisexual peoples.

Cancer Facts for Bisexual and Gay Men - American Cancer Society resource for gay and bisexual men.

Human Rights Campaign Bisexual FAQs - Discussion of issues relevant for bisexual people.

Ten Things to Discuss with Your Bisexual Patients - From the GMLA.  Ten health issues GLMA’s healthcare providers have identified as most commonly of concern for bisexual people.

Transgender

Center of Excellence for Transgender Health - From the University of California, San Francisco. The Center of Excellence for Transgender Health provides current guidelines, articles, and other protocols that providers need to properly provide care for transgender people. They provide evidenced-based protocols for physicians in Primary Care settings as well as resources for online learning, community educations, as well as information regarding everything from routine care to HIV prevention.

The Genderbread Person - Infographic to assist in understanding gender and sex. Gender, sex, and sexuality are on a spectrum that often gets convoluted. Itspronouncedmeteosexual.com provides regularly updated infographics on how to understand gender and sexuality in current and accurate ways.

Massachusetts Statewide Resources and Events - Massachusetts Transgender Political Coalition is a statewide organization that performs education, advocacy, and programming. They provide resources and coordinate events for transgender people, parents of transgender youth, etc.

National Resources for Transgender Peoples - The National Center for Transgender Equality is a national organization that aims to end discrimination against transgender peoples. Their site provides resources, especially legal ones, and updates on current events.

Transgender Law Center - The Transgender Law Center is an advocate for transgender people who work to change law, policy, and attitudes so that all people can live safely, authentically, and free from discrimination regardless of their gender identity or expression.

Ten Things to Discuss with Your Transgender Patients - From the GMLA.  Ten health issues healthcare providers should discuss with their transgender patients.