This month's featured resource is the Health Data Tools and Statistics page of the PHPartners website.
The Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHPartners) is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health science libraries. The mission of PHPartners is to help the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.
Look to this page for a lengthy list of quality resources for statistical information.
Online journals, books and databases available related to Statistics.
Freely Available Statistical Information Online
- AARP International AgeSource and AgeStats Databases - AgeSource Worldwide identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. AgeStats Worldwide provides access to comparative statistical data that compare the situation of older adults across countries or regions around a variety of issues areas.
- United Nations Statistical Division - Compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
United States Statistics
- AIDS Public Information (CDC) - Statistical information pertaining to date, place, demographics, case definition, risk factors and vital status.1981 - 2002
- America's Health Rankings (United Health Foundation) - Combines individual measures of several health determinants with the resultant health outcomes into one, comprehensive view of the health of a state.
- American Fact Finder (US Census Bureau) - American FactFinder allows users to search and analyze demographic and economic information about the United States and its communities using a variety of methods.
- American Hospital Directory - Statistics for non-federal, short-term, acute care hospitals summarized by state.
- Best Hospitals (U.S. News and World Report) - Hospital rankings both by specialty and area. From news source.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) - The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system.
- CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) Data Navigator - CMS claims and cost data.
- Community Health Status Indicators (CDC) - Provides county-level maps on access to care, demographic information, environmental health, and vital statistics.
- Data.gov - The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the executive branch of the federal government.
- Fast Stats A-Z (CDC) - Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
- Food Environment Atlas (U.S. Department of Agriculture) - County-level data on food choices, health and well-being, and community characteristics.
- H-CUPnet (AHRQ) - Data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
- HHS.gov and Health.Data.gov (Open Government) - Datasets, tools, and applications using data about health and healthcare in the United States.
- Health Indicators Warehouse (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) - Serves as the data hub for the HHS Community Health Data Initiative. It contains standardized health outcome and health determinant indicators along with associated evidence-based interventions.
- Natality Information (CDC) - The Natality online databases report counts of live births occurring within the United States to U.S. residents and non-residents. Counts can be obtained by state, county, child's gender and weight, mother's race, mother's age, mother's education, gestation period, prenatal care, birth plurality, and mother's medical and tobacco use risk factors. The data are derived from birth certificates. 1995-2006
- National Center for Health Statistics - A comprehensive collection of health statistics collected by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control.
- National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education) - A source of information from NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) (CDC) - The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
- Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau) - State and county "quick facts."
- Statistical Abstract (U.S. Census Bureau) - The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. (NOTE: The U.S. Census Bureau is terminating the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.)
- WebCASPAR (National Science Foundation) - A large body of statistical data resources for science and engineering (S&E) at U.S. academic institutions. WebCASPAR emphasizes S&E, but its data resources also provide information on non-S&E fields and higher education in general.
- Massachusetts State Data Center (UMass Amherst) - A program of the UMass Donahue Institute's Economic and Public Policy Research Unit. Part of the Census Bureau’s State Data Center Program, provides an extensive collection of census data in Massachusetts, New England, and the U.S.
- MassCHIP - Massachusetts Community Health Information Profile (MassCHIP) provides free access to many health and social indicators. Community-level data is available to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs.
- MassHEIS (Massachusetts Health and Environment Information System) - Web-based, interactive mapping tool that provides community access to health and environmental information about communities in Massachusetts.
- Our Healthy Mass - Provides information to Massachusetts residents on the health of their communities, as well as to chart progress of the Community Transformation Grant and Mass in Motion program in creating a healthier Massachusetts.