Skip to main content

Women's Health Outreach Guide: Anatomy

The Women’s Health LibGuide aims to provide information resources that offer support and a collaborative forum to learn more about women’s health issues from expert sources.

Ob/Gyn Videos

The GLOWM Global Library on Women’s Medicine offers visuals tools, as featured below.

Minimally invasive gynecologic surgery (27 videos)
30 expert, high quality and peer reviewed films from Surgery U (the largest global collaborative video library on this topic).

Laparascopic imaging and surgery (21 videos)
A range of sequences from the library of Dr Camran Nezhat, The Center for Minimal Invasive Surgery, Stanford University Medical Center, USA.

A library of basic surgical techniques (27 videos)
From inserting a Foley catheter to Robotic Surgery of Laparoscopic Myomectomy, a selection of procedures are included by Dr. Michael Hughey, The Feinberg School of Medicine of Northwestern University, Chicago.

Links to other Women’s Medicine Video Libraries
Links to other recommended sites.

  • OBGYN-101 Introductory Women's Health Care Video Collection
  • Nursing 411 Nursing Education and Training Video Collection
  • Layyous.com Laparoscopy, Hysteroscopy, ICSI, IVF, 4D Ultrasound, Pregnancy Videos

Obstetrics and Gynecology video presentations from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Medical School include topics, such as surgical care of the pregnant patient, cervical health, emergency childbirth, disparities in birth outcomes, and emergency contraception.

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery (Brigham and Womens Hospital)

Clinical Anatomy Special Issue

Clinical Anatomy, Special Issue on the Female Patient

January 2013

Volume 26Issue 1, Pages 1–152

This special issue of Clinical Anatomy focuses on the female patient. 

Anatomy Resources

Image Databases

  • Anatomia Collection. A free collection featuring approximately 4,500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy from the University of Toronto Library. 
  • DermAtlas provides access to thousands of dermatology images. Images can be searched by diagnosis, disease category, body site, pigmentation, image contributor, patient age, image name, and/or keywords. Images can be freely used for educational purposes.

  • Gray's Anatomy. Features 1,247 vibrant color engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.

  • Health Education Assets Library (HEAL). A free digital library of over 20,000 images that provides freely accessible digital teaching resources of the highest quality for health sciences educators and learners. Free registration is required.

  • Health on the Net Foundation Media Gallery. A repository of more than  6800 medical images and videos, organized by MeSH categories and terms. Images can be used freely as long as a copyright notice and link to the website are provided.

  • MD Consult Images. Click on the button labeled "images" to view illustrations from the textbooks included in this collection.

  • MedPix. Provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All public content is peer-reviewed. Some content is copyrighted and may not be copied or distributed without the author's permission.

  • Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy. A software package that includes multi-layered, three-dimensional views of the human body. Includes 3D Real-Time viewer. Access is restricted to UMMS/UMMHC workstations or by proxy service.

  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL) offers free content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Many images are copyright protected.

  • R2 Library. Access over 100 electronic textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health. Users can save, organize, and export over 68,000 images from all available R2 Library resources. The My Images feature gives users easy access to often-used images. Access is restricted to UMMS/UMMHC workstations or by proxy service.

  • SpringerImages offers a collection of free images, which is a subset of the full collection that include more than 1.5 million photos, graphs, and figures.

  • Visible Human Project. Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies, from the National Library of Medicine. Access is free.