Skip to main content

Women's Health Outreach Guide: Maternal Health

The Women’s Health LibGuide aims to provide information resources that offer support and a collaborative forum to learn more about women’s health issues from expert sources.

LactMed

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

POPLINE

POPLINE includes information on population and family planning, specifically research in contraceptive methods, family planning services, research in human fertility, maternal and child health, HIV/AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, and other related health, law, and policy issues. POPLINE consists of bibliographic citations and abstracts to a variety of materials including journal articles and other scientific, technical, and programmatic publications as well as unpublished documents and project reports (gray literature). Most documents published after 2000 contain links to full-text. Find out more about POPLINE.

MCPAP for Moms

The Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Project (MCPAP) for Moms promotes maternal and child health by building the capacity of providers serving pregnant and postpartum women and their children up to one year after delivery to effectively prevent, identify, and manage depression. Founded by two Featured Women’s Health Researchers, Nancy Byatt, D.O., M.B.A., F.A.P.M. and Kathleen Biebel, Ph.D. it includes valuable resources for providers, new moms, and others. 

Government Resources on Maternal Health

FDA - Pregnancy Registries: A pregnancy exposure registry is a study that collects health information from women who take medicines and vaccines when they are pregnant and breastfeeding. Information is also collected on the newborn baby. This information is compared with women who have not taken medicine during pregnancy.

CDC - Pregnancy Pages: The Centers for Disease Control provides a guide of resources to help achieve a health pregnancy.

 

Other Maternal Health Resources

The Guttmacher Institute works to advance sexual and reproductive health and rights through an interrelated program of research, policy analysis and public education designed to generate new ideas, encourage enlightened public debate and promote sound policy and program development. The Institute’s overarching goal is to ensure the highest standard of sexual and reproductive health for all people worldwide. The Institute produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health. 

Planned Parenthood offers education and resources about birth control, women's reproductive and sexual health.

 

March Of Dimes' offers information on pregnancy including and ovulation calendar, resources, and video.

 

RESOVLE - The National Infertility Association offers support services, resources, and therapeutic options.