Skip to main content

Women's Health Outreach Guide: Women's Health Resources

The Women’s Health LibGuide aims to provide information resources that offer support and a collaborative forum to learn more about women’s health issues from expert sources.

U.S. Government Databases

CDC Women's Health Topics offers the latest news, research reports, statistics, and A to Z health topics about women’s health issues.

womenshealth.gov is published by the Department of Health and Human Services Office and provides articles as well as information on topics, such as pregnancy, women with disabilities, and body image.

National Women's Health Resource Center offers information about a variety of women’s health topics, the latest news, apps, blogs, and health management tools.

World Health Organization, Department of Gender, Women and Health addresses disparities in women’s health around the world.

GirlsHealth.gov gives adolescent girls reliable, current health information and motivates girls to choose healthy behaviors. Created by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ (HHS)

Office on Women’s Health (OWH), information is offered in English and Spanish.

Food and Drug Administration Information for Women's Health offers tools, videos, safe medication programs, and other educational resources in English and Spanish.

Healthfinder.gov Women's Health offers A to Z health topics, National Health Observances, health news, conferences, and health care reform updates.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine: CAM and Women's Health provides resources and clinical trial information about alternative therapies used to treat women’s health issues, such as menopause, osteoarthritis, and urinary tract infections.

Valuable Resources

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health provides Quick Health Data Online, formerly known as the National Women's Health Indicators Database, an interactive system that provides reliable and easily accessible health data to help assess needs, develop programs, and inform policies.


The Women’s Health and Mortality Chartbook is a statistical resource on women’s health in each of the states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. The chartbook was developed to provide readers with an easy-to-use collection of current jurisdiction data on critical issues of relevance to women. A total of 28 different health indicators are featured, which highlight some of the key issues related to women’s health that are being measured regularly at the state level.


The Health Disparities Profiles examines key health indicators at the state level for different racial and ethnic populations in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. Twenty-two health indicators are presented, which highlight some of the key areas related to health disparities among different populations. It can be used as a reference for policymakers and program managers to identify areas where major health disparities exist in each state.


ClinicalTrials.gov  is a research database and registry of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants maintain by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institude of Health (NIH). It is a resource that provides patients, researchers, health care professionals, and the public access to a wide range of clincial studies on diseases and conditions. 


ResearchMatch is an NIH funded initiative with the collabration of several academic institutions to connect people searching for research studies, and for researchers seeking people to participate in their studies. it is a free and secure registry for the public with clinical studies looking for health participants to partcipants with specific health conditions. 


The NIH Clinical Research Studies is a database on clinical research studies conducted at the NIH Clinical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. The Clinical Center hosts a wide range of studies from rare diseases to chronic health conditions, as well as studies for healthy volunteers. Users can search by diagnosis, sign, symptom, other key words, or institution. 

Additional Resources