Skip to main content

Researcher Tools, Services and Support

The purpose of this guide is to provide resources and information to the UMass Medical School community about the Library's research and scholarly communication services.

PUBMED

PubMed

PubMed is a bibliographical database containing more than 25 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. UMMS faculty, students and staff can access the full-text of many of the research articles retrieved in their searching of PubMed through the subscriptions of the Lamar Soutter Library.

The staff of the National Library of Medicine have produced many animated tutorials to help you better understand and use PubMed, such as this webinar entitled "PubMed for Scientists".  In this webinar you will learn to more efficiently search by author; explore a subject; use filters to narrow your search; find the full text article; and set up an e-mail alert for new research on your topic.

Keep up-to-date with PubMed. (RSS feed)

MY NCBI

My NCBI is a feature of the NCBI databases that allows you to save records and searches, and customize your results display with filters and other options.

PMC

PMC logo

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It is the database in which all articles submitted to comply with the NIH Public Access Mandate are deposited.

If you need specific help navigating the NIH Public Access Mandate, visit the Library's Guide or Contact Us.

Keep up-to-date with PMC.

MeSH

MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.

Understand MeSH to understand how many of the NCBI databases are linked together.