Skip to Main Content
UMass Chan Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library. Education. Research. Health Care. Empowering the future. Preserving the past.
UMass Chan Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Mobile Resources Guide

SOM Clinical Years Requirement

The School of Medicine requires students in the clinical years of their program to use a mobile device to access Evidence-Based clinical support tools. Below are lists of recommended resources for SOM students.  These resources should work on all major mobile platforms. Click each link and follow the step-by-step instructions to load these resources on your device. 

NOTE: Since most of these are based on UMMS institutional subscriptions, you will need to begin the installation process on a school-based, networked desktop prior to downloading the app on to your device.

  1. DynaMed - DynaMed is a powerful point-of-care tool built using the strongest evidence available, delivered in an easy-to-read bullet point format. 
  2. LexiComp - Lexicomp is a collection of clinical databases with a focus on pharmacology and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive collections of resources including discipline-specific drug guides, toxicity guides and the 5-Minute Clinical Consult. .
  3. AHRQ ePSS - Search and Browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).  The USPSTF if THE go-to resource for best evidence on screening and prevention.
  4. VisualDx - Build differential diagnoses and browse a large collection of dermatological images.
  5. UpToDate - In addition to general clinical knowledge, UpToDate contains immunization schedules needed for Family Medicine and Pediatrics blocks.

Last updated 3/2/17

GSN Clinical Rotation Requirements

The Graduate School of Nursing requires students in the clinical years of their program to use a mobile device to access Evidence-Based clinical support tools. Below are lists of required resources for GSN students.  These resources should work on all major mobile platforms.

DynaMed - Use the information on this page to begin setup of DynaMed on your device.  Click mobile at the top of the page and enter your UMMS e-mail address.  An authentication key will be e-mailed to you.  Download the app from the iStore/Google Play .  Open the authentication e-mail on your device and tap the link to establish your online account.

Epocrates - You will be prodded to "upgrade" to a higher level of Epocrates at least once during the instalation process.  Only the free Rx portion is required as many of the other tools in the different Epocrates modules are matched in DynaMed and other freely available resources.  Also available web-based here but registration still required.

AHRQ ePSS - Search and Browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).

UpToDate - Online medical textbook that contains latest immunization schedules and medical calculators.

VisualDx - Build differential diagnoses and browse a large collection of dermatological images.

5MinuteConsult - Point of care resource for clinical support and decision making

Last updated 6/22/16