Skip to main content
Lamar Soutter Library
Search this Guide
Consumer Health: General Health
Drugs & Medications
Going to the Doctor
Affordable Care Act (ACA)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
This dictionary from MedlinePlus and Merriam-Webster provides definitions for medical terms and some entries include an audio clip of the pronounciation.
Dictionary of Cancer Terms
This dictionary from the National Cancer Institute can be searched or browsed and includes more than 6,000 terms related to cancer and medicine.
Understanding Medical Words
This tutorial from the National Library of Medicine reviews how to break down and understand medical terms and includes quizzes to test your new knowledge.
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
General Health Websites
This site from the American Academy of Family Physicians includes information about medical conditions, suggestions for healthy living and taking charge of your health care, and many other resources.
Includes links to information on over 1600 health topics, personal health tools such as calculators, health news, and how to find a health care provider.
In addition to providing information about diseases and conditions and maintaining a healthy lifestyle, this site also includes interactive tools and an Ask the Expert feature.
NIH Consumer Health Information
Health information from the NIH including understanding medical research and tips for staying healthy.
Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
Includes chapters on health topics as well as information about drugs, medical tests, and multimedia resources such as drawings, animations and video.
PRIMED Patient Education Center
Regularly updated information on more than 500 medical topics, explaining symptoms, conditions, diseases, medications, and diagnostic procedures.
Women's Health from MedlinePlus
Provides many links to health information for women, including reproductive health, nutrition, body image, prevention and screening, and much more.
National Women's Health Information Center
Another website from the federal government with links and information for women and girls.
CDC Women's Health
Many links to health information for women including podcasts.
Women's Health from the Mayo Clinic
Includes articles about women's health issues.
WHO Women's Health
This WHO site provides statistics and information about women's health issues around the world.
FDA For Women
Highlights news and topics of interest to women.
AHRQ Women's Health
Information from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality on women's health.
Men's Health from MedlinePlus
Links to reliable health information for issues that affect men.
Healthy Men from AHRQ
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality website with information for men about staying healthy.
Information about health concerns and conditions that primarily affect men.
Dec 14, 2016 2:16 PM
Login to LibApps