Skip to main content

Clinical Resources: Lamar Soutter Library

Portal page for UMMS/UMMHC clinical resources

Dr. Lamar Soutter

Learn more about Dr. Soutter here.

Library Floor Plan

Lamar Soutter Library - University Campus

The Lamar Soutter Library (LSL) opened along with the new U Mass Medical School in 1974.  The library is named after the first dean of the school, Dr. Lamar Soutter.  The LSL serves all clinical users at UMass Memorial - University Campus.  The library is traditionally open seven days a week (except for holidays) and has a comprehensive collection of biomedical texts, core biomedical periodicals, special collections including the Archives of the school, the Humanities in Medicine collection, the History of Medicine collection, the Women in Medicine collection, the Professional Development collection, and the Work-Life Collection.  Also available are a large number of computers - PC and MAC - that can be used by staff and the public.  The LSL is located on the 1st level of the medical school building near the main lobby.

Lamar Soutter Library information

Regular Hours:

Sunday 12 PM - 9 PM
Mon.-Thur. 7:30 AM - 9 PM
Friday 7:30 AM - 6 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 6 PM

Check the LSL Hours and Directions page for today's hours

UMMS students, residents, and faculty can enter the Library 24 hours per day, seven days per week by swiping their UMMS ID cards at the front door.  However, no library staff are available after the above hours.

Clinical Librarian Contacts

Catherine Carr - 508-856-8778

Tori Rossetti 508-856-2463

Leah Honor - 508-856-2458