Skip to main content

Library Instruction: RefWorks

About RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographic management, writing and collaboration tool.  It is designed to help gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in an online, Internet-based environment.

RefWorks is free to faculty, students, and staff of University of Massachusetts Worcester

Directions to open an account

UMMS/UMMHC students, faculty, and staff are eligible to open a RefWorks account only.

 

The library is offering access to a new and improved interface to RefWorks.  RefWorks is a bibliographic management program that is free to our patrons.  It allows you to import citations and then insert them into papers, manuscripts and other scholarly project. 

1.  You can register for a new account by going to: http://refworks.proquest.com   At this link, you need to be on campus and use your institutional email.

2.  If you need to create an account off campus, you can email Tori Rossetti for instructions. 

You can transfer your RefWorks library from your legacy account http://www.refworks.com  Legacy accounts will be available only for an indefinite time so it is recommended that you import your references into your new account. 

Sign into your new account, click on the + sign, and from the drop down box, choose import references.

 

 

 

EndNote or RefWorks????? Can't decide?

RefWorks Instruction

This 45-minute class will introduce building a bibliography using the RefWorks bibliographic citation management program.

Objectives: 
  • Attendees will set up a RefWorks account and learn how to access their account remotely.
  • Attendees will set up a RefWorks bibliographic database of references by importing/exporting references from PubMed, OVID, and other databases.
  • Attendees will learn how to set up folders, search, edit and format references in their RefWorks bibliography.
  • Attendees will learn how to add citations from RefWorks into papers using Write-N-Cite and/or Quick cite.
  • Attendees will be able to format their paper and bibliography.
  • Attendees will be able to change the format of the citations and bibliographies in their papers.

For troubleshooting help:

Tori Rossetti, Education & Clinical Services Librarian, is available at victoria.rossetti@umassmed.edu or 508-856-2463

Request a RefWorks Class