Skip to main content

Public Health: Additional Resources

National Library of Medicine Public Health Resources

NLM's Environmental Health and Toxicology page.  Find links to Haz-Map, TOXNET, and the Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) as well as an A to Z list of other valuable NLM public health resources.

Healthy People 2020

Healthy People 2020 Structured Queries

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, have worked together to develop preformulated search strategies (structured evidence queries) that search high-quality, peer-reviewed scientific literature to identify research evidence for selected Healthy People 2020 objectives.

These one-click strategies search PubMed, an NLM database that provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science and public health journals, and on-line books. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Click on the topic areas listed above to link to specific search strategies.

CDC Stacks

Free CDC archive of public health-related scientific research and literature.

FAIR

Robert Wood Johnson-sponsored tool exploring and evaluating projects aimed at reducing racial and ethnic health disparities.

POPLINE

POPLINE® contains the world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature.

Public Health Achievements 2001-2010

Ten Great Public Health Achievements --- United States, 2001--2010

a report from the CDC originally published in the MMWR

During the 20th century, life expectancy at birth among U.S. residents increased by 62%, from 47.3 years in 1900 to 76.8 in 2000, and unprecedented improvements in population health status were observed at every stage of life (1). Click here to read more...

 

Public Health Journals

Public Health journals at UMMS

NOTE: These resources are available only on-network at U Mass Medical School.  All visitors are welcome to visit the library to use these on site.

Global Health Resources

Global Health Database

The CABI Global Health Database contains records from over 6,000 international journals, reports, books and conferences and includes over 2.1 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.

NOTE: These resources are available only on-network at U Mass Medical School.  All visitors are welcome to visit the library to use these on site.