Skip to main content

Humanities in Medicine (HiM)

This guide gives information about the library-sponsored Humanities in Medicine committee, including, but not limited to: membership, activities, and sponsored events.

Resources

  •  
  • American Society for Bioethics and the Humanities – ASBH is "a professional society of more than 1,500 individuals, organizations, and institutions interested in bioethics and the humanities." Membership can be a good way of keeping updated in the field.
  • The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University –  The Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies  provides links to resources in the area of ethics, as well as a detailed look at their curriculum and innovative Readers' Theater program.
  •  Columbia Presbyterian Medical –Links to the Program in Narrative Medicine at Columbia and includes a bibliography of works by program and guest faculty, speakers, and master's graduates. Rita Charon, the editor of Literature and Medicine, is the director of this program
  • The Institute for the Medical Humanities - From the University of Texas Medical Branch, this site provides information about their program in medical humanities as well as resources to other medical humanities sites.
  • Medical Humanities Journal – This journal began as a supplement to the Journal of Medical Ethics that is published in England. It is co-owned by the Institute of Medical Ethics and the British Medical Association and is a great place to see what is being published in the field
  • New York University – This page links to the extensive Literature, Arts & Medicine Database at NYU's Langone Medical Center. The database is "a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities."
  • Pulse--voices from the heart of medicine – Launched in 2008 by the Department of Family and Social Medicine at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in collaboration with educators around the country. The pieces are written by patients, physicians, students, nurses and other health professionals. Pulse is read for pleasure and for educational purposes. It is used to teach professionalism and the humanistic practice of medicine to medical students, nursing students and residents. It is also used in undergraduate writing courses. Pulse stories are short and exquisitely edited. At the same time, they explore, with authenticity and sensitivity, the impact of medical encounters on all involved.
  • SUNY Upstate Medical University Consortium for Culture and Medicine and Center for Bioethics and Humanities – Provides access to their journal, The Healing Muse, as well as details of their humanities projects, research and educational programs.
  • The Synapse – Student edited newsletter from the Department of Humanities in Medicine at Texas A& M College of Medicine.
  • University of California at Irvine College of Medicine – This site provides access to the UCI program in medical humanities, as well as lectures and presentations on literature and the arts in medicine. They also offer an online journal of works created by their own faculty and students
  • The University of Sydney – A great resource for displaying the breadth of the field of Medical Humanities.