Resource Guides: Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing Resources and Information: Databases

Sage Research Methods Online

SRMO User Guide - Brief Overview
2-page brief guide

Sage Research Methods Online
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, by linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools.

SRMO Video Tutorials

SRMO User Guide

MedU

Aquifer (formerly MedU) is an online case-based learning environment available to UMass Medical students. UMass offers four of the Aquifer modules - Aquifer Pediatrics (CLIPP), Aquifer Radiology (CORE), Aquifer Internal Medicine (SIMPLE), and WISE-MD (Surgery). Students are automatically added to Aquifer and should receive an email at the beginning of the year asking them to create an account. If you did not receive an email, pleases contact Regina Raboin to set up an account.

NEW!! Evidence-Based Point-of-Care database

Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, Nursing Practice & Skills, Continuing Education (CE), Research Instruments, Legal Cases, Patient Education and HealthDay News. Searches in NRC are also automatically performed in CINAHL with Full Text. (or search CINAHL with Full Text alone.)

Databases

PubMed
Use this link to search MEDLINE and easily link to UMass Chan subscriptions. PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO Database from the American Psychological Association. Covers material from 1967 to the present. See the OVID link on the Lamar Soutter homepage for PsycINFO back to 1807.
HaPI
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) - (1985 to July 2011)
The Cochrane Library
Full text access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, and other high-level, quality Evidence-Based resources.
DynaMed
Clinical reference tool for use primarily at the 'point of care'
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center
An online digital library of education research and information (sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education). ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Educator's Reference Complete
A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. (Updated daily; coverage is 1980 - AUG, 2012)
Scopus
Multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact journals in the sciences and social sciences. Content includes the EMBASE database and also includes citation tracking and research metric tools.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
Offers free online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge.
Google Scholar
The Carlat Report
Access to 4 Newsletters: Psychiatry Report, Child Psychiatry Report, Addiction Treatment Report, and Hospital Psychiatry Report. Please note CME functionality not available.

All Library Databases

Click here for an alphabetical list of all library-subscribed and free databases.

--Search on the left by database title, keywords or by subject area.

Access Databases from McGraw Hill

Clinical Reference

Micromedex
Information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, and patient education
LexiComp
Clinical decision support tool focusing on pharmaceuticals and toxicology
UpToDate
Clinical knowledge base
AORN Facility Reference Center
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses Facility Reference Center