eScholarship@UMassChan Repository Staff Support Guide: Background & support contacts

This guide contains documentation and how to guides for use and management of  eScholarship@UMassChan, the Lamar Soutter Library's digital repository for UMass Chan Medical School's research and scholarship.

The intended audience is library staff who manage or help provide support for eScholarship@UMassChan, which utilizes Open Repository, Atmire's hosted and customized DSpace open source repository solution. The library migrated to Open Repository version 5.7 from bepress Digital Commons in September 2022. In December 2024, the repository was upgraded to Open Repository version 7.6.0.

Please note: The information presented in the guide is not comprehensive or exhaustive, and is only a supplement to official DSpace or Atmire support documentation.

Teams > RSCS

• Includes: Current documentation in native format (Word, Excel); contract documents; Family Medicine Moments procedures and stored files; NECDMC project documentation and all files

I:\ drive

• This was the primary storage before Teams
• Includes: IR historical and background data; all dissertation files; all scanned permission forms from before DocuSign

R:\eScholarship

• This is Robert's primary storage area
• Includes: Project files for Robert and other library assistants; configuration and statistics files for all Digital Commons collections (Robert saved these as part of the 2022 migration)

Amazon Web Services S3

• Archive of bepress Digital Commons metadata and files 2006-2022 - keep for preservation purposes!

UMass Chan repository administrators

• Sally Gore: sally.gore@umassmed.edu
• Tess Grynoch: tess.grynoch@umassmed.edu
• Leah Honor: leah.honor@umassmed.edu
• Robert Aframe: robert.aframe@umassmed.edu (Robert is not a full administrator but has editorial access to most collections)
• Lisa Palmer (retired)

Atmire technical support

• Atmire tracking system to report issues or ask questions: https://tracker.atmire.com/tickets-umassmed/password-login
• You must have an account on this system to submit or view tickets. Current account holders are Lisa, Sally, Tess and Leah. If any other staff need an account, one of the account holders must create a new ticket.
• Atmire is headquartered in Leuven, Belgium and is on Central European Daylight Time or Central European Summer Time. The time difference is 5 or 6 hours ahead of Eastern time.
• Atmire provides and tracks support using "credits"
  • Every credit corresponds with 15 minutes of work. Atmire's response time target for new tickets is one business day to respond or triage.
  • We begin each new subscription year (which begins at the end of January) with 64 support credits (16 hours). At the renewal of the subscription, this balance will be replenished. Your balance can also become negative, in which case excess consumed credits will be added to the invoice of the renewal.
  • The creation of a ticket implies that you give Atmire approval for spending as much time as necessary to address a specific question or problem. If something is low priority, you can always indicate a preferred limit, e.g. "spend up to X hours on ...". Without such an indication, they assume that they can commit whatever it takes.
  • Atmire infrastructure issues, such as downtime, are resolved without allocating these credits, according to how it's described in the service description.
  • Completed tickets can be closed by us or by Atmire. Closing is not a permanent action and can be reverted. Closed tickets can always be consulted through the "view closed" button. If a closed ticket receives a reply, it automatically gets listed under the open ones again.
  • Additional documentation for the issues tracker is available through the "Help" link in its navigation bar.
• Test Repository: We have access to a test version of our repository for staging new features or other requests before they are applied on our production server. The URL is https://umassmed.dspace7-test.openrepository.com/home. If the test repository needs to be activated, log in to the tracking system and click Test Repository. RSCS staff have admin passwords and UMass Chan Single Sign On also works.

DSpace 7.x documentation

• https://wiki.lyrasis.org/display/DSDOC7x 
• As of December 13, 2024, our repository is Open Repository version 7.6.0.

Atmire product information and tutorials

• Home page: https://www.atmire.com/open-repository
• Videos including tutorials on how to create submission forms, batch metadata editing, etc.: https://www.youtube.com/@atmireclips

UMass Amherst Libraries

The UMass Amherst Libraries are now also using Open Repository 7 (and Janeway for journal publishing). Erin Jerome, their Library Publishing & Institutional Repository Librarian, is a great resource if you have questions about workflow or functionality: ewjerome@library.umass.edu

Contract documents and renewals are available from Marianne Siener or in Teams at:

RSCS > General > Files > eScholarship Contracts and Documentation > Open Repository > Contract documents