SOM Clinical Years Requirement
AY 13-14 information for rising 2nd years
The School of Medicine requires students in the clinical years of their program to use a mobile device to access Evidence-Based clinical support tools. Below are lists of required resources for SOM students. There is no longer a "required" device. These resource should work on all of the major platforms - Android, Blackberry and iPhone/iTouch.
NOTE: You must download the Skyscape Interface and establish a free account prior to downloading DynaMed.
DynaMed - Use the information on this page to begin setup of DynaMed on your device. You will be asked to a) send an e-mail using your UMMS/UMMHC e-mail account to request a serial number and b) set up a Skyscape account and download it to your device prior to utilizing DynaMed. When downloading DynaMed, also agree to download "Archimedes", a free Medical Calculator that is part of Skyscape.
EpocratesRX - You will be prodded to "upgrade" to a higher level of Epocrates at least once during the instalation process. Only the free Rx portion is required as many of the other tools in the different Epocrates modules are matched in DynaMed and other freely available resources. Also available web-based here but registration still required.
AHRQ ePSS - Search and Browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).
Shots 2013 - Child and adult immunization schedules from the Society of Teachers of Family Medince. Available for all platforms. NOTE: Shots is moving towards a subscription model. 2013 is still available as a free app but further enhancements will be fee based. UpToDate mobile now includes child and adult immunization schedules. Although not "required", UpToDate is available at no cost to students. Instructions on downloading the UpToDate app can be found on the above tab.
NOTE RE: DynaMed renewals. If you received a DynaMed serial number LAST year, that number will expire after one year of use. But, updating your susbscription (still free based on the library's license) is easy. This year, follow the instructions under the DynaMed link above to request a new serial number directly from DynaMed.
Last updated 6/13/13
Adding UMMS E-Mail to your Device
If you have a compatible device, you can have your UMMS E-Mail added to your mobile device. For details, contact the UMMS IS Help Desk - they will need to configure your Outlook/network profile to work with your specific device:
PHONE: 508-856-8643 M-F 7:00 AM-7:00 PM
E-MAIL: umwhelpdesk@umassmed.edu
DROP IN:
University Campus - S1-321 (across from the Chancellor's Office) M-F 7:00 AM -5:30 PM
South St. - Buiding 2 (past Human Resources - over the bridge) M-F 7:00 AM-5:30 PM
iPhone Medical Apps for Healthcare Professionals

Top 20 Free iPhone Medical Apps
Other Apps/Other Platforms
- @Hand ($) – Series of discipline-specific point-of-care treatment strategies. The site is also a clearinghouse for other commercially available e-books and e-resources for a handheld device.
- 5 Minute Clinical Consult ($) – Via Skyscape - includes a signs and symptoms guide. Also available with an expanded Epocrates subscription. Also on Skyscape are other titles in the 5 Minute series (e.g., Infectious Disease, Sports Medicine, Toxicology)
- A2Z Drug Facts ($) – Comprehensive pharmaceutical reference from Facts & Comparisons - available via Skyscape.
- Archimedes Medical Calculator (free) – 150 different calculators in one package, available for all platforms free from Skyscape.
- Bili Tool – For iPhone/iTouch platforms only. Calculates risk for hyperbilirubinemia or "jaundice" in newborns.
- Clinical Medicine Series ($) – Over 30 titles on different disciplines of medicine. Contains information on basic procedures.
- DermMeister (free) – High-resolution photos of many common dermatologic conditions. Currently available only for older model handheld devices.
- Diagnosaurus (free) – A comprehensive differential diagnosis tool.
- Dropbox (free) - share files between your own computers (home and office and laptop/tablet) and with oter users.
- DynaMed – UMMS/UMMHC users only. Evidence-Based synthesis tool. See "PDA Support" link. Handheld app available at no cost via Skyscape for internal users with UMMS/UMMHC institutional e-mail.
- Epocrates ($) – Subscription-based comprehensive drug, diagnostic and symptom tool or download the drug database at no cost.
- Eponyms (free) – Free database of medical eponyms.
- Essential Evidence Plus ($)
- Evernote (free) - Share documents, videos, podcasts, images, etc. "in the cloud" using a desktop, laptop or mobile device.
- Fingertip Formulary (free) – Available for iPhone, Blackberry, and Palm & PocketPC
- Geriatrics At Your Fingertips ($ or free to American Geriatric Society student members) – Useful Evidence-Based text, tables, algorithms and calculators.
- Handango ($) – Clearinghouse for apps for many device models.
- HanDBase ($) – Available for multiple platforms. Create handheld mini databases to track any information.
- Harriet Lane Handbook ($) – Highly rated, comprehensive pediatric resource.
- Harrison's Manual for Mobile ($) – The classic internal medicine textbook. Available for all platforms.
- Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide ($)– High quality text with Infectious Disease expert recommendations, listings by diagnosis, pathogen, or by antibiotic.
- LexiComp ($) – Comprehensive pharmaceutical resource.
- MedCalc (free) – A free medical calculator. Will work on some but not all mobile devices.
- Mobile Merck Medicus (free) – The familiar Merck Manual along with the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
- PDA MD ($) – Clearinghouse for apps for many device models.
- Shots (free) – Guide to immunization schedules. Includes latest information on each vaccine and catch-up schedules.
- Skyscape ($) – Comprehensive site featuring top quality textbook and other medical resource applications for varied platforms.
- StatCoder ($) – iPhone/iTouch apps including growth charts, depression screening, ICD-9 codes and asthma guidelines.
- UpToDate – UMMS/UMMHC users only. Online version of popular e-text book. U Mass users are required to set up an account with UpToDate AND to reconfirm eligibility quarterly.
- United States Preventive Services Task Force, Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) (free) – Resource from AHRQ indicating Evidence-Based screening recommendations.
- Washington Manuals ($) – Excellent guides designed for residents. Manuals provided for 28 different specialties. Available via Skyscape.
- ZDNet (free) – News and information about mobile devices.
GSN Clinical Rotation Requirements
AY 12-13 information for clinical track student
The Graduate School of Nursing requires handheld devices for all students in their clinical tracks. These resources include a drug resource (Epocrates), an Evidence-Based point-of-care refernce (DynaMed) and a package that includes 300+ biomedical calculators (Archimedes).
NOTE: You must download the Skyscape Interface and establish a free account prior to downloading DynaMed and Archimedes.
DynaMed - Use the information on this page to begin setup of DynaMed on your device. You will be asked to a) send an e-mail using your UMMS/UMMHC e-mail account to request a serial number and b) set up a Skyscape account and download it to your device prior to utilizing DynaMed.
EpocratesRX - You will be prodded to "upgrade" to a higher level of Epocrates at least once during the instalation process. Only the free Rx portion is required as many of the other tools in the different Epocrates modules are matched in DynaMed and other freely available resources.
AHRQ ePSS - Search and Browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).
Shots 2012 - Child and adult immunization schedules from the Society of Teachers of Family Medince. Available for all platforms.
Archimedes Medical Calculator - Conversion and calculator tool.
NOTE RE: DynaMed renewals. If you received a DynaMed serial number LAST year, that number will expire after one year of use. But, updating your susbscription (still free based on the library's license) is easy. This year, follow the instructions under the DynaMed link above to request a new serial number directly from DynaMed.
Last updated 4/10/12
General Apps for all UMMS/UMMHC Users
The following mobile resource apps are available through current library subscriptions.
- DynaMed MobileUse the information on this page to begin setup of DynaMed on your device. You will be asked to a) send an e-mail using your UMMS/UMMHC e-mail account to request a serial number and b) set up a Skyscape account and download it to your device prior to utilizing DynaMed.
- MICROMEDEX MobileOnce in Micromedex, click the mobileMicromedex tab. You can download Rx data via an Android or iPhone app or learn how to access full Micromedex on your mobile device browser.

Loading...
