Citation managers help you organize and keep track of your references and generate bibliographies. Some also have plugins for in-paper citations, the ability to attach full text pdfs to citations, and tools to share your bibliographies with collaborators.
EndNote Desktop (can sync with EndNote Online)
Cost: Free for UMass Chan/UMMHC users.
Library Contact: Victoria Rossetti
Refworks (Web-based)
Cost: Free for UMass Chan/ UMMHC users
Library Contact: Victoria Rossetti
Get it: Create an account at refworks.com using your institutional email
Mendeley (Desktop and Web-based)
Cost: Free ($$ for more than 2GB of online storage)
Library Contact: Tess Grynoch
Get it: mendeley.com
AMA (American Medical Association)
AMA Manual of Style by
For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research andpublishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style, published in early 2007, brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts ofinterest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature. JAMA and the Archives Journals, one of the most groups of medical publications in the world, have lent members of their expert staff of professional journal editors to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the 10th edition provides a welcome and improved standardfor the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific researchconfront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.
APA (American Psychological Association)
Pocket Guide to APA Style by
An ideal tool for students writing research papers across the disciplines, THE POCKET GUIDE TO APA STYLE, Third Edition, offers straightforward explanations, annotated examples, and margin notes designed to help students write properly documented papers in the latest APA style. Thorough and practical, this concise guide is not only less expensive and easier for undergraduates to use than the APA Manual, it also includes additional information about the research-writing process. In this updated edition, students will also find extensive coverage of electronic sources, preparing them to both evaluate and correctly use Internet references in their own research.
Chicago
The Chicago Manual of Style by
**The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
MLA (Modern Language Association)
Vancouver
