The Brianna Fund for Children with Physical Disabilities was founded in October 1998 to assist children with physical disabilities by eliminating barriers of access to community resources. The Brianna Fund provides necessary solutions to pressing mobility issues. With the goal that children with physical disabilities will enhance their capacity for living a full and productive life, the Brianna Fund has to date provided grants to over 40 families in the Greater Springfield community.
In keeping with its mission to promote youth development, healthy living and social responsibility throughout our region, the Y of Greater Springfield provides a wide array of programs and services at locations throughout Metropolitan Springfield and the Pioneer Valley.
The mission of the Faith Unlimited Institute is to reduce recidivism, enhance self-sufficiency, and enhance family life for ex-offenders returning to their families and their communities by mentoring, reunifying and strengthening families, and facilitating education, employment and career development through communities and people of faith.
Gandara Center is a minority organization, providing residential, mental health, substance abuse and preventive services to individuals in Springfield and the Pioneer Valley. We value cultural diversity and strive to provide culturally competent, innovative services to our community.
The Gray House is a small neighborhood human service agency with 10 staff members, over 50 volunteers. Our mission is to encourage our neighbors in transition to achieve a more stable, safe, productive, and spiritually satisfying life through education and community service.
The Citizens Energy Oil Heat Program has delivered millions of gallons of discount home heating oil to poor and elderly households in Massachusetts and other cold weather states since 1979. This unique program helps protect needy families from volatile heating oil prices, which often leave households having to choose between heating the home and paying for other life essentials, such as food, health care, or clothing.
North End Campus Coalition
NEON is a network of neighbors who are working together to organize for a better North End community. The North End Campus Coalition is a group of organizations that provide activities, classes and programs for North End adults and children.
ShotSpotter solutions are the leading gunfire alert and analysis solutions. Its public safety technology solutions are focused on improving public and community safety by locating gunfire and other explosive events, and ultimately, helping reduce and prevent gun violence and improving intelligence-led policing and community policing initiatives.
Stone Soul began in 1989 as a community reunion picnic aimed at gathering together the Mason Square Community. It has since evolved into a three day festival, encompassing the Springfield and greater Springfield area. The main goals of Stone Soul Festival are to establish an annual festival to provide family oriented activities, entertainment and cultural enrichment. It is a vehicle for minority businesses to display their wares and crafts. Local, state and national entertainment are provided free of charge. Stone Soul hosts Job Fairs, Social Service Agencies, Health Care Providers and many other community services.
Whether you are six months or 106 years old there is a place for you at our Y. We serve every segment of the family. Whether we are helping our youngsters prepare for kindergarten, keeping children safe and nurtured after school, providing adventurous summer camp experiences, putting families on the track towards healthy living, or providing a social outlet for members of our community, every day we are reminded that the work we do is not just a luxury it is a necessity.
The YWCA provides safe places for women and children in crisis. It offers women counseling, job training, child-care, and health and fitness. The YWCA also offers job training to people ages 16-21 who are out of school. In pursuit of its mission to empower women and eliminate racism, the YWCA strives to create opportunities for women’s growth, power, and leadership to obtain peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all people.
CHD is a family of more than 70 programs that deliver a wide range of integrated health care and social services in communities throughout Western Massachusetts and Connecticut, all aimed at helping people build strong productive lives.
MLS provides services to more than 1,700 libraries of all types and sizes throughout the Commonwealth. This state-supported collaborative promotes equitable access to excellent library services and resources for all who live, work, or study in Massachusetts.
Outreach Centers are non-profit organizations that receive state money through DVS to assist veterans and their families with a range of services. These vary by location and can include: assistance and referrals to obtain federal and state veterans' benefits; food pantry and clothing closets; transportation services; community activities and a wide variety of counseling services.
HIV legal assistance helps HIV-positive residents handle legal matters related to their HIV status. Legal services include legal advice and representation for civil legal matters such as wills, powers of attorney, bankruptcy proceedings, access to public benefits, discrimination, breach of confidentiality, and custody options for legal dependents.
The mission of the New North Citizens' Council, Inc. is to provide advocacy, public and human services to Hampden County residents with an emphasis on Hispanic/Latino community for the purpose of enhancing the preservation and support of the family resulting in the improvement of quality of life.
The mission of the Puerto Rican Cultural Center, Inc. is to advocate and provide a forum for educational, leadership and economic development programs, promote cultural awareness and enable access to benefits from available resources to the Puerto Rican and other Spanish speaking communities.
Somali Access Project
The Somali Access Project is a project guided by Healthy Community Collaborative to support Somalis and all East African Communities residing Mason Square and greater Springfield to create healthy community of New Americans from East Africa. The goal is to give these communities the experience of how to increase lifespan, decrease deaths from heart disease and stroke, control of infectious diseases and to have healthier parents and babies.
The Springfield Institute is a think tank with a twist: a central commitment to outreach, inclusion, and community organizing. We help organizations implement innovative and transformative projects through capacity building, analysis, strategic communications and planning with broad community participation.
Springfield Partners for Community Action is the federally designated Community Action Agency (CAA) for the greater Springfield area, serving about 10,000 low-income people annually. Their mission is to partner with people and the community as a whole, in a way that leads to economic stability, so that we all enjoy a better quality of life.
Enhancing the food environment for our preschool aged children, at preschool and at home, so they enter Kindergarten healthy and ready to learn. The Farm to Preschool and Families (F2P) project is an innovative initiative in early education and care sites provding high quality, fresh and locally grwon produce to preschool children. the adults in their lives, preschool staff and families, are also involved so they are able to support children's healthy eating habits. F2P provides the potential for approximately 7000 low-income children in the Greater Springfield community to access healthy foods suring the preschool day and at home.
Gardening the Community is a youth-centered, community based urban agriculture program in Springfield that is committed to teaching the benefits of organic farming and healthy eating. The vision is to introduce and foster principles of sustainable living through active engagement with the community.
For years, due to economic decline and government neglect, the area surrounding Mason Square was a food desert. While there are plenty of fast food and take-out options, until the market, there were very little chances to purchase nutritious, whole foods at an affordable price. The Concerned Citizens of Mason Square organized and started the Mason Square Farmer's Market to fill that void.
SFPC is an independent body with endorsement from Mayor Sarno and the City Council. The purpose of this Council is to oversee the coordination of public and private efforts to improve access to nutritious, affordable, culturally appropriate, fresh, and safe foods for all residents of Springfield.
Behavioral Health Network, Inc. (BHN) is a growing non-profit community behavioral health service agency that has been providing services to children, adult, families, and communities in Western Mass since 1938. BHN provides comprehensive, outcome-driven behavioral healthcare. We are dedicated to offering high quality, affordable and culturally appropriate care to people of all ages and income levels in multiple settings within our communities.
The BEST Oral Health program was created by Partners for a Healthier Community. Our aim is to work with you to prevent oral disease in your child. Our mission is to have all children start school healthy and ready to learn.
Today, the 18-member Mercy Homeless Health Care team provides primary care services on-site at 46 shelters, soup kitchens, job placement sites and transitional programs. Services are delivered in three counties: Hampden, Franklin and Hampshire. In 2002, Mercy HCH cared for over 1,800 individuals in our service area. These men, women and children had close to 8,000 encounters with HCH staff. In 2003, HCH cared for 2,350 homeless individuals in 12,000 medical encounters.
La Esperanza provides comprehensive breast health education and support services to Latina women in the Western Massachusetts cities of Springfield, Holyoke and Chicopee--and as well, engages the Latino community in the fight against cancer.
The Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Project (MCPAP) is a system of regional children's mental health consultation teams designed to help primary care providers (PCPs) meet the needs of children with psychiatric problems.
The National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI) is a cooperative agreement between the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). The NCMHI is housed in the AAP Division of Children with Special Needs. The mission of the NCMHI is to work in cooperation with federal agencies, particularly the MCHB, and other partners and stakeholders to ensure that all children and youth, including children with special needs, have access to a medical home.
SNCWMA's mission is to improve the health of children with special needs in our communities with quality and compassion in a medical home that is patient-centered, family-focused, and culturally competent.
Since 1953, RVCC has been changing lives and empowering communities in the greater Holyoke/Chicopee/
Springfield area. People can turn to River Valley Counseling Center for help. They provide comprehensive services and support that makes a difference to thousands of people every year.
Shriners Hospitals for Children® — Springfield is dedicated to delivering the highest quality of care to children with a host of orthopaedic and neuromusculoskeletal disorders and diseases, as well as cleft lip and palate. Our hospital is light-filled, colorful and designed to put children and families at ease. Every member of our staff, from surgeons to therapists, nurses to orthotists, is focused on providing the highest quality care that puts the family at the center of the team.
Tapestry Health has delivered family planning and reproductive health services throughout western Massachusetts for almost four decades. By combining compassionate health care with the most recent advances in medical practice, we ensure that people can get the care that they deserve, regardless of race, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, or income. Founded as the Family Planning Council of Western Massachusetts in 1973, Tapestry Health remains the only non-profit organization in the region to offer family planning and reproductive health care to often marginalized individuals, such as young people, women living in poverty, recent immigrants, uninsured and underinsured persons, injection drug users, the homeless, and men and women with HIV/AIDS, regardless of their ability to pay.
To promote citywide campaigns to increase daily physical activity and healthy eating through programming, physical infrastructure improvements, and policy work—targeting all people who live, work and play in Springfield.
The Mason Square Health Task Force is intended to support the Mason Square community in its efforts to address multiple public health priorities. In collaboration with the Dunbar Community Center, Inc. and the Martin Luther King, Jr. Family Services, Inc. the task force is also pleased to announce the availability of the Mason Square Healthy Funds Four Year Initiative to address health disparities in the Mason Square Community as they relate to the risk factors associated with diabetes and chronic heart disease. This effort marks the second release of funding from a multi-year community benefits grant program funded by Baystate Health.
MOCHA is an innovative health movement in Springfield, Massachusetts which seeks to reduce health disparities in the city by creating health-conscious norms and diffusing them through men of color's personal and social networks.
Partners for a Healthier Community (PHC) is a non profit organization committed to improving the public's health by fostering innovation, leveraging resources, and building partnerships across sectors, including government agencies, communities, the health care delivery system, media, and academia organized to create a measurably healthier community using collaborative programming to solve pressing community health issues. PHC does not provide direct services; rather it takes the role of neutral facilitator to promote community collaborations.
The Pioneer Valley Asthma Coalition (PVAC) is a coalition of health professionals & institutions, community groups and residents, public health organizations, municipal and state agencies, academic institutions, schools, day care, housing and environmental groups committed to improving asthma and environmental conditions that affect health in Western Massachusetts.
The Pioneer Valley Riverfront Club (PVRC) is a rowing facility in the North End of Springfield with the mission to promote river-based sporting activities, to develop river access, and encourage recreation in the Greater Springfield metropolitan area. PVRC will serve as point of access to the river for human powered craft, located within easy walking and bike-riding distance of downtown Springfield.
"Helping smokers quit, and businesses comply with point-of-sale and smoke-free workplace regulations." Our mission is to improve public health in the Commonwealth by reducing death and disability from tobacco use, and to ensure that businesses comply with legal regulations and responsible practices regarding the sale of tobacco products and the maintenance of smoke-free workplaces.
We provide girls ages 5-18 with engaging and educational youth development programs that are cutting edge, research driven and designed to meet the specific needs of girls. Girls are at the center of everything we do; our priority is listening to girls, responding to their needs and providing them with the opportunity to make positive change in both their community and in their own lives. Tailored in response to the many challenges facing youth, we offer programs and services for girls and young women in the greater-Holyoke and Chicopee areas, extending to Westfield, South Hadley, and Springfield, MA.
Guiding parents, educating children and helping families with children prenatal to 8 years old. Coordinated Family and Community Engagement is a grant from the
MA Department of Early Education and Care.
Project Coach is an outreach organization rooted in the North End community of Springfield, MA. Since its inception, Project Coach has trained, mentored, and coached almost 100 high school coaches, who have in turn led 1000+ young student athletes in organized sports leagues across five different schools. At the heart of its organizational team are Smith College faculty, graduate student fellows, and undergraduates, along with local public school teachers.
Less jail, more future. Roca's mission is to help disengaged and disenfranchised young people move out of violence and poverty. Roca has designed and administers a cognitive-behavioral Intervention Model, enabling young people to move toward outcomes of economic independence and living out of harm's way. Roca can see a different future- a future in which young people leave the streets and gangs to take responsibility for their actions and have jobs. Young mothers will raise their children in safety and be recognized for their contributions to society. Our communities will have the ability to keep young people out of harm's way and, in turn, thrive through their participation and leadership.
The Springfield Boys & Girls Club, Inc. works to help youth of all backgrounds, with special concern for those from disadvantaged circumstances, acquire the qualities needed to become responsible citizens and leaders. The Clubs accomplish this by offering children and teenagers developmental programs to enhance their social, emotional, physical, vocational, and educational well-being and their self-image.
The mission of the Springfield Parent Academy is to deliver high-quality learning opportunities to engage and educate parents and other caring adults, thereby increasing the capacity of our youth to succeed.
Springfield School Volunteers (SSV) is a non-profit organization that has been matching the resources of the community with the needs of the Springfield Public Schools since 1969. Our focus is to provide academic support to Springfield’s public school students in line with the school district’s priorities.
Rebuilding the community by raising awareness about the dangers and downsides of underage drinking and its effect on our community. Stop Access Springfield is a community coalition that started in 2008, funded by a grant from the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH), Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS) and is administered by the Gandara Center. Springfield’s Department of Health and Human Services acts as the fiscal agent. Stop Access Springfield is working to reduce under age drinking in the Mason Square and South End communities, employing community and city wide strategies that are responsive to community identified needs. The coalition looks to highlight under age drinking and move it to a priority status by promoting community and environmental changes in Springfield.
Over the years the Network has evolved and it is now known as the YEAH! Network (Youth Empowerment Adolescent Network). The YEAH! Network consist of diverse community stakeholders who work together to create a proactive, comprehensive response to adverse adolescent sexual health and adolescent sexuality. The initial group of community champions who served on the Steering Committee and the board developed the network vision and values. YEAH! Network now has a small but mighty backbone infrastructure to support the work of the community network.