Skip to main content
UMass Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library: A Leader in Service and Learning
UMass Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Health Literacy Resources

Use this guide to locate Web resources related to health literacy, and health communications

Health Literacy Assessment

Assessing the Health Literacy Environment: Contains links to toolkits, guides, and presentations for assessing health literacy in various environments.

Health Literacy Measurement Tools: Includes Rapid Estimate of Adult Literacy in Medicine—Short Form (REALM-SF) and Short Assessment of Health Literacy for Spanish Adults (SAHLSA-50).

Health Literacy Universal Precautions Toolkit: Offers primary care practices a way to assess their services for health literacy considerations, raise awareness of the entire staff and work on specific areas.

Is Our Pharmacy Meeting Patients’ Needs? A Health Literacy Assessment Tool: Although this assessment was designed to be used in outpatient pharmacies of large, urban, public hospitals that primarily serve a minority population, it can be adapted for use in other pharmacy and non-pharmacy environments. 

Risk Assessment & Screening: Includes signs of low health literacy, prevalence calculator and The Newest Vital Sign assessment tool.

Need tools for assessing health materials? Try Creating Plain Language Resources

Health Literacy Research

Health Information Literacy Research Project: Research project that studied health literacy in hospital libraries.

Research Underway in Health Literacy Supported by NIH: A list and description of health literacy research studies currently underway.

Health Literacy Research Tools: Bibliographies

Health Literacy Annotated Bibliography: Citations and/or links to relevant health literacy articles, books, presentations, toolkits & Web sites.

Health Literacy and Cultural Competency: Links to government health literacy resources on the Web.

Health Literacy Journal Articles: Citations for review articles, medical impact of health literacy and social support and health literacy.

Health Literacy Resources: A list of links to health literacy resources on the Web. Includes helpful links for Health Care Professionals, Educators, Researchers, Patients and Students.

Improving Health Literacy: A toolkit from the University of Michigan. An excellent resource.

MEDLINE/PubMed Search and Health Literacy Information Resources: Health literacy search (includes search details) and links to health literacy information resources.

Research Findings: Contains links to Health Literacy Literature Reviews and Health Literacy Population Assessments.

Understanding Health Literacy & Its Barriers: From the National Library of Medicine Current Bibliographies in Medicine. Contains 651 citations to research articles about health literacy.

Thank You

Thank you to Adrianne Leonardelli and the Duke University Medical Center Library. This Resource Guide was based on information from the Duke University Medical Center Guide on Health Literacy.

Subject Guide

Jessica Kilham's picture
Jessica Kilham
Contact:
Lamar Soutter Library
University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, MA 01655
508.856.6028