Skip to main content
UMass Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library: A Leader in Service and Learning
UMass Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Open Access

The purpose of this guide is to provide resources and information to the UMass Medical School community about open access and new models of scholarly publishing.

Publish Open Access at a Discount!

Institutional memberships:

UMMS site license discounts:

The next time you have a manuscript ready, consider sending it to one of these open access journals.

  • Retain the copyright for your work
  • Unlimited readership
  • Support open access

Open Access Works for UMMS!

 

Benjamin Nwosu bookmark for Open Access Week

 

Make your work open access by archiving it in eScholarship@UMMS

eScholarship@UMMS is a freely available digital archive and publishing system offering worldwide access to the research and scholarly work of the University of Massachusetts Medical School community.  The goal is to bring together the University's scholarly output, in full text whenever possible, in order to enhance its visibility and accessibility. eScholarship@UMMS is a service of the Lamar Soutter Library.  For more information about eScholarship@UMMS, see the FAQ and the eScholarship@UMMS Library Guide.

Make your own work open access by archiving your scholarship in eScholarship@UMMS!

Open Access Journals Published at UMMS

Through eScholarship@UMMS, the Lamar Soutter Library can help departments publish their own open access journals or newsletters. The repository software was originally designed for electronic publishing and includes a peer-review and editorial management system. Currently the Library hosts open access electronic journals for the Departments of Neurology, Psychiatry, Radiology, the UMass Center for Clinical and Translational Science, and our own library science journal.  If you are considering starting an online open access journal, here are some helpful resources.

Journal of Parent and Family Mental Health

Psychiatry Information in Brief

Journal of Global Radiology

Neurological Bulletin

UMCCTS Newsletter

Journal of eScience Librarianship

History of UMMS Published in Open Access eBook!

Ellen's book - cover

 

 

The University of Massachusetts Medical School, A History: Integrating Primary Care and Biomedical Research, by Ellen S. More, head of the Office of Medical History and Archives of the UMass Medical School Lamar Soutter Library, and Professor of Psychiatry, has been published as an open access eBook through eScholarship@UMMS.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive logo

The Lamar Soutter Library, through its membership in the Boston Library Consortium, participates in the Open Content Alliance, a collaborative effort to build a permanent archive of multilingual digitized text and multimedia material.  The Library has contributed 286 classic rare medical books to this initiative which are available via the Internet Archive website.  These digitized texts are also included in the Medical Heritage Library (MHL)’s holdings in the Internet Archive.

Celebrating Open Access Week: Open Access In Action