Revised, updated, and enhanced from cover to cover, the Sixth Edition of Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice remains the gold standard text in the field of surgery. It reflects surgery's rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques, integrating new scientific knowledge with evolving changes in surgical care. Updates to this edition include new editors and contributors, and a greatly enhanced visual presentation. Balancing scientific advances with clinical practice, Greenfield's Surgery is an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. Key Features: Features enhanced, full-color illustrations, clinical photographs, key teaching points, and decision-making algorithms for quick reference to key information. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Introduces two new editors, Hasan Alam, MD and Timothy Pawlik, MD, who bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Showcases the scientific and clinical expertise of more than 200 contributing authors, each an active practitioner in the field of surgery. Includes two new chapters on Obesity and Preoperative Risk Assessment. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Quesiton Bank with nearly 900 questions Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues
Don't miss this latest edition of the "go to" reference for surgeons at every stage of training.Mastery of Endoscopic and Laparoscopic Surgery, 4e,now a "classic" in the canon of surgical literature, offers extensive coverage of minimally invasive procedures in every area of surgery. Edited and written by the acknowledged masters in the field, this edition provides clear, concise step-by-step details on all procedures, along with Advances in NOTES procedures and valuable author commentary. Features --Hone your surgical skills through expert coverage of endoscopic approaches to diseases and disorders of each major organ system. --Stay on top of the latest advances with 11 all-new chapters and updated and revised chapters throughout. --Enhance your visual understanding with vibrant full color illustrations that clarify key points and procedures. --Improve your understanding of important applications for esophageal, colorectal, and thoracic surgeries; gastric and hepatobiliary procedures; and pancreas and endocrine procedures. --Explore any topic further through Selected Reading and Selected URLs for every chapter. --Access expert information anywhere, anytime on the companion website with fully searchable text and video library.
Here are the core procedures every general surgeon needs to master, in step-by-step detail with commentary from experts in the field. In two full-color volumes, Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, Seventh Edition includes the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning while maintaining a focus on clear, step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. This thoroughly revised edition brings you up to date with evidence-based approaches for virtually any surgery you'll be called upon to perform.Key Features Provides extensive coverage of vascular surgery as well as of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, and biliary procedures. Walks you step by step through each procedure, with tips and cautions from leading surgeons. Includes background and history for each procedure, as well as diagnostic and postoperative considerations. Features more than 3,400 illustrations that offer a surgeon's-eye-view of the most advanced approaches. Concludes each chapter with expert editorial commentary that puts the chapter material in a broad context and provides helpful critiques of the most recent literature. Streamlines the table of contents to combine chapters on open and minimally invasive approaches. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
No member of the emergency room or trauma ward physician should be without this 4th edition of The Trauma Manual: Trauma and Acute Care Surgery . Designed to be used as a quick reference, this multidisciplinary pocket guide addresses all areas of trauma and emergency surgery with a list of key points at the end of each chapter. In addition to a new section on the intensive care unit and an extended section on surgical emergencies, this manual also covers GI hemorrhage, hernias, bowel obstruction, pancreatitis, biliary tract disease, and other surgical challenges faced by trauma and emergency surgery personnel. Organized in a chronological fashion following the usual events and phases of care after injury or acute surgical illness, this user-friendly manual is one guide every trauma surgeon, surgical resident, surgical critical care specialist, emergency medicine physician, and emergency or trauma nurse, will want to keep close by. NEW TO THIS EDITION * Additional section on the intensive care unit * Extended section on surgical emergencies * 5 new chapters covering: - Acute respiratory failure - Cardiovascular disease and monitoring - Multiple organ dysfunction - Soft tissue infections - The role of laparoscopy in emergency surgery
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual of Surgery, 7th Edition , focuses on the essential information you need to know for successful care of patients with surgical disease. This bestselling reference presents brief, logical approaches to the management of patients with comprehensive surgical problems. Throughout the manual, content has been completely updated, including new review questions, new chapters, and new treatment algorithms. This 7th Edition provides a clear view of the challenges surgical residents face, practical solutions, and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Key Features: Thoroughly revised with information on the latest advances in surgical technique, instrumentation, and standards of practice. New chapters on Biostatistics for the General Surgeon, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, and Fundamentals of Endoscopic, Laparoscopic, and Robotic Surgery. Reorganized content emphasizes clarity and consistency, so you can find what you need more quickly. Comprehensive coverage addresses all areas taught in general surgical residencies, including pediatric surgery. Concise guidelines and algorithms assist in the diagnosis and management of surgical diseases. Updated references are provided for readers who would like additional information on a particular topic. Written by faculty and residents from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, one of the world's top surgical training programs. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use