Skip to Main Content
UMass Chan Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library. Education. Research. Health Care. Empowering the future. Preserving the past.
UMass Chan Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Environmental Justice

More on the Intersection of Climate Change, Racial Justice, and Determinants of Environmental Health

Keeping Up With the Latest Research

There is a growing body of research related to climate racism, determinants of environmental health, and environmental justice - and keeping up to date on what is being published can be a challenge.

Thankfully, the NIH Library has an excellent guide on how to set research alerts across multiple databases, so that you can have the latest research sent directly to your inbox.

 

If you get stuck on any part of the process when setting up your alerts, or have any other questions about getting additional research materials, just Ask a Librarian at Lamar Soutter Library and we're glad to help.

Recommended Environmental and Public Health Research Databases

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Public Health
Collection of community health rankings.
 
Disaster Lit This link opens in a new window

National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience.

ECOTOX This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Environmental Health; Toxicology
Source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. Created and maintained by the U.S. EPA.
 
Envirofacts This link opens in a new window

Collection of select U.S. EPA environmental data

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Drugs; Public Health
FDA portal on the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and includes information on food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
 
Food Environment Atlas This link opens in a new window
 
 
Alternate Name(s) Restaurants; Nutritional Sciences; Statistics
Statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Includes articles from academic journals and magazines, encyclopedia references, videos, images, news and statistics.
 
Global Health This link opens in a new window

Specialist bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health research & practice. Contains many abstracts and a growing number of full text items covering all public health issues on a local, national & global scale.

HuGE Navigator This link opens in a new window

An integrated, searchable knowledge base of genetic associations and human genome epidemiology.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Public Health and Epidemiology This link opens in a new window

Public health and epidemiology eBooks from the Oxford University Press.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Public Health
Searchable database of public health images and media. Content is also organized into collections based on public health topics. Mixture of public domain and copyrighted content.
 
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Drug Therapy; Public Health
Focused coverage of trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide.
 
USDA Food Composition Databases This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) Nutritional Sciences
Search by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for food items.

Related Guides

Climate Equity and Environmental Justice
Library Resource Center, SUNY ERIE

Environmental Inequalities, Justice, and Sustainability
University Library, CalPolyPomona

Environmental Justice Interdisciplinary Guide
Lucy Scribner Library, Skidmore College

Queering Environmental Justice
DePauw University Libraries

Racism in Academic Medicine
Lamar Soutter Library, UMass Chan Medical School