This workbook serves as a step-by-step guide to writing a compelling, fundable NIH grant application. The authors explain how to write each component of the proposal, which is followed by an example. The reader is invited to write something comparable for the subject to be presented. As you make those responses, one after the other, the first draft of your application gradually falls into place. In addition to the latest NIH changes, this edition also includes the NIH requirements on how to improve the rigor of experimental design along with how the transparency of the proposal can be enhanced. It also demystifies how you should present the scientific premise for your application to include how you should discuss strengths and weaknesses of preliminary results and published literature. Different uses of conceptual and technical preliminary results are also described. The chapter on the Approach subsection of the Research Strategy was previously expanded to help you address potential sources of biological variation, especially those related to sex. New restrictions on the use of appendix material are explained, and all URLs and screenshots have been updated.
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and to master to successfully promote his or her research and career.
This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.
Provides immediate help for anyone preparing a biomedical paper by givin specific advice on organizing the components of the paper, effective writing techniques, writing an effective results sections, documentation issues, sentence structure and much more. The new edition includes new examples from the current literature including many involving molecular biology, expanded exercises at the end of the book, revised explanations on linking key terms, transition clauses, uses of subheads, and emphases.
This entertaining and highly readable book gives anyone writing in the sciences a clear and easy-to-follow guide to the English language. * Includes cartoons and humorous illustrations that help reinforce important concepts * Provides a glossary that allows readers to easily reference the meanings of grammatical terms used in the book * Incorporates a wide variety of quotations to provide humor, make points, or reinforce key concepts * Includes an entire chapter on electronic media as well as new material on self-editing
This newly updated version of the classic guide to writing and publishing scientific papers provides the tools needed to succeed in the communication aspects of a scientific career. * Includes scientific graphs and photographs as well as cartoons by Sidney Harris, Charles Schulz, Jorge Cham, and others.
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The author, a biologist and an experienced teacher of scientific writing, illustrates each principle with real-life examples of both good and bad writing and shows how to revise bad writing to make it clearer and more concise. She ends each chapter with practice exercises so that readers can come away with new writing skills after just one sitting. Writing Science in Plain English can help writers at all levels of their academic and professional careers--undergraduate students working on research reports, established scientists writing articles and grant proposals, or agency employees working to follow the Plain Writing Act. This essential resource is the perfect companion for all who seek to write science effectively.
Many people think that they do not need a book on "how to write a really bad grant application" - they already know how. Actually, this book is intended as a guide to writing grant applications that will get funded. One way to write a good grant application is to avoid writing a bad one. This book analyzes "bad" scientific grant applications from a humorous perspective. There are also some sections on obtaining funding from private foundations and industry, and a few parts that are pure silliness. All pieces in this book are original and are either fiction (the humor pieces) or non-fiction (the serious advice). The reader will hopefully be able to tell the two apart.
This book is not a technical manual to help doctoral students through the minutiae of conducting in-depth qualitative or quantitative research. Instead, this how-to manual will focus on the practical aspects of writing and organizing a dissertation, in particular, the psychological and social hurdles that are involved. The author uses a conversational and encouraging tone along with plenty of graphics, quotes, illustrations, and sample forms to guide doctoral students through the process of preparing, writing, and defending their dissertations. Features }} checklists, organizing graphics, in-depth list of resources for further inquiry, quotations, illustrations, and other user-friendly elements }} full of easily accessible, practical advice that is administered in small bites. }} conversational, warm, and personal writing style unique to this genre.
This book is designed to raise students' awareness of the linguistic features of a postgraduate dissertation/thesis written in English. It deals primarily with the linguistic aspects of extended pieces of writing, placing great emphasis on the writer's responsibility for the readability of the text.
This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers. In the eight years since the publication of the first edition of A Field Guide for Science Writing, much about the world has changed. Some of the leading issues in today's political marketplace - embryonic stem cell research, global warming, health care reform, space exploration, genetic privacy, germ warfare - are informed by scientific ideas. Never has it been more crucial for the lay public to be scientifically literate. That's where science writers come in. And that's why it's time for an update to the Field Guide, already a staple of science writing graduate programs across the country. The academic community has recently recognized how important it is for writers to become more sophisticated, knowledgeable, and skeptical about what they write. More than 50 institutions now offer training in science writing. In addition mid-career fellowships for science writers are growing, giving journalists the chance to return to major universities for specialized training. We applaud these developments, and hope to be part of them with this new edition of the Field Guide. In A Field Guide for Science Writers, 2nd Edition, the editors have assembled contributions from a collections of experienced journalists who are every bit as stellar as the group that contributed to the first edition. In the end, what we have are essays written by the very best in the science writing profession. These wonderful writers have written not only about style, but about content, too. These leaders in the profession describe how they work their way through the information glut to find the gems worth writing about. We also have chapters that provide the tools every good science writer needs: how to use statistics, how to weigh the merits of conflicting studies in scientific literature, how to report about risk. And, ultimately, how to write.
How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded takes a novel, non-formulaic approach in teaching readers how to "write a grant" -- and much more. The authors draw on their decades of experience working with both investigators and NIH personnel to anticipate their questions and concerns and help establish a comfortable, productive partnership between them. With this book's focus on applying this knowledge to their personal grant strategy, readers will learn: how the NIH operates at the corporate level, as well as the culture and policies of individual institutes and centershow the NIH budget evolves over the course of a fiscal year and why the timing is importanthow to customize NIH Web site searches and use the data to increase chances of successhow to identify appropriate program officers, study sections, and funding opportunitiesThe authors advise readers on developing each component of the grant application in order of the components' influence on the final impact score. Individual funding mechanisms are reviewed along with grantsmanship tips specific to each. Readers learn the importance of reviewer-friendly formatting and organization of the text.The final chapters cover next steps after the application has been submitted-before, during, and after the review and funding decision. Strategies for resubmitting or repurposing applications are provided for those readers whose applications do not receive awards. The authors likewise anticipate the needs of readers who do receive funding but have questions on managing and maintaining their award.Amid ever-increasing competition for government research grants, How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded is an invaluable manual for how to pursue -- and sustain -- NIH funding.