Skip to main content
UMass Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library: A Leader in Service and Learning
UMass Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Capstone Resources

Writing Resources for MD Program Capstone Course

Capstone Contacts

OUME Capstone Scholarship & Discovery Course Page

Medical School House Librarians: Leah Honor (Blackstone House), Catherine Carr (Brightwood House), Jessica Kilham (Burncoat House), Tess Grynoch (Kelley House), Penny Glassman (Quinsigamond House), Tori Rossetti (Tatnuck House)

Email your librarian by clicking on their image above

Leah.Honor@umassmed.edu Catherine.Carr@umassmed.edu Jessica.Kilham@umassmed.edu Tess.Grynoch@umassmed.edu Penny.Glassman@umassmed.edu Victoria.Rossetti@umassmed.edu

Resource Management

REDCap LogoREDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) is a secure web application for building and managing online surveys and databases. REDCap provides audit trails for tracking data manipulation and user activity, as well as automated export procedures for seamless data downloads to Excel, PDF, and common statistical packages (SPSS, SAS, Stata, R). Visit the main REDCap site or UMMS' REDCap login.

For REDCap support, UMMS maintains a REDCap Wiki.

 

MyNCBI

MyNCBI remembers your search history for six months; lets you set up search alerts so you always know when something new has been published on your subject; and integrates with citation managers like RefWorks or EndNote. It can also help you keep track of your own publications with MyBibliography.

 

Publishing and Presenting

Getting your work published

Consider submitting your capstone project to journals or conferences. The American Medical Student Research Journal specifically publishes work by medical students.

Designing a scientific poster

The Lamar Soutter Library offers classes and consultations for creating scientific posters by request.