Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Practice Manuals and Handbooks
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by #1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides l
Publication Date: 2020-05-21
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the 2015-2017 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses so you stay in the know. UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis plus two unique care plans for Hearing Loss and Vision Loss. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, client/family teaching and discharge planning, home care, and safety interventions as necessary for plans of care. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. UNIQUE! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Step-by-step instructions show you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. List of Nursing Diagnosis Index in back inside cover of book for quick reference. Three-column index is easy to use. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selecting appropriate nursing diagnoses. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Includes the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, compete with 26 new diagnoses. NEW and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. EXPANDED! Additional information on concept based nursing and major nursing theories provides you with the knowledge you need for clinical success. EXPANDED! New content on QSEN, safety, and risk for infection keeps you up to date. NEW! In-depth coverage of wellness and primary prevention stresses the importance of health and wellness. NEW! Appendixes in the text provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Revised references in APA style.
Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Handbook of Neuroscience Nursing by Written by advanced practice nurses in collaboration with physician experts from one of the world's most renowned neurosurgical institutions, this is the first point-of-care book designed to enhance patient care at the bedside. Every chapter is written by leading authorities in their respective specialties, resulting in a concise but robust neuroscience nursing management tool. The authors lay a foundation with an in-depth description of central nervous system anatomy, followed by step-by-step processes required to perform accurate and thorough neurological assessments. Subsequent chapters describe common neurological disorders and conditions such as tumors, vascular anomalies, and traumatic brain injury. The authors deftly guide the reader through managing neurological diagnoses and help the reader understand the treatment that patients with these conditions may undergo. Key Highlights Superb illustrations and 10 animations created by master artists bring to life the anatomical structures, pathologies, and mechanisms of injury described in the chapters Lists, tables, and boxes are organized in a concise layout that allows quick consultation and implementation Diagnostic images, medical illustrations, and treatment algorithms help elucidate the implications of managing patients with complex neurological conditions Appendices contain extensive complementary information including discharge instructions and checklists that are of great help to family caregivers and healthcare professionals alike This book is an accessible, easy-to-navigate reference for nurses and ancillary staff of varied experience levels and specialties who are caring for neurosurgical patients. It is a must-have resource for nurse practitioners and physician assistants at any institution with a high-volume neurosurgical service. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Publication Date: 2019-03-22
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Publication Date: 2019-06-27
Lippincott Visual Nursing by For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Publication Date: 2018-02-17
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Healthy Places, Healthy People by At the clinic, in the classroom, and across the globe, nurses are at the forefront of leading change and promoting social justice in healthcare. To provide the best possible patient care and effectively improve a community's future health, nurses need practical advice, realistic strategies, and the core public health leadership competencies-community relationship-building, inquiry, assessment, analysis, planning, action, evaluation, and persuasion-that transcend categorical public health concerns. Healthy Places, Healthy People, Third Edition, provides everything that current and future nurses need to prepare, gather, organize, and analyze basic community information to create a public health strategy. Includes coverage on: A public health strategy that can be applied to any community, at any time, to achieve public health and social justice, NEW: Information and strengths-based assessments to help meet The Joint Commission requirements to provide culturally sensitive care, NEW: Practical steps, tools, and activities to help students bridge concepts to application, assessment, action, and evaluation, NEW: A juxtaposition of ethnography and epidemiology to illustrate the differences and complementarities between the two scientific orientations in community/public health nursing, NEW: Information reflecting the updated Healthy People 2020 national agenda from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners by The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas.Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the life span. Hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology are addressed. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies to manage ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
The Clinical Nurse Specialist Handbook by The only resourse designed specifially for Clinical Nurse Specialists, the Second Edition of this best-selling text addresses the specific, practical, day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of the CNS role. Concrete, user-friendly strategies and exemplars are drawn from real practice and offer suggestions as well as considerations for CNS practice.
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by 5 Stars! "Overall this is an excellent, comprehensive, and practical resource that is evidence-based and easy to use. It is essential that this book be withing reach of not only student nurses, but also novice or more experienced clinical practice nurses in any setting across the healthcare continuum. A must have for any nurse's library!"-- Lisa R. Binns-Emerick, MSN, GNP-BC, FGNLA for DOODY'S Book Review Service, A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care. Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures. Discover the insights and data that every nurse needs: NEW and updated features - Nursing, Gerontologic, Drug, and Transitional Care Alerts, evidence-based references, diagnostic methods, and drug treatment throughout the book Easy-to-read, well-illustrated outline format - practical, pertinent, and comprehensive content for the busy nurse, including: Patient education - essential self-care, prevention, and health promotion information Nursing assessments - important signs and symptoms and other clinical data to be on the alert for in all types of conditions Body system terminology - how anatomy and physiology are affected by disease in each body system Equipment use - utilizing technology for patient monitoring and therapy Nursing process and practice - systematic use of the nursing process for assessment, planning, and intervention Emergency nursing - emergent conditions Psychiatric Nursing - mental health problems Medical-surgical nursing - adult physical assessment, IV therapy, perioperative nursing, cancer nursing, and care of the older or disabled adult Patient care by body system - functions, problems, disorders, and therapies described for the respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic and sensory, gastrointestinal, renal, genitourinary, reproductive, metabolic, endocrine, hematologic, immunologic, musculoskeletal, and integumentary systems Maternity and neonatal nursing - maternal and fetal health, nursing management during labor and delivery, care of mother and neonate in postpartum period, and complications of childbearing Pediatric nursing - pediatric growth and development, physical assessment, primary care, treatment of pediatric disorders of all body systems, and developmental disabilities eBook that includes step-by-step procedure guidelines - guidance on more than 150 procedures, with rationales and direction on what to do next and why Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Author Sandra M. Nettina, MSN, ANP-BC, is a Nurse Practitioner and founder and president of Prime Care House Calls, West Friendship, Maryland.
Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice by A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition of Susan Dudek's highly respected text maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation. Highlights of the eighth edition: * New! Unfolding case studies use real-life scenarios to build critical thinking skills by asking students to apply theory to nutrition issues. * A revised Chapter 1, Nutrition in Health and Healthcare, explains the role of nutrition in chronic disease prevention, the interdisciplinary nature of nutrition care, and how technology is affecting the future of nutrition. * Updated content includes the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and its companion MyPlate, use of "eating patterns" in place of "diet" to connote lifestyle rather than a therapeutic approach, and inclusion of the newly revised Nutrition Facts label to be implemented for most packaged foods by 2018. * New topics include antibiotics in the food supply, new guidelines for the provision of enteral and parenteral nutrition support, and proposed changes in how malnutrition is defined. * An increased focus on obesity prevention and treatment includes lifestyle modification, medication, and bariatric surgery. * Built-in learning aids, include chapter-opening Check Your Knowledge questions, key terms defined in the margins, at-a-glance Nursing Process tables, chapter-ending Key Concepts summaries, and How Do You Respond? questions that prepare students to think on their feet in clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2017-06-07
Phillips's Manual of I. V. Therapeutics by The perfect resource for any setting where infusion therapy skills are required! Its popular, self-paced approach makes it ideal for classroom and clinical settings as it progresses from the basics to advanced techniques while incorporating theory into clinical application. An expanded focus on evidence-based practice, a more streamlined format, and new Plus Code Premium resources online at DavisPlus continue to make this the manual of choice in a rapidly advancing field. See what students and practitioners are saying online ... Great book!"Essential book for anyone who works with IV's." --A. Adams Great CRNI study tool. "This book is well written, and by far the best study guide I've found. It's easy to read and updated info." -- Liz
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Recommended Clinical Resources
Nursing Continuing Education
Nursing Reference Center - free CEs
Click the Continuing Education tab for access to over 1,300 CE modules.
An inventory of more than 550 independent self-study continuing nursing education courses online and in print, includes audio podcasts and FREE CE.
Nurses for a Healthier Tomorrow
A coalition of 43 nursing and health care organizations working to heighten awareness about the looming nursing shortage and the excellent opportunities that await those who seek a career in nursing.
The Klimes Institute of Continuing Education offers 60 practical low-cost online CE courses for nurses, pharmacists, other health professionals and all interested in health and ethics
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) CEs
Click on "Continuing Education" in the top gold bar; choose a topic; create a profile to generate your personalized CE Certificate of Credit; read the program introduction and Professional Monograph; take the post-test and generate a certificate!