Resource Guides: Population Health: Global Health Resources

Global Health Resource Library

The Global Health Resource Library is a small, but growing collection of books, DVDs, and CDs related to the topic of global health. The collection lives in the Lamar Soutter Library at the UMass Chan Medical School, and is available for all members of the UMass Chan community to use.

In March 2016, the Resource Library was established by a group of medical students in the student-led Global Health Topics In Action (Optional Enrichment Elective) who purchased a collection of books to share. Donations continue to be welcomed.

The books are tagged with a "GH" on a yellow sticker for easy identification and have a label on the inside cover: "Gift of International Medical Education Program and the Global Health Optional Enrichment Elective." Most books can be found in the Humanities in Medicine collection on the first floor of the library. Others are located in the Main Collection or Reference area.

Find Books in the Collection

This is a small selection of books included in the Global Health Resource Library. The complete collection may be found in the book list link below - the Global Health Resource Collection.

Book list with call numbers
Global Health Resource Collection

Banana by Dan Koeppel
Call Number: Humanities SB 379 B2K27b 2009
ISBN: 9780452290082
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
In this fascinating and surprising exploration of the banana's history, cultural significance, and endangered future, award-winning journalist Dan Koeppel chronicles the banana's path to the present, taking us to banana plantations and to the high-tech labs where new bananas are being built in test tubes, in a race to save the fruit.
Betrayal of Trust by Laurie Garrett
Call Number: Humanities WA 530 G239b 2015
ISBN: 9780786884407
Publication Date: 2001-08-15
The Pulitzer Prize-winning author examines the dangers of a failing public health system unequipped to handle large-scale global risks like a coronavirus pandemic.
Black Man in a White Coat by Damon Tweedy
Call Number: Humanities WZ100 T971b 2015
ISBN: 9781250105042
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
One doctor's passionate and profound memoir of his experience grappling with race, bias, and the unique health problems of black Americans. When Damon Tweedy begins medical school, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. Tweedy explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients.
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by Geri-Ann Galanti
Call Number: Humanities WY 107 A776 2015
ISBN: 9780812223118
Publication Date: 2014-12-19
Patients from different cultures may bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. This resource offers hundreds of case studies that illustrate examples of culturally competent health care. The fifth edition includes new cases, an expanded appendix, a chapter on improving adherence, and examples of changes hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences.
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by Michael S. Molloy (Editor); Selim Suner (Editor); Gregory R. Ciottone (Editor); Paul D. Biddinger (Editor); Robert G. Darling (Editor); Saleh Fares (Editor); Mark E. Keim (Editor)
Call Number: Humanities WA 295 D611 2016
ISBN: 9780323286657
Publication Date: 2015-11-05
The 2nd edition covers domestic events, global disasters and humanitarian crises, as well as the preparation, assessment, and management of natural and man-made disasters. New chapters on disaster nursing, crisis leadership, medical simulation in disaster preparedness, disaster and climate change, and the role of NGOs in disaster response.
Dictionary of Medical and Health Terminology by Ellen Feingold (Editor); Miriam Frier (Editor); Zerem Frier (Editor); Ehud B. Galim (Editor)
Call Number: Reference W 13 F299d 1991
ISBN: 9780132102537
Publication Date: 1991-10-01
Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew sections are bound back-to-back.
Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared M. Diamond
Call Number: History of Med HM206 .D48 1999
ISBN: 0393317552
Publication Date: 1999-04-17
Jared Diamond convincingly argues that geographical and environmental factors shaped the modern world and advances our understanding of human societies, Guns, Germs, and Steel chronicles the way the modern world came to be and stunningly dismantles racially based theories of human history.