Resource Guides: Advocacy Resources: Organizations

Organizations dedicated to science advocacy, medical research, health equity, patient rights, and immigrant rights

Local or Regional
National

Population/Community Specific Resources
Racial and Ethnic Minorities

Fenway Health
Fenway Health advocates for and delivers innovative, equitable, accessible health care, supportive services, and transformative research and education. Centers LGBTQIA+ people, BIPOC individuals, and other underserved communities to enable our local, national, and global neighbors to flourish.
United Way of Worcester
UWCM Connects people and resources to build a healthy and resilient community for everyone. Their work includes providing funding for local organizations.

Immigrant Populations

Agencia Alpha
Agencia ALPHA was founded in January of 2002 by two immigrant women from Guatemala, and is an immigrant and women-led, grassroots organization, with a focus on legalization & citizenship, community organizing and leadership development. ALPHA’s strong ties to the Latino community and proven track record have positioned us as a trusted and reliable “go-to” organization known for providing holistic support to Massachusetts’ immigrant communities.
Ascentria Care Alliance
Ascentria serves children, youth and families; persons with developmental disabilities, mental illness and deafness; persons who are economically disadvantaged; refugees, including unaccompanied refugee minors; and older adults. Formerly Lutheran Social Services of New England.
Asian-American Civic Association (AACA)
AACA empower's Boston’s low-income communities through resources and programming on workforce development and education to housing assistance, mental health counseling, and community health initiatives.
Catholic Charities of Worcester
Resources for families and individuals in need throughout Worcester County.
Centro Presente [Immigration Advocates Network] - Massachusetts
Centro Presente's Legal Immigration Services Department (LIS) provides a wide range of affordable services and programs that are crucial to the Latin American immigrant community. The Boston office serves the state of Massachusetts, providing help completing forms and filings with USCIS, as well as administrative advocacy (CIS/ICE/CBP), ESL, Legal Orientation Programs (LOP) / Know Your Rights Presentations (KYR), Legislative advocacy (state or national), Referrals to other services, and social services.
Health & Law Immigrant Solidarity Network (HLISN)
A group of health, legal professionals, and community members working to ensure access to medical care, regardless of immigration status. (Boston, MA)
Leah Zallman Center for Immigrant Health Research
Partners with immigrant communities, advocates, policymakers, and social and health systems on actionable research to improve immigrant health and well-being. (Malden, MA)
Massachusetts Immigrant and Refugee Advocacy Coalition (MIRA)
The Massachusetts Immigrant and Refugee Advocacy Coalition (MIRA) is the largest organization in New England promoting the rights and integration of immigrants and refugees.
rian Immigrant Center
rian empowers immigrants, refugees and international exchange visitors on the path to opportunity, safety, and a better future, through the provision of immigration legal services, resource and support services, education and career services, international exchange visitor immigration policies, advocacy for just and human immigration policies, and community building opportunities.
UMass Chan Immigration Services Office
The Immigration Services Office safeguards UMass Chan’s ability to sponsor foreign students, scholars, and employees, by ensuring they are able to achieve their educational and professional goals while complying with immigration regulations. The office facilitates the legal entry and transition of international members and provides opportunities for intercultural education and exchanges.
Worcester Refugee Assistance Project
WRAP is a network of individuals committed to assisting refugees and resettled migrants achieve sustainable self-reliance through mentoring, advocacy, and educational assistance.

LGBTQIA+ Community

Fenway Health
Fenway Health advocates for and delivers innovative, equitable, accessible health care, supportive services, and transformative research and education. Centers LGBTQIA+ people, BIPOC individuals, and other underserved communities to enable our local, national, and global neighbors to flourish.

People with Disabilities

MassAbility – formerly known as Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission (MRC)
MassAbility empowers people with disabilities to live life on their own terms. Their programs and services expand possibilities in careers and training, home and community life, and legal rights and benefits – including disability determination for federal programs.
Massachusetts Department of Developmental Services (DDS)
The Department of Developmental Services provides supports for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities including Autism Spectrum Disorder to enhance opportunities to become fully engaged members of their community.
New England Connection for PKU and Allied Disorders, Inc. (NECPAD)
A non-profit organization that benefits and supports individuals with Phenylketonuria (PKU) and other related disorders and their families.

People Affected by Specific Health Conditions

New England Connection for PKU and Allied Disorders, Inc. (NECPAD)
A non-profit organization that benefits and supports individuals with Phenylketonuria (PKU) and other related disorders and their families.
Sickle Cell Foundation of Massachusetts
Driven by a vision to create a world in which individuals with sickle cell disease (SCD) are empowered to live happy, hopeful, and fulfilled lives, and are surrounded by a community that is aware, accepting, and supportive of their needs.

Civil Liberties and Government Outreach

ACLU Massachusetts
The ACLU of Massachusetts is a private, nonpartisan organization with more than 82,000 supporters across the Commonwealth and over 100,000 online activists. It is a state affiliate of the national ACLU, which defends the principles enshrined in the Massachusetts Declaration of Rights, as well as the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights.

Focus on Professional Fields

Healthcare Professionals

Fenway Health
Fenway Health advocates for and delivers innovative, equitable, accessible health care, supportive services, and transformative research and education. Centers LGBTQIA+ people, BIPOC individuals, and other underserved communities to enable our local, national, and global neighbors to flourish.
Health & Law Immigrant Solidarity Network (HLISN)
A group of health, legal professionals, and community members working to ensure access to medical care, regardless of immigration status. (Boston, MA)
Mass Psych Association
The purpose of the Massachusetts Psychological Association is to advance psychology as a science, as a profession, and as a means of promoting human welfare.
UMass Chan Immigration Services Office
The Immigration Services Office safeguards UMass Chan’s ability to sponsor foreign students, scholars, and employees, by ensuring they are able to achieve their educational and professional goals while complying with immigration regulations. The office facilitates the legal entry and transition of international members and provides opportunities for intercultural education and exchanges.

Legal Professionals

Health & Law Immigrant Solidarity Network (HLISN)
A group of health, legal professionals, and community members working to ensure access to medical care, regardless of immigration status. (Boston, MA)
MassAbility – formerly known as Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission (MRC)
MassAbility empowers people with disabilities to live life on their own terms. Their programs and services expand possibilities in careers and training, home and community life, and legal rights and benefits – including disability determination for federal programs.

Researchers and Academics

Mass Psych Association
The purpose of the Massachusetts Psychological Association is to advance psychology as a science, as a profession, and as a means of promoting human welfare.

Population/Community Specific Resources
Racial and Ethnic Minorities

CDC: Office of Minority Health
Committed to improving the health of minority communities
CMS Office of Minority Health
Programs and Healthcare Resources aiming to eliminate disparities in health care quality and access, so that all CMS enrollees can achieve their highest level of health.
National Collaborative For Health Equity
The mission of the National Collaborative for Health Equity is to promote racial and health equity by supporting community leaders, harnessing data, and catalyzing partnerships across the many different sectors that share responsibility for creating a more equitable and just society.
NCJW (National Council of Jewish Women)
National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is the oldest Jewish feminist civil rights organization working for equity and justice for women, children, and families in the United States. Through the efforts of our 225,000 grassroots advocates and 49 local sections, NCJW combines education, direct service, and advocacy to affect lasting social change at the local, state, and national levels.
National Equity Atlas
America's most detailed report card on racial and economic equity working to equip movement leaders and policymakers with actionable data and strategies to advance racial equity and shared prosperity. The Atlas is produced by PolicyLink and the USC Equity Research Institute (ERI).
National Health Council: Health Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion
Working to eliminate the societal, structural, financial, and policy barriers to health care that are products of historical bias.
Oregon Health Authority
The purpose of the Health Equity Committee is to coordinate and develop policy that proactively promotes the elimination of health disparities and the achievement of health equity for all people in Oregon.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Achieving Health Equity
Offers grants supporting research to improve health equity.

Immigrant Populations

American Public Health Association (APHA)
Offers resources and advocacy tools for promoting public health policies, including those related to immigrant health. Topics of interest include: law enforcement violence as a public health issue; immigrant inclusive policies.
Health & Medicine Policy Research Group
Provides resources and advocacy information related to immigrant health and rights, including: Know your rights information, and health care settings that best serve immigrant populations.

LGBTQIA+ Community

HRC (Human Rights Campaign)
The HRC's goal is to ensure that all LGBTQ+ people, and particularly those who are trans, people of color and HIV+, are treated as full and equal citizens within the movement, across the United States and around the world. The HRC website provides information and advice on a range of topics, including resources from the HRC Foundation, in support of every LGBTQ+ person live their life freely.
LGBT Asylum Task Force
The LGBT Asylum Task Force is a church ministry formed in 2008 that welcomes LGBTQ+ people of all faith traditions. The Task Force provides housing, food, and connections to legal, educational, medical, and mental health resources at other local agencies.
Movement Advancement Project
An independent, nonprofit think tank working to create a thriving, inclusive, and equitable America.
TransHealth
Transhealth is the only independent, non-profit healthcare organization in the United States devoted solely to serving the trans and gender-diverse community.

People with Disabilities

Association for Autism and Neurodiversity (AANE)
Aims to help Autistic and similarly Neurodivergent people build meaningful, connected lives. They provide individuals, families, and professionals with education, community and support, in an inclusive atmosphere of validation and respect.
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
NORD advances practical, meaningful, and enduring change so people with rare diseases can live their fullest and best lives. Every day, they work to elevate care, advance research, and drive policy in a purposeful and holistic manner to lift up the rare disease community.

Women and Girls

CDC: Office of Women's Health
Raising visibility of risk factors and other conditions that impact women and girls’ health.

People Affected by Specific Health Conditions

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
NORD advances practical, meaningful, and enduring change so people with rare diseases can live their fullest and best lives. Every day, they work to elevate care, advance research, and drive policy in a purposeful and holistic manner to lift up the rare disease community.
Obesity Action Coalition
Dedicated to giving a voice to the individual affected by the disease of obesity and helping individuals along their journey toward better health through education, advocacy and support.

Focus on Systemic Issues and Policy
Health Equity

American Medical Association (AMA)
Provides advocacy resources, events, and policy information related to health equity and patient rights; includes the AMA Center for Health Equity and the AMA Advocacy Insights webinar series.
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Committed to helping state and territorial health agencies advance health equity.
ASTHO helps health agencies reduce inequities by focusing on structural racism and discrimination as a public health issue and highlighting governmental efforts to better allocate resources that influence well-being.
CDC: Office of Health Equity
Strives to advance the science and practice of achieving health equity for all
Healthy People 2030: Social determinants of health (SDOH)
Objectives aimed at creating social, physical, and economic environments that promote attaining the full potential for health and well-being for all.
Kaiser Family Foundation
An independent source of information for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
National Collaborative For Health Equity
The mission of the National Collaborative for Health Equity is to promote racial and health equity by supporting community leaders, harnessing data, and catalyzing partnerships across the many different sectors that share responsibility for creating a more equitable and just society.
National Equity Atlas
America's most detailed report card on racial and economic equity working to equip movement leaders and policymakers with actionable data and strategies to advance racial equity and shared prosperity. The Atlas is produced by PolicyLink and the USC Equity Research Institute (ERI).
National Health Council: Health Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion
Working to eliminate the societal, structural, financial, and policy barriers to health care that are products of historical bias.
Oregon Health Authority
The purpose of the Health Equity Committee is to coordinate and develop policy that proactively promotes the elimination of health disparities and the achievement of health equity for all people in Oregon.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Achieving Health Equity
Offers grants supporting research to improve health equity.

Civil Liberties and Government Outreach

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization fighting against and drawing attention to civil liberties breaches and issues to defend all people from government abuse and overreach.

Public Health Policy

American Public Health Association (APHA): Health Equity
APHA's resources addressing health equity; working to ensure everyone has the opportunity to attain their highest level of health.
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Committed to helping state and territorial health agencies advance health equity.
ASTHO helps health agencies reduce inequities by focusing on structural racism and discrimination as a public health issue and highlighting governmental efforts to better allocate resources that influence well-being.
Kaiser Family Foundation
An independent source of information for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
National Committee for Quality Assurance
With a mission to improve the quality of health care, NCQA works to point the way to health care that science says works, studies how well health plans and doctors provide scientifically recommended care, and
identifies organizations that are run in ways that make care better.
Oregon Health Authority
The purpose of the Health Equity Committee is to coordinate and develop policy that proactively promotes the elimination of health disparities and the achievement of health equity for all people in Oregon.

Immigrant Rights and Health

American Public Health Association (APHA)
Offers resources and advocacy tools for promoting public health policies, including those related to immigrant health. Topics of interest include: law enforcement violence as a public health issue; immigrant inclusive policies.
Centro Presente [Immigration Advocates Network]
Provides resources for advocates, organizers, and service providers to support immigrants across the United States. Includes a search platform for locating volunteer opportunities/providing services and expertise pro bono in local communities.
Health & Medicine Policy Research Group
Provides resources and advocacy information related to immigrant health and rights, including: Know your rights information, and health care settings that best serve immigrant populations.
Leah Zallman Center for Immigrant Health Research
Partners with immigrant communities, advocates, policymakers, and social and health systems on actionable research to improve immigrant health and well-being. (Malden, MA)
NIAC - National Iranian American Council
Founded in 2002, the National Iranian American Council is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization dedicated to give voice to the Iranian American community in civic life. NIAC, a sister organization of NIAC Action, supports education and engagement of the Iranian-American community in order to secure equitable immigration policies, protect civil liberties, and advance peace and diplomacy.
US Palestinian Council
The US Palestinian Council (USPC) is a non-profit, non-partisan and independent organization that aims to represent, educate and advocate on issues of concern to Palestinian Americans, strengthen ties between the US and Palestine, and push forward a vision based on liberty, justice, and human rights for all. The Council website provides a list of resources, as well as elected officials at the regional and national level.

Disability Rights and Inclusion

Association for Autism and Neurodiversity (AANE)
Aims to help Autistic and similarly Neurodivergent people build meaningful, connected lives. They provide individuals, families, and professionals with education, community and support, in an inclusive atmosphere of validation and respect.
Movement Advancement Project
An independent, nonprofit think tank working to create a thriving, inclusive, and equitable America.
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
NORD advances practical, meaningful, and enduring change so people with rare diseases can live their fullest and best lives. Every day, they work to elevate care, advance research, and drive policy in a purposeful and holistic manner to lift up the rare disease community.

Research and Healthcare Quality

Kaiser Family Foundation
An independent source of information for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
National Committee for Quality Assurance
With a mission to improve the quality of health care, NCQA works to point the way to health care that science says works, studies how well health plans and doctors provide scientifically recommended care, and
identifies organizations that are run in ways that make care better.
Research!America
A non-profit medical and health research advocacy alliance advocating for science, discovery, and innovation to achieve better health for all. UMass Chan is a member institution.
United for Medical Research (UMR)
A coalition of leading research institutions, patient and health advocates, and private industry seeking strong and sustainable increases in funding for the National Institutes of Health in order to save and improve lives, advance innovation and fuel the economy.
Utilization Review Accreditation Commission (URAC)
An independent, nonprofit accreditation entity working to facilitate improving the quality of health care using evidence-based measures.

Focus on Professional Fields

Healthcare Professionals

American Medical Association (AMA)
Provides advocacy resources, events, and policy information related to health equity and patient rights; includes the AMA Center for Health Equity and the AMA Advocacy Insights webinar series.
American Psychological Association (APA)
APA's mission is to promote the advancement, communication, and application of psychological science and knowledge to benefit society and improve lives. We do this by utilizing psychology to make a positive impact on critical societal issues;
elevating the public’s understanding of, regard for, and use of psychology; preparing the discipline and profession of psychology for the future; and
strengthening APA’s standing as an authoritative voice for psychology.
American Public Health Association (APHA)
Offers resources and advocacy tools for promoting public health policies, including those related to immigrant health. Topics of interest include: law enforcement violence as a public health issue; immigrant inclusive policies.
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Committed to helping state and territorial health agencies advance health equity.
ASTHO helps health agencies reduce inequities by focusing on structural racism and discrimination as a public health issue and highlighting governmental efforts to better allocate resources that influence well-being.
TransHealth
Transhealth is the only independent, non-profit healthcare organization in the United States devoted solely to serving the trans and gender-diverse community.
Utilization Review Accreditation Commission (URAC)
An independent, nonprofit accreditation entity working to facilitate improving the quality of health care using evidence-based measures.

Legal Professionals

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization fighting against and drawing attention to civil liberties breaches and issues to defend all people from government abuse and overreach.

Researchers and Academics

American Psychological Association (APA)
APA's mission is to promote the advancement, communication, and application of psychological science and knowledge to benefit society and improve lives. We do this by utilizing psychology to make a positive impact on critical societal issues;
elevating the public’s understanding of, regard for, and use of psychology; preparing the discipline and profession of psychology for the future; and
strengthening APA’s standing as an authoritative voice for psychology.
Healthy People 2030: Social determinants of health (SDOH)
Objectives aimed at creating social, physical, and economic environments that promote attaining the full potential for health and well-being for all.
Kaiser Family Foundation
An independent source of information for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
Leah Zallman Center for Immigrant Health Research
Partners with immigrant communities, advocates, policymakers, and social and health systems on actionable research to improve immigrant health and well-being. (Malden, MA)
National Equity Atlas
America's most detailed report card on racial and economic equity working to equip movement leaders and policymakers with actionable data and strategies to advance racial equity and shared prosperity. The Atlas is produced by PolicyLink and the USC Equity Research Institute (ERI).
Research!America
A non-profit medical and health research advocacy alliance advocating for science, discovery, and innovation to achieve better health for all. UMass Chan is a member institution.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Achieving Health Equity
Offers grants supporting research to improve health equity.
United for Medical Research (UMR)
A coalition of leading research institutions, patient and health advocates, and private industry seeking strong and sustainable increases in funding for the National Institutes of Health in order to save and improve lives, advance innovation and fuel the economy.