Resource Guides: Researcher Tools, Services and Support: Genomes & Maps

BioProject (formerly Genome Project)

A BioProject is a collection of biological data related to a single initiative, originating from a single organization or from a consortium. A BioProject record provides users a single place to find links to the diverse data types generated for that project. The BioProject Database is a searchable collection of complete and incomplete (in-progress) large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for a cellular organism.

The BioProject Quick Start Guide can help you begin using this resource.

Other Useful Resources

dbVAR
Database of genomic structural variation.
PopSet
Database contains related nucleotide sequences that originate from comparative studies: phylogenetic, population, environmental (ecosystem), and mutational. Each record in the database is a set of nucleotide sequences representing the same molecule from the same species (population, mutation), different identifiable species (phylogenetic), or anonymous species from the same biological community (ecosystem).

Nucleotide

The Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.

Genome Reference Consortium

This group is responsible for the human and mouse reference genomes. Along with NCBI, members include:

The McDonnell Genome Institute at Washington University
The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI)

The GRC works to correct misrepresented loci and to close remaining assembly gaps. The public website allows users to view genomic regions currently under review, report genome-related problems, and contact the Consortium.