Resource Guides: Researcher Tools, Services and Support: Sequence Analysis

Genome Workbench

The NCBI Genome Workbench is an integrated application for viewing and analyzing sequence data. With the Workbench, you can view data in publically available sequence databases at NCBI, and mix this data with your own private data.

A growing set of online tutorials to help you use the Workbench is available on NCBI's YouTube Channel.

Influenza Virus

The Influenza Virus Resource presents data obtained from the NIAID Influenza Genome Sequencing Project as well as from GenBank, combined with tools for flu sequence analysis, annotation and submission to GenBank. It also provides links to other resources that contain flu sequences, publications, and general information about flu viruses.

Tools

BLAST (stand-alone)
BLAST executables for local use are provided by Solaris, LINUX, Windows, and MacOSX systems.
BLAST Link (BLink)
A link option on protein records that displays the results of a pre-computed BLAST search of that protein against all protein sequences at NCBI.
BLAST Microbial Search
Performs a BLAST search for similar sequences from selected complete eukaryotic and prokaryotic genomes.
BLAST RefSeqGene
Performs a BLAST search of the genomic sequences in the RefSeqGene/LRG set. The default display provides ready navigation to review alignments in the Graphics display.
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
Finds regions of local similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as to help identify members of gene families.
COBALT
COBALT is a protein multiple sequence alignment tool that finds a collection of pairwise constraints derived from conserved domain database, protein motif database, and sequence similarity, using RPS-BLAST, BLASTP, and PHI-BLAST.
Concise Microbial Protein BLAST
A specialized BLAST service in which the queried database consists of all proteins from complete microbial (prokaryotic) genomes. NCBI has precalculated clusters of similar proteins at the genus-level and one representative is chosen from each cluster in order to reduce the dataset, thereby reducing search time and providing a broader taxonomic view.
Conserved Domain Search Service (CD Search)
Identifies the conserved domains present in a protein sequence. CD-Search uses RPS-BLAST (Reverse Position-Specific BLAST) to compare a query sequence against position-specific score matrices that have been prepared from conserved domain alignments present in the Conserved Domain Database (CDD).
Electronic PCR (e-PCR)
A computational procedure that is used to identify sequence tagged sites (STSs) within DNA sequences. e-PCR looks for potential STSs in DNA sequences by searching for subsequences that closely match the PCR primers and have the correct order, orientation, and spacing that could represent the PCR primers used to generate known STSs.
GEO BLAST
Tool for aligning a query sequence (nucleotide or protein) to GenBank sequences included on microarray or SAGE platforms in the GEO database.
Genome Blast
This tool compares nucleotide or protein sequences to genomic sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches using the Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) algorithm.
Genome ProtMap
Genome ProtMap maps each protein from a COG, or in the case of viruses a VOG, back to its genome, and displays all the genomic segments coding for members of this particular group of related proteins. The view can be shifted to focus on an adjacent COG/VOG, and clusters can be searched by name, protein gi, or gene locus tag.
Genome Remapping Service
NCBI's Remap tool allows users to project annotation data and convert locations of features from one genomic assembly to another or to RefSeqGene sequences through a base by base analysis. Options are provided to adjust the stringency of remapping, and summary results are displayed on the web page. Full results can be downloaded for viewing in NCBI's Genome Workbench graphical viewer, and annotation data for the remapped features, as well as summary data, is also available for download.
Open Mass Spectrometry Search Algorithm
An efficient search engine for identifying MS/MS peptide spectra by searching libraries of known protein sequences. OMSSA scores significant hits with a probability score developed using classical hypothesis testing, the same statistical method used in BLAST.
ORF Finder (Open Reading Frame Finder)
A graphical analysis tool that finds all open reading frames in a user's sequence or in a sequence already in the database. Sixteen different genetic codes can be used. The deduced amino acid sequence can be saved in various formats and searched against protein databases using BLAST.
Primer-BLAST
The Primer-BLAST tool uses Primer3 to design PCR primers to a sequence template. The potential products are then automatically analyzed with a BLAST search against user specified databases, to check the specificity to the target intended.
ProSplign
A utility for computing alignment of proteins to genomic nucleotide sequence. It is based on a variation of the Needleman Wunsch global alignment algorithm and specifically accounts for introns and splice signals. Due to this algorithm, ProSplign is accurate in determining splice sites and tolerant to sequencing errors.
Sequence Viewer
Provides a configurable graphical display of a nucleotide or protein sequence and features that have been annotated on that sequence. In addition to use on NCBI sequence database pages, this viewer is available as an embeddable webpage component. Detailed documentation including an API Reference guide is available for developers wishing to embed the viewer in their own pages.
Splign
A utility for computing cDNA-to-Genomic sequence alignments. It is based on a variation of the Needleman-Wunsch global alignment algorithm and specifically accounts for introns and splice signals. Due to this algorithm, Splign is accurate in determining splice sites and tolerant to sequencing errors.
TaxPlot
A tool for comparing genomes on the basis of the protein sequences they encode. To use TaxPlot, one selects a reference genome and two species for comparison. Pre-computed BLAST results are then used to plot a point for each predicted protein in the reference genome, based on the best alignment with proteins in each of the two genomes being compared.
VecScreen
A system for quickly identifying segments of a nucleic acid sequence that may be of vector origin. VecScreen searches a query sequence for segments that match any sequence in a specialized non-redundant vector database (UniVec).