CONTACT US
Librarians for GSBS students, faculty and researchers:
Sally Gore, MS, MS LIS
Head, Research & Scholarly Communication Services
sally.gore@umassmed.edu
X6-1966
Lisa Palmer, MSLS, AHIP
Institutional Repository Librarian
lisa.palmer@umassmed.edu
X6-4368
We're here to help!
Classes
Our Department offers a number of classes on topics related to scholarly communications and publishing (see descriptions below). Contact Sally for more information or to schedule a session.
- NIH Public Access Policy: Submitting Manuscripts to PubMed Central The NIH Public Access Policy requires all authors publishing peer-reviewed articles based on research funded by NIH to make their work publicly available within 12 months of publication through PubMed Central. This class provides an overview of the Policy and covers the practical steps for compliance including determining copyright of currently published articles, maintaining author rights, and using the NIH Manuscript Submission System.
- Introduction to Copyright Basics The introductory session will include:
* What Copyright law covers and does not cover
* Myths/Truths about copyright in educational settings
* Annual Copyright License/Academic
* Constructing Durable Links to e-resources
* Attribution and permission for 3rd party works
* Using images “legally”
* Where to go for more information - Author Rights Today more than ever, authors need a good understanding of the basic concepts of intellectual property, as well as the rights they have when it comes to publishing, sharing, and archiving their scholarly work. This workshop is designed to help faculty become aware of authors’ rights issues.
- “Fair Use” vs. Attribution vs. Permission In this session, we will define "Fair Use" and discuss how to determine if a proposed use is "fair."
* Four Factors
* Complete attribution
* Attribution vs. permission
* When and how to seek permission - Images (Copyright Basics) In this session, we will discuss how to find and use images (photos, microscopic slides, tables, charts, graphs, illustrations, cartoons, clipart, etc.) in teaching, publishing, and presenting.
* Image E-resources licensed by the LSL
* Materials in Public Domain, Gov doc, etc.
* Wikimedia, Flickr, websites, "create your own," etc.
* What is the role of "Fair Use"
* Attribution vs. permission - EndNote EndNote is a bibliographic management tool that allows users to create and organize a library of citations and abstracts and then import them directly into a Microsoft Word document. This class will demonstrate how to set up a new library, how to import citations from MEDLINE, how to work with the citation style manager and how to add bibliographic references to a Microsoft Word document.
- RefWorks This class will introduce building a bibliography using the RefWorks bibliographic citation management program. NOTE: Participants should be familiar with finding research articles in MEDLINE. Experience with other databases is desirable.
Scientist Meets Publisher
In the News
- Measuring impact in online resources with the CInumber (the CitedIn Number for online impact) : Nature PrecedingsA presentation on CitedIn, a tool to measure the impact of research beyond journal citations.
- eLife: A New Journal for Life Scientists by Life Scientists (Chronicle of Higher Ed)"Scientists in the lab and in the field are closest to cutting-edge research. But at top scientific journals, it's professional editors who ultimately decide what gets published. A new journal scheduled to make its debut next year aims to change that by putting scientists in the editors' chair. Called eLife, it will cover a wide range of life sciences, "from computational biology on one end to clinical science on the other end," says its editor in chief, Randy Schekman. It will be fully open ac
- Google Scholar Citations Open To AllGoogle Scholar Citations offers authors a simple way to compute their citation metrics and track them over time. Read how.
Publishing Your Research 101

The American Chemical Society (ACS) has created a series of free, online videos under the title, Publishing Your Research 101. The videos "assist authors and reviewers in understanding and improving their experience with the processes of writing, submitting, editing, and reviewing manuscripts." Titles include:
- How to Write a Paper to Communicate Your Research
- Writing Your Cover Letter
- Selecting Peers to Suggest as Reviewers
- And many more
If you are new to the process of scientific writing and publication or you're looking for some tips to jump start your writing, check them out.
mBIO
The American Society of Microbiology announces the release of its first open access journal, mBio. As with all ASM journals, mBio contains the best research in microbiology and allied fields. It is high quality, peer-reviewed and available to share openly with all of your colleagues throughout the world. If you're thinking of publishing in an OA journal, consider mBio.
NEW: PLoS & BIOMED CENTRAL MEMBERSHIPS
UPDATE: BioMed Central Membership will now additionally include all publications within SpringerOpen journals.
Remember: UMMS is a member of both PLoS and BioMed Central!
The Library has purchased institutional memberships in both the Public Library of Science and BioMed Central. This means UMMS authors publishing in PLoS or BMC journals will receive a discount on publishing fees and charges. The next time you have a manuscript ready, consider sending it to one of the open access journals of PLoS or BioMed Central.
- Retain the copyright for your work
- Increase visibility of your work
- Support open access
For more information, contact Sally - sally.gore@umassmed.edu, X6-1966.
Looking to Publish? Wondering where?
Have you recently finished an article and are now considering where to submit it for publication? Are you wondering how to find the best fit? Journal impact factor, name recognition, and likelihood of acceptance are all things to consider. Another resource to help you is JANE (Journal Author Name Estimator). It works by comparing the title and/or title and abstract of your article with others indexed in MEDLINE. The results show you a list of appropriate journal titles, an "article influence" score (based upon the number of times articles in the publication are cited w/in five years of being published), and a sample of articles from the specific journal that match most closely to yours.
To see how it worked, I typed in the title of my graduate thesis "Sex differences in central and peripheral factors of skeletal muscle fatigue" and found that the Journal of Applied Physiology topped the list, followed by ACSM's Exercise and Sport Science Reviews. I was also able to see that JAP deposits articles in PubMed Central 12 months after publication, thus fulfilling any funding requirement (e.g. NIH) had I received such for this work. Finally, I was given a list of the top articles from their respective journals that matched with mine, complete with links back to the abstract in PubMed. All in all, a very handy tool! Give it a try. Let me know how you like it.
~ Sally
Looking to Publish in an Open Access Journal?
Many faculty members and researchers at UMMS are frequent contributors to open access journals, choosing to publish their research in a format that disseminates the findings to a wide audience. You may know of BioMed Central journals or the titles published by the Public Library of Science (PLoS), but there are many others that you could consider.
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a comprehensive and well-respected resource for locating OA journals in your field. Visit the site not only to find a journal to submit your articles, but also to locate journals to read, too.
Toolkits
Resources for Answering Questions about Scholarly Communication Issues
- ARL ToolkitFrom the Association of Research Libraries
- SPARC ResourcesFrom the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
Scientific Writing Tools
Lecture notes from Library Resource Sessions in Scientific Writing Courses


Loading...
