Skip to Main Content
UMass Chan Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library. Education. Research. Health Care. Empowering the future. Preserving the past.
UMass Chan Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

The First Operation with Ether: A Historical and Medical Perspective

This guide provides more information on the painting, The First Operation with Ether, as well as the history of anesthesia.

Image of Boston Medical Library Website Banner

Boston Medical Library | A Short History

Boston Medical Library SealFounded to serve the learning needs of practicing physicians by Drs. John C. Warren and James Jackson in 1805, the Boston Medical Library (BML) was formally reconstituted by Dr. James Chadwick in 1875 with Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes as President and incorporated in 1877. In 1946, the BML became the official library of the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS).

The BML mission, revised in 2004, is “to be a Library for the dissemination of medical knowledge, the promotion of medical education and scholarship, and the preservation and celebration of medical history, and thereby to advance the quality of health and healthcare of the people.”

The Boston Medical Library serves as a resource for the lifelong learning of practicing physicians and dentists of Massachusetts, which has been its founding and continuing mission, besides serving the medical school faculties and students of Harvard Medical School, Boston University Medical School, Tufts University School of Medicine and the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

BML Collections of Note

An Unrivaled Depth and Breadth of Medical History

The Boston Medical Library contains large and significant collections of books, and frequently, manuscripts on almost every medical specialty. The Library's holdings [1] are especially rich in:

Anatomical visual works, including texts and atlases for artists [2].

Plastic surgery, physiology, chemistry, anesthesia, radiology, obstetrics and gynecology, neurology and psychiatry [3].

Herbals and medical botany, as well as pharmacy and materia medica [4].

Dentistry [5]. Visit the Lamar Soutter Library - we love visitors!

 15th-19th century European books, English medical literature of all ages, and medical texts issued in America 1668-1870 [6].

Medical Literature, Coinage, Portraits and Iconography

 

One of the largest collections of medically related manuscripts in America used by scholars worldwide [7].

The Storer Collection of Medical Numismatics, the world’s largest assemblage of medical coins,
medals, and similar artifacts [8].

A choice collection of early instruments and other medical artifacts [9].

A significant collection of
medical portraits and iconography,
including approximately 80,000
portraits, photographs and prints of physicians and medical scientists, medical scenes, antique medical
prints, and medical caricatures
and satires [10].

  

Due to the transition of the BML, manuscripts, rare books and special collections are not available at this time. To get in touch about BML collections, or services offered to BML Fellows and members of the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS), please contact info@bostonmedicallibrary.org.

[1] Our Collections - Boston Medical Library Ancient & Rare Literature. (n.d.). Boston Medical Library. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://bml.org/collections/
All iconography used on this page is CC BY from https://thenounproject.com
[2] anatomy Icon - Free PNG & SVG 3568721 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/anatomy-3568721/; painting Icon - Free PNG & SVG 5070178 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/painting-5070178/
[3] plastic surgery Icon - Free PNG & SVG 7103588 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/plastic-surgery-7103588/
[4] mortar Icon - Free PNG & SVG 4724070 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/mortar-4724070/
[5] dentistry Icon - Free PNG & SVG 7318783 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/dentistry-7318783/
[6] medical education Icon - Free PNG & SVG 4037077 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/medical-education-4037077/
[7] manuscript Icon - Free PNG & SVG 5537924 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/manuscript-5537924/
[8] Album Icon - Free PNG & SVG 5068759 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/album-5068759/
[9] Surgical Instruments Icon - Free PNG & SVG 4260736 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/surgical-instruments-4260736/
[10] portrait Icon - Free PNG & SVG 4805389 - Noun Project. (n.d.). The Noun Project. Retrieved January 6, 2025, from https://thenounproject.com/icon/portrait-4805389/