Carnivore Dissection Lab - From the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. Includes images of canine dissection, with videos of both canine and feline dissection.
Consultant, Cornell's Veterinary Diagnostic Database - Consultant is freely available from Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine and it is designed to provide assistance to trained veterinarians similar to that provided by a textbook or diagnostic test. It is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnosis or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and provides a synopsis of the diagnosis/cause and recent literature references.
Lab procedures - Instructional multimedia provided by the University of Alberta documents pipetting techniques, gradient mixers, spectrometers, gel electrophoresis, and gel filtration chromatography.
Merck Veterinary Manual Online - Electronic reference for animal care. Includes over 12,000 indexed topics and over 1200 illustrations. Search by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword. Note from publisher: "This online text has now been superseded by publication of the 10th edition of the Merck Veterinary Manual in September 2010 and may contain inaccurate or outdated information."
Agricola – Database of agricultural literature maintained by the USDA National Agriculture Library. The database provides free access to citations indexed in the NAL catalog. Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) – Division of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library. Provides information for improved animal care and use in research, teaching, and testing. Offers guidelines, legal and government information, literature, links, etc. on care for lab animals and alternatives for use of lab animals in research.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Publications – FAO is a branch of the United Nations charged with overseeing agricultural matters. FAO's mandate is to raise levels of nutrition, improve agricultural productivity, better the lives of rural populations and contribute to the growth of the world economy.
Institute for Laboratory Animal Research – Evaluates and reports on scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources, and of non-animal alternatives in non-food settings, such as research, testing, education, and production of pharmaceuticals.
International Veterinary Information Service – IVIS – Requires free registration and includes access to proceedings, a drug database, calendar, newsletters, Veterinary Focus (formerly Waltham Focus), online courses, and full-text books. It also provides quick links to recent article citations with abstracts in PubMed through pre-defined searches for a specific journal and a specific animal type.
NIH OER Animals in Research – Offers "latest news, policies, education, training, and information on animals in research."
Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare – provides guidance and interpretation of the Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. Site provides policies, guidance, resources, and contacts.
USDA Animal Care – USDA Animal Care is responsible for upholding and enforcing the Animal Welfare Act and the Horse Protection Act. The Animal Welfare Act and its associated regulations require that federally established standards of care and treatment be provided for certain warm-blooded animals bred for commercial sale, used in research, transported commercially or exhibited to the public.
ALTBIB - Resources for alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing. Includes citations relevant to alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing. Many citations provide access to free full text.