Resource Guides: Pathways Research: Clinical Care

Best Bet Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public access database to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
To ensure you see the check for full text at UMass Chan button when you are logged into NCBI, add the UMassMed Outside Tool to your NCBI account. To add: Sign in to My NCBI. >> Select your username in the upper right corner to access the Account Settings page. >> Select Site Preferences >> Select Outside Tool under PubMed Preferences. >> Check the box next to "UMassMed users can check for full text" from the list of Outside Tool services available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a comprehensive clinical information resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
Collection of core textbooks in medicine and basic sciences

PsychINFO (1967-present)
Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PsychINFO (1806-1966)
Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Sage Research Methods
A collection of text and video resources to help develop research methods

Resource	What it Does	Devices it Works On	Download Instructions
DynaMed	Clinically organized summaries of medical topics, includes Calculators, and images		Instructions
UpToDate	Clinically organized narratives of medical topics		Instructions
Lexicomp	Comprehensive drug resource		Instructions
VisualDX	Diagnostic decision support tool to diagnosis visually identifiable diseases		Instructions

What is Survey Research? Selection from: Byrne, D. (2023). Data Collection. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408563. Provides expert insight into survey research and overview; later section cover methodology, data collection, analysis and interpretation, and dissemination.
Research Ethics From: Byrne, D. (2023). Introduction. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408556.
How Do I Design a Questionnaire? From: Byrne, D. (2023). How Do I Design a Questionnaire?. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408563.
Data Collection and Interpretation From: Byrne, D. (2023). Data Analysis and Interpretation. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408570.
How Do I Present My Research at a Conference? Byrne, D. (2023). How Do I Present My Research at a Conference?. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408594.
Book: A companion to survey research Ornstein, M. (2013). A companion to survey research. SAGE Publications Ltd, https://doi.org/10.4135/9781473913943

Case Files Collections (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
An online library of true-to-life clinical cases. CFC provides students and residents with an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls and board-style review questions. The collection is organized into basic science cases, clinical rotation cases, and post-graduate cases but you can easily search by a specific book or topic.