Resource Guides: Pathways Research: Health System Science

ECLIPSE Framework

The ECLIPSE Framework is a way to break down questions regarding services and policies to make them more searchable. It is probably a better framework than PICO for Health Systems questions.

Element	Definition
Expectation	What are you looking to improve or change? What is the information going to be used for?
Client group	Who is the service or policy aimed at?
Location	Where is the service or policy located?
Impact	What is the change in service or policy that the researcher is investigating?
Professionals	Who is involved in providing or improving the service or policy?
Service	What kind of service or policy is this?

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public access database to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
To ensure you see the check for full text at UMass Chan button when you are logged into NCBI, add the UMassMed Outside Tool to your NCBI account. To add: Sign in to My NCBI. >> Select your username in the upper right corner to access the Account Settings page. >> Select Site Preferences >> Select Outside Tool under PubMed Preferences. >> Check the box next to "UMassMed users can check for full text" from the list of Outside Tool services available.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Collection of literature in nursing and allied health
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

Click here to view our full collection of databases

Books in our Collection

Systems Science and Population Health by Abdulrahman M El-Sayed, Sandro Galea
ISBN: 9780190492403
Publication Date: 2017
WHO guideline on health policy and system support to optimize community health worker programmes. by World Health Organization
ISBN: 9789241550369
Publication Date: 2018

Online Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans.
Institute for Healthcare Improvement Video Library
Videos available for a range of topics related to healthcare improvement.

Journals

Health Systems
Full-text access: 2018 - One year ago
Health Research Policy and Systems
Full-text access: 2003 - Present
Learning Health Systems
Full-text access: 2016 - present

Articles

Health Systems Science
Bartoletta, K. M., & Starr, S. R. (2021). Health Systems Science. Advances in pediatrics, 68, 1–19.

Pathways Research

Meet Your Pathway Librarians

Need Help?

Interlibrary Loan 📙