Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Chan Medical School, Lamar Soutter Library. Education. Research. Health Care. Empowering the future. Preserving the past.
UMass Chan Medical School Homepage Lamar Soutter Library Homepage

Access Services: How to Place an Interlibrary Loan Request

Overview

How to Place Requests

  • Through our online databases you can use the "Check for Full Text" link to order journal articles not owned by the library. Simply click on the “Request this document via Interlibrary Loan” link which will fill-in the interlibrary loan request form.

Or

  • The first time you place an order, you will register as an ILLiad user. Your library barcode number will be your username. You will choose your own password. To avoid delays, be sure to include your payment information.
  • If you forget your password, contact the Interlibrary Loan office at 508-856-2080.

How do I make an account?

How do I make an account?

1. Click here.
2. Read the Copyright information.  Then click First Time Users Click Here:

Image with text: "By pressing this button you acknowledge and agree to the terms and conditions above" with a button labelled "First time Users Click Here"

3. Enter your information as requested.

What is my Library Barcode?

What is my username or Library Barcode?

Your username is your library barcode.  It begins with D and has 9 digits.  

Apply for a barcode here.  Get help with your barcode by calling or emailing: 508-856-6099, CircStaffMB@umassmed.edu

How do I make a new request?

How do I make a new request?

1. Log in to your ILL account.
2. Click ArticleBook, Book Chapter or Dissertation in the "New Requests" section of the sidebar:

3. Enter the information for the article. Then click Submit Request.

An image of the Inter Library Loan request page with an arrow indicating a button labelled SUBMIT at the bottom of the page.

How do I submit a request using PubMed?

How do I automatically create a request from PubMed?

  1. Search for the article using PubMed as you would ordinarily.
  2. When you have found the article, look at the right side-bar for any full-text links.  Click Check For Full Text to search all UMMS resources.

An image of the title of an article with a large red arrow indicating a button labelled "Check for Full Text" with the UMMS logo at right

3. If the Check for Full Text link does not find any resources, you can click Request Item via Interlibrary Loan to automatically fill-in the Interlibrary Loan form.

Image with text "Sorry, no full-text was found for this journal. Please try one of the options below." then "Additional options for finding full-text" with "Check for a Copy in Print - World Cat Local", then a link labelled "Request this document via..." "Inter Library Loan" and finally "Check E-Journals and E-Books List" as a final link.