Resource Guides: DRIVE: Expanded Curriculum Appraisal Tool &amp; Resources: Section 3 Resources

Image and Media Resources

AccessMedicine - Database of core textbooks in medicine; license includes access images; images can be used for educational purposes
Black and Brown Skin - An image gallery created by a Black British medical student, searchable by region. Mind the Gap eBook also available, see below
NIH Images and B-roll - Still and video images, free for educational and public use
OHSU Educational Use Photo Diversity Repository and Diverse Images and Audiovisuals for Educating Health Professions - This digital image collection and guide from Oregon Health Sciences University provide teachers of health professions students access to diverse media for learners
Public Health Image Library - A resource from CDC provides free stock images for educational and public use
VisualDx – Image database of clinical findings; searchable by gender, complexion, age, etc.; license includes access to images; images can be used for educational purposes, see video

Atlas of Black Skin edited by Ali Moiin (2020)
Dermatological Atlas of Black Skin by Coyle Connolly and Joseph Bikowski (2006)
Dermatology for Skin of Color by A. Paul Kelly and Susan C. Taylor (2009)
Mind the Gap: A Handbook of Clinical Signs in Black and Brown Skin by Malone Mukwende, Peter Tamony, Margot Turner (2020)

Brown Skin Matters - This curated Instagram account is dedicated to sharing images of common skin conditions on dark skin.
Skin of Color Society's Resource Library and Patient Education materials are excellent resources to learn more about cutaneous manifestations of various conditions on every kind of skin.
Positive Exposure Image Gallery: POSITIVE EXPOSURE promotes a more inclusive world through award-winning photography, films, exhibitions, lectures and educational programs. For more than 20 years, POSITIVE EXPOSURE has collaborated globally with nonprofit organizations, hospitals, medical schools, educational institutions and advocacy groups to promote a more equitable and compassionate world where individuals and communities at risk of stigma and exclusion are understood, embraced and celebrated.