Book Displays: 11.22 Alternative & Complementary Medicine

Integration of complementary and alternative medicine therapies (CAM) with conventional medicine is occurring in hospitals and physicians offices, health maintenance organizations (HMOs) are covering CAM therapies, insurance coverage for CAM is increasing, and integrative medicine centers and clinics are being established, many with close ties to medical schools and teaching hospitals. In determining what care to provide, the goal should be comprehensive care that uses the best scientific evidence available regarding benefits and harm, encourages a focus on healing, recognizes the importance of compassion and caring, emphasizes the centrality of relationship-based care, encourages patients to share in decision making about therapeutic options, and promotes choices in care that can include complementary therapies where appropriate. Numerous approaches to delivering integrative medicine have evolved. Complementary and Alternative Medicine in the United States identifies an urgent need for health systems research that focuses on identifying the elements of these models, the outcomes of care delivered in these models, and whether these models are cost-effective when compared to conventional practice settings. It outlines areas of research in convention and CAM therapies, ways of integrating these therapies, development of curriculum that provides further education to health professionals, and an amendment of the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act to improve quality, accurate labeling, research into use of supplements, incentives for privately funded research into their efficacy, and consumer protection against all potential hazards.

Around one in three people in the western world will develop cancer at some stage in life and complementary therapies are increasingly being used alongside orthodox treatments as part of the 'integrative' approach to cancer care. Enhancing Cancer Care is a practical, evidence-based guide tocomplementary cancer therapies, also described as natural or holistic therapies. More and more patients are turning to these therapies as there is now considerable evidence that they can help with symptom-control and quality-of-life, and that some may also extend survival. Complementary therapiescan also provide the patient with a greater sense of control regarding the management of their illness. From the editor of Integrated Cancer Care, this new title provides detailed commentary on a broad range of complementary therapies and features practical advice on how to implement therapies toenhance current practice.The first part of the book deals with the general principles behind complementary therapies and the factors driving their growing popularity, the challenges of evaluating their benefits and unwanted effects, and experience of using them in oncology units, hospices, the private sector and primarycare. The second part includes chapters on specific interventions, including complementary therapies such as acupuncture and aromatherapy massage; lifestyle modifications through diet and exercise; creative therapies using art and music; and psychological and spiritual support for individuals andgroups. These chapters provide descriptions of the therapies, a summary of the evidence for their benefits in cancer care, and illustrative case histories.The emphasis throughout this book is on enhancing practice; that is, using the therapies alongside conventional medicine, rather than as alternatives to it.

Holistic nursing has as its goal healing the whole person, an approach that is grounded in the inherent interconnectedness of self, others, nature, and spirituality. The holistic nurse is an instrument of healing and a facilitator in the healing process, honoring the individual's subjective experience of health, health beliefs, and values, viewing the whole person and his/her needs in their entirety, with integration as the goal. This publication is a guide to the essentials of a distinctive practice specialty.

Integrative Medicine, by Dr. David Rakel, provides the practical, evidence-based guidance you need to safely and effectively integrate complementary and alternative medical treatments into your practice. This medical reference book lays the framework for making the best use of these therapeutic modalities and understanding the mechanisms by which these interventions work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Incorporate therapeutic integrative medicine modalities into clinical practice through the "Tools for Your Practice" section that offers how-to application for recommending mediation, prescribing probiotics, and how to do an elimination diet. Apply integrative treatments for a full range of diseases and conditions including autism, stroke, chronic fatigue syndrome, and various forms of cancer...see how to advise patients on health maintenance and wellness...and get valuable advice on topics such as meditation, diet, and exercises for back pain. Avoid potential complications with recommended dosages and precautions. Enhance patient care with therapy-based guidance and printable patient education guides. Implement proven integrative treatments for various diseases thanks to an evidence-based therapeutic approach. Weigh the likely effectiveness of various treatments vs. their potential harm with helpful icons based on the SORT (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) method. Validate potential interventions through the latest research in genomics and advanced imaging technologies, such as MRI.

Soaking up the rays forges a new path for exploring Britain's fickle love of the light by investigating the beginnings of light therapy in the country from c. 1890-1940. Despite rapidly becoming a leading treatment for tuberculosis, rickets and other infections and skin diseases, light therapy was a contentious medical practice. Bodily exposure to light, whether for therapeutic or aesthetic ends, persists as a contested subject to this day: recommended to counter skin conditions as well as Seasonal Affective Disorder and depression; closely linked to notions of beauty, happiness and well-being, fuelling tourism abroad and the tanning industry at home; and yet with repeated health warnings that it is a dangerous carcinogen. By analysing archival photographs, illustrated medical texts, advertisements, lamps, and goggles and their visual representation of how light acted upon the body, Woloshyn assesses their complicated contribution to the founding of light therapy.

An introduction to the theory and practice of acupuncture This introductory text presents a systematized and in-depth clinical approach to medical acupuncture. Covering basic concepts in anatomy, physiology, and pathology, Clinical Introduction to Medical Acupuncture will give practitioners the confidence to apply acupuncture and ancillary techniques, such as needling, moxibustion, cupping and electroacupunture, to treat a wide range of acute and chronic diseases and conditions. Features: Succinct descriptions of theory and points Tips on using anatomical landmarks to ensure precise point localization Clinical pearls on how to apply techniques for common conditions Clear illustrations and comprehensive tables that synthesize key information on indications, acupuncture points, and treatment plans, ideal for quick review and reference Short self-study quizzes for each topic and a comprehensive final exam that help the practitioner identify areas requiring additional study Discussion of the importance of self-care and cultivation, Qi Gong, and other techniques to enhance healing This book will benefit not only acupuncturists and complementary medicine practitioners, but also Western medical practitioners in family medicine, physical and rehabilitation medicine, pain medicine, neurology, oncology, rheumatology, gynecology, dentistry and other specialties. Practitioners studying for certification and licensing exams in medical acupuncture will also find this book an indispensable tool.

Sixth Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title C]onsistently offers easily accessible and timely information on how complementary therapies influence the health, comfort, and well-being of patients in a variety of clinical settings. It is an influential resource for nurses in practice, education, and research. --Janice Post-White, PhD, RN, FAAN Praise for the Sixth Edition Complementary and alternative therapies are increasingly popular and this book provides an informative and up-to-date introduction to the more commonly used treatments."--IAHPC Newsletter (International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care) The seventh edition of this highly acclaimed book continues to deliver evidence-based practice guidelines for the use of complementary and alternative therapies in nursing. It is the only book about complementary/alternative therapies that is focused on nursing, has chapters that examine specific therapies along with guidance for their implementation, and addresses therapies through a cultural/international lens. It reflects the rapid expansion of research on many complementary therapies and the exponential increase in the use of these therapies in the United States and globally. This new edition satisfies the recent requirement by the AACN for knowledge of complementary therapies as essential content for BA and Post-BA programs and will assist students in their study for NCLEX-RN test items regarding complementary therapies. New to this edition are the contributions of a new editor, Dr. Mary Frances Tracy, who is a recognized expert in the use of complementary therapies in both research and practice settings. In addition to the updating of all research-related content, the book now includes a focus on the use of alternative therapies outside of the U.S. and content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter in clinical agencies. The book incorporates the most up-to-date information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine (NCCAM), the relationship of technology to complementary therapies, updated information about precautions to be taken or interactions to note when using these therapies, instructions for the use of various therapies, and available resources and legal aspects related to the use of complementary therapies. The book includes an interactive PDF. New to the Seventh Edition: Completely updated research-related contents A focus on the international use of alternative/complementary therapies Incorporates new information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine including their most recent classifications for complementary therapies New content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter Technology and complementary therapies New information on precautions and potential interactions Instruction techniques for each therapy in exhibit form Legal concerns regarding the use of complementary therapies New references providing cutting edge content

Focusing on emerging therapies and those best supported by clinical trials and scientific evidence, Fundamentals of Complementary and Alternative Medicine describes some of the most prevalent and the fastest-growing CAM therapies in use today. Prominent author Dr. Marc Micozzi provides a complete overview of CAM, creating a solid foundation and context for therapies in current practice. Coverage of systems and therapies includes mind, body, and spirit; traditional Western healing; and traditional ethnomedical systems from around the world. Discussions include homeopathy, massage and manual therapies, chiropractic, a revised chapter on osteopathy, herbal medicine, aromatherapy, naturopathic medicine, and nutrition and hydration. With its wide range of topics, this is the ideal CAM reference for both students and practitioners! An evidence-based approach focuses on treatments best supported by clinical trials and scientific evidence. Coverage of CAM therapies and systems includes those most commonly encountered or growing in popularity, so you carefully evaluate each treatment. Global coverage includes discussions of traditional healing arts from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Longevity in the market makes this a classic, trusted text. Expert contributors include well-known writers such as Kevin Ergil, Patch Adams, Joseph Pizzorno, Victor Sierpina, and Marc Micozzi himself. Suggested readings and references in each chapter list the best resources for further research and study. New, expanded organization covers the foundations of CAM, traditional Western healing, and traditional ethnomedical systems from Asia, Africa, and the Americas, putting CAM in perspective and making it easier to understand CAM origins and contexts. NEW content includes legal and operational issues in integrative medicine, creative and expressive arts therapies, ecological pharmacology, hydration, mind-body thought and practice in America, osteopathy, reflexology, South American healing, traditional medicines of India, and Unani medicine. Revised and updated chapters include aromatherapy, classical acupuncture, energy medicine, biophysical devices (electricity, light, and magnetism), massage and touch therapies, traditional osteopathy, reflexology, vitalism, and yoga. New research studies explain how and why CAM therapies work, and also demonstrate that they do work, in areas such as acupuncture, energy healing, and mind-body therapies. Expanded content on basic sciences includes biophysics, ecology, ethnomedicine, neurobiology, and pschoneuroimmunology, providing the scientific background needed to learn and practice CAM and integrative medicine. Expanded coverage of nutrition and hydration includes practical information on Vitamin D and healthy hydration with fluid and electrolytes.

Although scorned in the early 1900s and publicly condemned by Abraham Flexner and the American Medical Association, the practice of homeopathy did not disappear. Instead, it evolved with the emergence of holistic healing and Eastern philosophy in the United States and today is a form of alternative medicine practiced by more than 100,000 physicians worldwide and used by millions of people to treat everyday ailments as well as acute and chronic diseases. The History of American Homeopathy traces the rise of lay practitioners in shaping homeopathy as a healing system and its relationship to other forms of complementary and alternative medicine in an age when conventional biomedicine remains the dominant form. Representing the most current and up-to-date history of American homeopathy, readers will benefit from John S. Haller Jr.'s comprehensive explanation of complementary medicine within the American social, scientific, religious, and philosophic traditions.

An entertaining introduction to the quacks, snake-oil salesmen, and charlatans, who often had a point nbsp; Despite rampant scientific innovation in nineteenth-century America, traditional medicine still adhered to ancient healing methods, subjecting patients to bleeding, blistering, and induced vomiting and sweating. Facing such horrors, many patients ran with open arms to burgeoning practices that promised new ways to cure their ills. Hydropaths offered cures using "healing waters" and tight wet-sheet wraps. Phineas Parkhurst Quimby experimented with magnets and tried to replace "bad," diseased thoughts with "good," healthy thoughts, while Daniel David Palmer reportedly restored a man's hearing by knocking on his vertebrae. Lorenzo and Lydia Fowler used their fingers to "read" their clients' heads, claiming that the topography of one's skull could reveal the intricacies of one's character. Lydia Pinkham packaged her Vegetable Compound and made a famous family business from the homemade cure-all. And Samuel Thomson, rejecting traditional medicine, introduced a range of herbal remedies for a vast array of woes, supplemented by the curative powers of poetry. nbsp; Bizarre as these methods may seem, many are the precursors of today's notions of healthy living. We have the nineteenth-century practice of "medical gymnastics" to thank for today's emphasis on regular exercise, and hydropathy's various water cures for the notion of regular bathing and the mantra to drink "eight glasses of water a day." And much of the philosophy of health introduced by these alternative methods is reflected in today's patient-centered care and holistic medicine, which takes account of the body and spirit. Moreover, these entrepreneurial alternative healers paved the way for women in medicine. Shunned by the traditionalists and eager for converts, many of the masters of these new fields embraced the training of women in their methods. Some women, like Pinkham, were able to break through the barriers to women working to become medical entrepreneurs themselves. In fact, next to teaching, medicine attracted more women than any other profession in the nineteenth century, the majority of them in "irregular" health systems. nbsp; These eccentric ideas didn't make it into modern medicine without a fight, of course. As these new healing methods grew in popularity, traditional doctors often viciously attacked them with cries of "quackery" and pressed legal authorities to arrest, fine, and jail irregulars for endangering public safety. Nonetheless, these alternative movements attracted widespread support--from everyday Americans and the famous alike, including Mark Twain, Louisa May Alcott, and General Ulysses S. Grant--with their messages of hope, self-help, and personal empowerment. nbsp; Though many of these medical fads faded, and most of their claims of magical cures were discredited by advances in medical science, a surprising number of the theories and ideas behind the quackery are staples in today's health industry. Janik tells the colorful stories of these "quacks," whose oftentimes genuine wish to heal helped shape and influence modern medicine.

Welcome to a master class in mindfulness. Jon Kabat-Zinn is regarded as "one of the finest teachers of mindfulness you'll ever encounter" (Jack Kornfield). He has been teaching the tangible benefits of meditation in the mainstream for decades. Today, millions of people around the world have taken up a formal mindfulness meditation practice as part of their everyday lives. But what is meditation anyway? And why might it be worth trying? Or nurturing further if you already have practice? Meditation Is Not What You Think answers those questions. Originally published in 2005 as part of a larger book entitled Coming to Our Senses, it has been updated with a new foreword by the author and is even more relevant today. If you're curious as to why meditation is not for the "faint-hearted," how taking some time each day to drop into awareness can actually be a radical act of love, and why paying attention is so supremely important, consider this book an invitation to learn more -- from one of the pioneers of the worldwide mindfulness movement.

From reflexology and rolfing to shiatsu and dream work, we are confronted today by a welter of alternative medical therapies. But as James Whorton shows in Nature Cures, the recent explosion in alternative medicine actually reflects two centuries of competition and conflict between mainstreammedicine and numerous unorthodox systems.This is the first comprehensive history of alternative medicine in America, examining the major systems that have emerged from 1800 to the present. Writing with wit and with fairness to all sides, Whorton offers a fascinating look at alternative health systems such as homeopathy, water cures,Mesmerism, Christian Science, osteopathy, chiropractic, naturopathy, and acupuncture. He highlights the birth and growth of each system (including European roots where appropriate) and vividly describes both the theories and the therapies developed within each system, including such dubiouspractices as hour-long walks barefoot in snow or Samuel Thompson's "puking and steaming" regimen. In particular, Whorton illuminates the philosophy of "natural healing" that has been espoused by alternative practitioners throughout history and the distinctive interpretations of "nature cure"developed by the different systems. Though he doesn't hesitate to point out the failings of these systems, he also shows that some "cult medicines" have eventually won recognition from practitioners of mainstream medicine.Throughout, Whorton writes with a light touch and quotes from contemporary humorists such as Mark Twain. His book is an engaging yet authoritative history that highlights the course of alternative medicine in the U.S., providing valuable background to the wide range of therapies availabletoday.

This fully updated Third Edition provides the latest worldwide research on every herbal agent in common use today. Monographs are based on the results of clinical studies, examining the existing evidence and comparing it with manufacturer's claims. Each monograph covers the most commonly known generic name, synonyms, common trade names, common forms, source, chemical components, actions, reported uses, dosage, adverse reactions broken down by body system, interactions, contraindications and precautions, special considerations, analysis, and references. New to this edition are 15 new herbal monographs and Patient Counseling Tips in a quick#150;reference format. Appendices include potential drug#150;herb interactions, potentially unsafe plants, herbal agents resource list, and an herbal agent information sheet.

Homeopathy, as a medical system, presented a significant institutional and economic challenge to conventional medicine in the nineteenth century. Although contemporary critics portrayed homeopathic physicians as part of a sect whose treatment of disease was beyond the pale of acceptable medical practice, homeopathy was in many ways similar to established medicine. Anne Taylor Kirschmann explores the strategic choices and consequences for women practitioners. Not only were female homeopaths respected within their communities, they also enjoyed considerable professional advantages not available to women within regular medicine. A Vital Force: Women in American Homeopathy offers a new interpretation of women's roles in modern medicine. Kirschmann strengthens and clarifies the history of homeopathic women physicians and creates a framework of comparison to �regular,� or orthodox, physicians. Women medical practitioners chose homeopathy in dramatic numbers from the mid-nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries, although the reasons for this preference varied over time. Linked to social reform movements in the nineteenth century, anti-modernism in the late nineteenth and early twentieth, and countercultural ideals of the 1960s and 1970s, women's advocacy of homeopathy has been intertwined with broad social and cultural issues in American society.