Resource Guides: Book Displays: 10.21 The Science of Emotions

eBooks

Artful living : examining the relationship between artistic practice and subjective wellbeing across three national surveys by Steven J Tepper (Author), Blake Sisk (Donald Blake), Curb Center for Art, Enterprise, and Public Policy (Vanderbilt University) (Issuing body), National Endowment for the Arts.

Publication Date: 2014

Over the past few decades, elected officials and policy leaders have increasingly focused on "quality of life issues," seeking ways to not only create jobs and grow the economy but also to help people both strengthen family and community life and advance health and happiness. The arts have a role to play in this new agenda. In 2011, the National Endowment for the Arts collaborated with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to host a convening examining the relationship between the arts and wellbeing. From that meeting emerged an interagency task force involving 13 federal agencies and departments with the goal to encourage more research on how the arts help people develop their full potential at all stages of life. Rocco Landesman helped frame the new initiative when he remarked, "How do the arts help build us as a people and as individuals? We share a fundamental mission -- how to improve the quality of life. The arts are central to human development". This report represents an initial exploration of the thesis that the arts are essential to a high quality of life. Using three national datasets, we examine the correlation between artistic practice and wellbeing among a representative national sample of adults, a sample of undergraduate seniors, and a sample of former arts graduates. Overall, we find strong support that artistic practice is associated with higher levels of life satisfaction, a more positive self image, less anxiety about change, a more tolerant and open approach to diverse others, and, in some cases, less focus on materialistic values and the acquisition of goods.

Positive Psychiatry by Dilip V. Jeste (Editor); Barton W. Palmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781585625192
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Long overdue, Positive Psychiatry provides a rigorous and clinically useful guide to the growing body of research that strongly suggests that positive psychosocial factors such as resilience, optimism, and social engagement are associated with better outcomes, including lower morbidity, greater longevity, and a heightened sense of patient well-being. Because most of the research has been conducted outside of the field of psychiatry, it has had relatively little influence on everyday clinical practice. This volume, written and edited by luminaries in the field, hopes to remedy this situation by introducing clinicians to the guiding principles of positive psychiatry, which hold that mental health cannot be defined as the mere reduction or even elimination of mental illness, and that mental health professionals must focus on more than simply controlling the symptoms of illness. To that end, the book, while biologically grounded and exhaustively referenced, is also structured and written to be accessible. It includes many useful features: * Bulleted outlines of key clinical points are included where appropriate, fostering direct application of positive psychiatry constructs, measures, interventions, and outcomes into clinical practice and training.* An abundance of interesting and compelling clinical vignettes illustrate how to incorporate positive psychiatry techniques and treatment strategies into practice.* Comprehensive coverage makes this volume the "go-to" resource for researchers and clinicians seeking an overview and details of what positive psychiatry is, why it is needed, and how to integrate it into research, practice, and training.* The roster of contributors is a "who's who" in the field of positive mental health, rendering this the definitive source of information on positive psychiatry. Chief among the book's strengths is its emphasis on empirically grounded applications, and the editors have ensured that limitations in the available evidence base are identified, as well as directions for further research. Positive Psychiatry fills a critical gap in the treatment literature, and researchers, clinicians, and trainees in psychiatry and allied mental health fields will welcome its publication.

Subjective well-being : measuring happiness, suffering, and other dimensions of experience by Arthur A Stone (Éditeur intellectuel.) C J Mackie (Éditeur intellectuel.) National Center for Biotechnology Information (États-Unis) National Research Council (États-Unis). Panel on Measuring Subjective Well-Being in a Policy-Relevant Framework (Organisme de publication.).

Publication Date: 2013-12-18

"Could gathering data on subjective well-being help governments and organizations develop policies that better serve the needs of their constituents? This book explores that question, focusing on the policy value of gauging "experienced well-being": peoples' moment to moment and day to day feelings of pleasure, contentment, pain and other emotions and sensations. This report identifies areas of policy and practice where such data would be useful -- ranging from city planning to custody policy to end-of-life care -- and discusses additional aspects of subjective well-being that are important for policy makers to consider. This report also assesses approaches for gathering these data, identifies surveys that should collect them on an experimental basis, and discusses methodological questions that remain."--[Source inconnue]

Wellbeing, freedom and social justice : the capability approach re-examined by Ingrid Robeyns (Author), Open Book Publishers (Publisher).

ISBN: 9781783744237

Publication Date: 2017-12-01

"How do we evaluate ambiguous concepts such as wellbeing, freedom, and social justice? How do we develop policies that offer everyone the best chance to achieve what they want from life? The capability approach, a theoretical framework pioneered by the philosopher and economist Amartya Sen in the 1980s, has become an increasingly influential way to think about these issues. Wellbeing, Freedom and Social Justice: The Capability Approach Re-Examined is both an introduction to the capability approach and a thorough evaluation of the challenges and disputes that have engrossed the scholars who have developed it. Ingrid Robeyns offers her own illuminating and rigorously interdisciplinary interpretation, arguing that by appreciating the distinction between the general capability approach and more specific capability theories or applications we can create a powerful and flexible tool for use in a variety of academic disciplines and fields of policymaking. This book provides an original and comprehensive account that will appeal to scholars of the capability approach, new readers looking for an interdisciplinary introduction, and those interested in theories of justice, human rights, basic needs, and the human development approach."--Publisher's website

Whose health is it, anyway? by S C Davies (Sally Claire); Jonathan Pearson-Stuttard
ISBN: 0192608657
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
This book outlines why health, individually and collectively, is the greatest untapped opportunity for prosperity and happiness in the 21st century and introduces the concept of total health as a tool for valuing health. The most significant flaw in health systems today is a failure to value health but instead to count the costs of ill health, and the authors examine why this should be so from a range of perspectives. The costs of ill health are explored not only as an increasing portion of government spend, but also in relation to wider society, where entrenched inequalities result in the clustering of poor health, low educational attainment, and poor job prospects. The ways in which our health and the drivers of health have evolved are described, and their roles in preventing individuals from living well, learning, and working, are identified. The healthcare system is also examined, and revealed to be an illness service with little resilience, importing illness rather than exporting health, and failing to leverage the digital and technological innovations harnessed by other industries. The authors call for health to be valued, rather than ill health costed, and describe a 21st-century healthcare system that expands the NHS from an illness service to a true, total health service. COVID-19 has shown how vulnerable societies, economies, and daily lives are to ill health. This book demonstrates that, by valuing the pivotal role of health, societies could look to a happier and more prosperous future.

Physical Books

Animal-Assisted Interventions for Emotional and Mental Health by Cynthia K. Chandler (Editor); Tiffany L. Otting (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection WM 450.5 .A6 A598 2018
ISBN: 9780815395096
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Animal-Assisted Interventions for Emotional and Mental Health provides a unique opportunity to learn from a variety of leaders in the field. Leading scholar Dr. Cynthia Chandler and colleague Dr. Tiffany Otting present interviews with pioneering experts from the U.S., U.K., Israel, India, and Hong Kong, revealing key beliefs, values, and ideas that are fundamental to animal-assisted interventions. Their words will inspire and guide current and future generations of practitioners, teachers, and researchers.
The Art of Happiness by Dalai Lama (Illustrator, Illustrator); Howard C. Cutler
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine BF 575 H27 B916a 1998
ISBN: 9781573221115
Publication Date: 1998-10-26
"Nearly every time you see him, he's laughing, or at least smiling. And he makes everyone else around him feel like smiling. He's the Dalai Lama, the spiritual and temporal leader of Tibet, a Nobel Prize winner, and an increasingly popular speaker and statesman. What's more, he'll tell you that happiness is the purpose of life, and that "the very motion of our life is towards happiness." How to get there has always been the question. He's tried to answer it before, but he's never had the help of a psychiatrist to get the message across in a context we can easily understand." "Through conversations, stories, and meditations, the Dalai Lama shows us how to defeat day-to-day anxiety, insecurity, anger, and discouragement. Together with Dr. Cutler, he explores many facets of everyday life, including relationships, loss, and the pursuit of wealth, to illustrate how to ride through life's obstacles on a deep and abiding source of inner peace."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Also available online via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/artofhappinessha00bsta
Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman
Call Number: Main Collection BF 561 G625e 2005
ISBN: 055338371X
Publication Date: 2005-09-27
#1 BESTSELLER *The groundbreaking book that redefines what it means to be smart, with a new introduction by the author. "A thoughtfully written, persuasive account explaining emotional intelligence and why it can be crucial."--USA Today Everyone knows that high IQ is no guarantee of success, happiness, or virtue, but until Emotional Intelligence, we could only guess why. Daniel Goleman's brilliant report from the frontiers of psychology and neuroscience offers startling new insight into our "two minds"--the rational and the emotional--and how they together shape our destiny. Drawing on groundbreaking brain and behavioral research, Goleman shows the factors at work when people of high IQ flounder and those of modest IQ do surprisingly well. These factors, which include self-awareness, self-discipline, and empathy, add up to a different way of being smart--and they aren't fixed at birth. Although shaped by childhood experiences, emotional intelligence can be nurtured and strengthened throughout our adulthood--with immediate benefits to our health, our relationships, and our work. The twenty-fifth-anniversary edition of Emotional Intelligence could not come at a better time--we spend so much of our time online, more and more jobs are becoming automated and digitized, and our children are picking up new technology faster than we ever imagined. With a new introduction from the author, the twenty-fifth-anniversary edition prepares readers, now more than ever, to reach their fullest potential and stand out from the pack with the help of EI.
Also available online via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/emotionalintelli00dani
The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor
Call Number: Main Collection B F575 .H27 A175
ISBN: 9780307591548
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *The happy secret to greater success and fulfillment in work and life--a must-read for everyone trying to flourish in a world of increasing stress and negativity. "Thoughtfully lays out the steps to increasing workplace positivity."--Forbes In the book that inspired one of the most popular TED Talks of all time, New York Times bestselling author Shawn Achor reveals how rewiring our brain for happiness helps us achieve more in our careers and our relationships and as students, leaders, and parents. Conventional wisdom holds that once we succeed, we'll be happy; that once we get that great job, win that next promotion, lose those five pounds, happiness will follow. But the science reveals this formula to be backward: Happiness fuels success, not the other way around. Research shows that happy employees are more productive, more creative, and better problem solvers than their unhappy peers. And positive people are significantly healthier and less stressed and enjoy deeper social interaction than the less positive people around them. Drawing on his original research--including one of the largest studies of happiness ever conducted--and work in boardrooms and classrooms across forty-two countries, Achor shows us how to rewire our brains for positivity and optimism to reap the happiness advantage in our lives, our careers, and even our health. His strategies include: * The Tetris Effect: how to retrain our brains to spot patterns of possibility so we can see and seize opportunities all around us * Social Investment: how to earn the dividends of a strong social support network * The Ripple Effect: how to spread positive change within our teams, companies, and families. By turns fascinating, hopeful, and timely, The Happiness Advantage reveals how small shifts in our mind-set and habits can produce big gains at work, at home, and elsewhere.
Also available online via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/happinessadvanta00acho
Introduction to Biosocial Medicine by Donald A. Barr
Call Number: Main Collection WA 31 B268 2015
ISBN: 9781421418605
Publication Date: 2016-01-15
Understanding human behavior is essential if medical students and doctors are to provide more effective health care. While 40 percent of premature deaths in the United States can be attributed to such dangerous behaviors as smoking, overeating, inactivity, and drug or alcohol use, medical education has generally failed to address how these behaviors are influenced by social forces. This new textbook from Dr. Donald A. Barr was designed in response to the growing recognition that physicians need to understand the biosocial sciences behind human behavior in order to be effective practitioners. Introduction to Biosocial Medicine explains the determinants of human behavior and the overwhelming impact of behavior on health. Drawing on both recent and historical research, the book combines the study of the biology of humans with the social and psychological aspects of human behavior. Dr. Barr, a sociologist as well as physician, illustrates how the biology of neurons, the intricacies of the human mind, and the power of broad social forces all influence individual perceptions and responses. Addressing the enormous potential of interventions from medical and public health professionals to alter these patterns of human behavior over time, Introduction to Biosocial Medicine brings necessary depth and perspective to medical training and education.
Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love by Giovanni Frazzetto
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WL 103 F848j 2014
ISBN: 9780143123095
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
"Neuroscientist Giovanni Frazzetto enters the restless realm of human emotion through the portals of physiology, genetics, history, art and philosophy. Anger, guilt, anxiety, grief, empathy, joy and love are anatomized in turn, enlivened with research on everything from the role of monoamine oxidase A in anger to the engagement of opioid receptors as we thrill to music. And who knew that surrealist Salvador Dali created an art installation in the shape of a giant caterpillar to explore the process of sedation?" --Nature Is science ever enough to explain why we feel the way we feel? In this engaging account, renowned neuroscientist Giovanni Frazzetto blends cutting-edge scientific research with personal stories to reveal how our brains generate our emotions. He demonstrates that while modern science has expanded our knowledge, investigating art, literature, and philosophy is equally crucial to unraveling the brain's secrets. What can a brain scan, or our reaction to a Caravaggio painting, reveal about the deep seat of guilt? Can ancient remedies fight sadness more effectively than antidepressants? What can writing poetry tell us about how joy works? Structured in seven chapters encompassing common human emotions--anger, guilt, anxiety, grief, empathy, joy, and love--Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love offers a way of thinking about science and art that will help us to more fully understand ourselves and how we feel.
Life Lessons by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross; David Kessler
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine BJ 1581.2 K95li 2000
ISBN: 0684870746
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
A Message From Elisabeth We all have lessons to learn during this time called life; this is especially apparent when working with the dying. The dying learn a great deal at the end of life, usually when it is too late to apply. After moving to the Arizona desert in 1995, I had a stroke on Mother's Day that left me paralyzed. I spent the next few years at death's door. Sometimes I thought death would come within a few weeks. Many times, I was disappointed that it did not come, for I was ready. But I have not died because I am still learning the lessons of life, my final lessons. These lessons are the ultimate truths about our lives; they are the secrets to life itself. I wanted to write one more book, not on death and dying but on life and living. Is this really how I want to live my life? Each one of us at some point asks this question. The tragedy is not that life is short but that we often see only in hindsight what really matters. In Life Lessons, her first book on life and living, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross joins with David Kessler to guide readers through the practical and spiritual lessons we need to learn so that we can live life to its fullest in every moment. Many years of working with the dying have shown the authors that certain lessons come up over and over again. Some of these lessons can be difficult to master, but even the attempts to understand them are deeply rewarding. Here, in fourteen accessible chapters, from the Lesson of Love to the Lesson of Happiness, the authors reveal the truth about our fears, our hopes, our relationships, and, above all, the grandness of who we really are.
Also available online via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/lifelessonstwoex00kb
Smile by Raina Telgemeier (Illustrator)
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WU 480 T.267 2010
ISBN: 9780545132053
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Also available online via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/smile0000telg/mode/2up
Social Intelligence by Daniel Goleman
Call Number: Main Collection HM 1106 G625 2007
ISBN: 9780553384499
Publication Date: 2007-07-31
Emotional Intelligence was an international phenomenon, appearing on the New York Times bestseller list for over a year and selling more than five million copies worldwide. Now, once again, Daniel Goleman has written a groundbreaking synthesis of the latest findings in biology and brain science, revealing that we are "wired to connect" and the surprisingly deep impact of our relationships on every aspect of our lives. Far more than we are consciously aware, our daily encounters with parents, spouses, bosses, and even strangers shape our brains and affect cells throughout our bodies--down to the level of our genes--for good or ill. In Social Intelligence, Daniel Goleman explores an emerging new science with startling implications for our interpersonal world. Its most fundamental discovery: we are designed for sociability, constantly engaged in a "neural ballet" that connects us brain to brain with those around us. Our reactions to others, and theirs to us, have a far-reaching biological impact, sending out cascades of hormones that regulate everything from our hearts to our immune systems, making good relationships act like vitamins--and bad relationships like poisons. We can "catch" other people's emotions the way we catch a cold, and the consequences of isolation or relentless social stress can be life-shortening. Goleman explains the surprising accuracy of first impressions, the basis of charisma and emotional power, the complexity of sexual attraction, and how we detect lies. He describes the "dark side" of social intelligence, from narcissism to Machiavellianism and psychopathy. He also reveals our astonishing capacity for "mindsight," as well as the tragedy of those, like autistic children, whose mindsight is impaired. Is there a way to raise our children to be happy? What is the basis of a nourishing marriage? How can business leaders and teachers inspire the best in those they lead and teach? How can groups divided by prejudice and hatred come to live together in peace? The answers to these questions may not be as elusive as we once thought. And Goleman delivers his most heartening news with powerful conviction: we humans have a built-in bias toward empathy, cooperation, and altruism-provided we develop the social intelligence to nurture these capacities in ourselves and others.
What Doctors Feel by Danielle Ofri
Call Number: History of Medicine W 62 O33w 2013
ISBN: 9780807073322
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
A look at the emotional side of medicine--the shame, fear, anger, anxiety, empathy, and even love that affect patient care Physicians are assumed to be objective, rational beings, easily able to detach as they guide patients and families through some of life's most challenging moments. But doctors' emotional responses to the life-and-death dramas of everyday practice have a profound impact on medical care. And while much has been written about the minds and methods of the medical professionals who save our lives, precious little has been said about their emotions. In What Doctors Feel, Dr. Danielle Ofri has taken on the task of dissecting the hidden emotional responses of doctors, and how these directly influence patients. How do the stresses of medical life--from paperwork to grueling hours to lawsuits to facing death--affect the medical care that doctors can offer their patients? Digging deep into the lives of doctors, Ofri examines the daunting range of emotions--shame, anger, empathy, frustration, hope, pride, occasionally despair, and sometimes even love--that permeate the contemporary doctor-patient connection. Drawing on scientific studies, including some surprising research, Dr. Danielle Ofri offers up an unflinching look at the impact of emotions on health care. With her renowned eye for dramatic detail, Dr. Ofri takes us into the swirling heart of patient care, telling stories of caregivers caught up and occasionally torn down by the whirlwind life of doctoring. She admits to the humiliation of an error that nearly killed one of her patients and her forever fear of making another. She mourns when a beloved patient is denied a heart transplant. She tells the riveting stories of an intern traumatized when she is forced to let a newborn die in her arms, and of a doctor whose daily glass of wine to handle the frustrations of the ER escalates into a destructive addiction. But doctors don't only feel fear, grief, and frustration. Ofri also reveals that doctors tell bad jokes about "toxic sock syndrome," cope through gallows humor, find hope in impossible situations, and surrender to ecstatic happiness when they triumph over illness. The stories here reveal the undeniable truth that emotions have a distinct effect on how doctors care for their patients. For both clinicians and patients, understanding what doctors feel can make all the difference in giving and getting the best medical care.