Book Displays: 3.23 Medical Spanish

The updated, fifth edition of the widely used introductory Spanish textbook designed specifically for health care professionals Nurses, physicians, dentists, and other health care professionals increasingly need to communicate with patients in Spanish. Formerly titled An Introduction to Spanish for Health Care Workers, the fifth edition of this popular textbook is designed for students with little or no formal background in Spanish. It uses text, audio, video, classroom activities, and electronic exercises to teach basic grammar, specialized medical vocabulary, and colloquial terms as well as customs and communication styles. An interactive companion website features video clips that demonstrate practitioner+'patient interactions and offers self-correcting exercises, an audio program, and flash cards.   The fifth edition is also updated with   * New topics, including muscles, pediatrics, heart disease, neurologic exams, and zika * Nearly 300 classroom activities, including exposition activities to develop the presentational mode of communication * Expanded vocabulary lists, sorted by frequency

This resource provides you with the skills to interact with Spanish-speaking patients and their families. Through sample dialogue, exercises, and more than 200 illustrations, this program will help you master a Spanish vocabulary of more than 3,000 key terms; confidently interview patients, conduct exams, prescribe medication, and give instructions in Spanish; become culturally aware of differences between Latino and Anglo-American cultures and how healthcare decisions are impacted. New to this edition: Sections on musculoskeletal exam, physical therapy, speech therapy, mental health, women's health, children's behavioral problems, pandemics; Questionaires for GAD-7, ACE; Assessments for OASIS, CAGE; MoCA test.

Carefully constructed to elicit one-word "yes" or "no" answers, Medical Spanish allows clinicians with little or no knowledge of Spanish to confidently conduct a thorough medical history, perform a complete medical examination, and give medical instructions to their Spanish-speaking patients. New to this edition: dialogues specific to the pediatric patient and an expanded medication section.

Designed for those with no previous experience speaking Spanish, this guide provides nurses, other medical professionals, and students with the tools to communicate with Spanish-speaking patients. Online audio is available to provide correct pronunciation and prepare learners for a wide array of medical situations. Using a step-by-step approach with plenty of examples, the text enables readers to quickly develop their Spanish knowledge. Question and response scenarios, vocabulary quizzes, anatomy identifi cation, summary exercises, and dialogue reinforce and expedite learning.

Thoroughly updated for its Third Edition, this guide will help health care professionals in all clinical settings communicate easily with Spanish-speaking patients. It presents Spanish words, phrases, questions, and instructions that cover signs and symptoms, history-taking, assessment of all body systems, mental health, diagnostic tests, disorders, medications, procedures, surgery, nutrition and diet therapy, medical equipment, and alternative and complementary therapies. Features include a picture dictionary, clear body-system illustrations with labels in both languages, rules of Spanish pronunciation and grammar, and indexes in English and Spanish. A companion Website offers audio files with correct pronunciations for hundreds of medical terms in English and Spanish, downloadable to a computer or MP3 player.

Communicate more effectively with Spanish-speaking patients and make better clinical decisions in your practice. Focusing on communication needs in real-world clinical situations, Dr. Pilar Ortega's updated edition of this practical text helps you address today's growing demand for Spanish-speaking physicians and healthcare workers. This pocket-sized resource provides basic Spanish skills, sample interview questions, relevant cultural information, and more. You'll find exactly what you need to develop better physician-patient communication skills, increase your cultural competence, and make better clinical decisions in your practice. Understand the nuts and bolts of better communication through Spanish grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, sample interview questions, and helpful interview techniques. Stay up to date with new chapters on pediatric health; common procedures and informed consent; the physician's impression and plan; diabetes medication; travel history and special exposures; adult immunization history; exercise and adult health safety screening; and specialized physical examination. Improve your skills with new and expanded content including more practice exercises for self-assessment, information on cultural issues, grammar tips and practice, complex clinical scenarios, and how best to use interpreters in your practice.

This book is designed to help doctors, nurses, and medical assistants communicate in Spanish with Latino patients and their families who have little or no command of English. Fully updated text includes the addition of vocabulary for informing families about patients' medical care or death; instructing patients on how to navigate online forms; a sample disclosure and consent form in both Spanish and English; and a new section on working with medical interpreters. Every Spanish word in the book is followed by its phonetic pronunciation. The book also provides easy-to-follow tips on understanding colloquial spoken Spanish. Author William Harvey concentrates on words and phrases likely to be used in a medical setting. True-to-life dialogues dramatize situations pertaining to pregnancy, broken bones, pediatric care, heart and lung diseases, pharmacy prescriptions, and much more.

The must-have resource for your next trip to a Spanish-speaking destination  Spanish is a fun, useful, and exciting language to learn and speak. But how can you get started when you don't know a "ciudad" (city) from a "cita" (appointment)? And how can you make sure you remember all those new words after you learn them? With Spanish Visual Dictionary For Dummies, you'll  see words and pictures for every term, helping you build stronger connection, recognition, and recall.  You'll be chatting like a native speaker in no time as you refer to the memorable photos and their accompanying English and Spanish words. Expand your Spanish vocabulary faster than you thought possible with topics arranged by themes such as transportation, getting around, restaurants and food, and handling emergencies.  In this handy resource, you'll get:  A simple and easy pronunciation guide to help you with sounds, rhythm, and intonation  Hundreds of full-color images to help you communicate and remember useful ideas, phrases, and words  Chapters organized by functional themes so you can quickly order food, find landmarks, and navigate from Point A to Point B  Perfect for travelers and expats making their way around a Spanish-speaking country or neighborhood, the Spanish Visual Dictionary For Dummies is the must-have travel companion for Spanish beginners that will turn your next trip into an immersive adventure. Vamos! (Let's go!) 

The updated, fifth edition of the widely used introductory Spanish textbook designed specifically for health care professionals Nurses, physicians, dentists, and other health care professionals increasingly need to communicate with patients in Spanish. Formerly titled An Introduction to Spanish for Health Care Workers, the fifth edition of this popular textbook is designed for students with little or no formal background in Spanish. It uses text, audio, video, classroom activities, and electronic exercises to teach basic grammar, specialized medical vocabulary, and colloquial terms as well as customs and communication styles. An interactive companion website features video clips that demonstrate practitioner‑patient interactions and offers self-correcting exercises, an audio program, and flash cards.   The fifth edition is also updated with   * New topics, including muscles, pediatrics, heart disease, neurologic exams, and zika * Nearly 300 classroom activities, including exposition activities to develop the presentational mode of communication * Expanded vocabulary lists, sorted by frequency

All the tools you need to communicate confidently and effectively with Spanish-speaking patients As a dedicated healthcare provider you know that effective communication is key to providing patients with the high quality of care they deserve. And for healthcare providers working in North America that often entails communicating with Spanish-speaking patients and their families. A valuable resource for physicians, nurses, hospital technicians, physical therapists, and medical administrators with little or no Spanish-language experience, this book provides you with all the Spanish you need to do your job. Convenient, flexible, and complete, McGraw-Hill's Spanish for Healthcare Providers features: A Comprehensive Course Book--Using sample dialogues, numerous exercises, and more than 200 expert illustrations, the book introduces a vocabulary of 3,000 general and medical terms, builds familiarity with typical medical situations, and develops a greater awareness of Latino culture and its impact on healthcare issues. A bilingual glossary features 1,000 of the most useful medical Spanish terms for easy reference. Audio CDs--Featuring a variety of native speakers, the first two CDs contain vocabulary, phrases, and dialogues that reflect a wide range of common medical situations--everything from the first interview to medication instructions and follow-up--while the third zeros in on situations typically encountered by physicians, nurses, physician assistants, technicians, and other healthcare providers. An accompanying booklet contains the full scripts and English translations of the dialogues. Continuing Medical Education Tests for CME credit--The 15 CME tests contained in this booklet have been approved by the AMA for up to 75 hours of credit. Test accreditation is sponsored by the University of Arizona College of Medicine at the Arizona Health Sciences Center.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to communicate directly with your Spanish-speaking patients, with the most comprehensive Spanish medical language guide available--now updated and enhanced with more streaming audio of dialogues and specialized medical vocabulary McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish is the most comprehensive guide available for medical practitioners wishing to speak directly with Spanish-speaking patients--to interview, conduct exams, and provide follow-up instructions--and requires no prior knowledge of the Spanish language. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogues based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce your understanding and build confidence. Upon completion, you'll be able to communicate about and address: chief complaints; giving instructions; common symptoms; qualifying and quantifying pain; emergency room issues; illnesses and medical history; neurological exams; tests for blood, urine, sputum, and skin; prenatal instructions and well-baby visits; emergency-room visits; abdominal pain; trips to the dentist's office; STDs; high blood pressure; diabetes; monthly breast self-examinations; myocardial infarction; cross-cultural communication, and much more. Proven to be effective in building language proficiency for a wide range of medical situations, this guide is ideal for helping you increase your patients' comfort and provide optimal care. McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium 4th Edition features: * Sets of flashcards for all the vocabulary lists in the book * More than 2,000 terms  * Audio recordings of all the monologues and dialogues from the book, with hundreds of essential phrases and expressions * New sections on: bipolar disorder; behavioral health problems with children; ADHD, disability; pulmonary and respiratory information * New bilingual questionnaires on: women's health; oral health; sleep; CAGE alcohol and drugs

Is Spanish one language? Yes and no. A grapefruit in Guatemals is una toronja. In Argentina it is un pomelo. A waiter in Mexico is un mesero; in Uruguay, un mozo. In Spain eyeglasses are gafas; in Cuba, espejuelos. The list goes on and on. This dictionary tells you what all the others don't. It guides you through the many variations of Spanish and helps you identify and use everyday Spanish like a native.

Focusing on communication needs in real-world clinical situations, Dr. Pilar Ortega's updated edition of this practical text helps you address today's growing demand for Spanish-speaking physicians and healthcare workers. This pocket-sized resource provides basic Spanish skills, sample interview questions, relevant cultural information, and more, in addition to online videos of physician-patient interactions, interactive self-assessment tools, and clinical vignettes. You'll find exactly what you need to develop better physician-patient communication skills, increase your cultural competence, and make better clinical decisions in your practice. Understand the nuts and bolts of better communication through Spanish grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, sample interview questions, and helpful interview techniques. Pocket size allows for quick reference in an easily accessible format. Improve your skills with new and expanded content including more practice exercises for self-assessment, information on cultural issues, grammar tips and practice, complex clinical scenarios, and how to best use interpreters in your practice. Stay up to date with new chapters on pediatric health; common procedures and informed consent; the physician's impression and plan; diabetes medication; travel history and special exposures; adult immunization history; exercise and adult health safety screening; and specialized physical examination. Gauge and hone your doctor-patient communication skills with interactive self-assessment tools and practice exercises. Watch video of real-time physician-patient exchanges (with English and Spanish subtitles), complete interactive practice exercises, and learn from clinical vignettes-all online at Student Consult. eBook version included! Access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook.

This book is designed to help doctors, nurses, and medical assistants communicate in Spanish with Latino patients and their families who have little or no command of English. Fully updated text includes the addition of vocabulary for informing families about patients' medical care or death; instructing patients on how to navigate online forms; a sample disclosure and consent form in both Spanish and English; and a new section on working with medical interpreters. Every Spanish word in the book is followed by its phonetic pronunciation. The book also provides easy-to-follow tips on understanding colloquial spoken Spanish. Author William Harvey concentrates on words and phrases likely to be used in a medical setting. True-to-life dialogues dramatize situations pertaining to pregnancy, broken bones, pediatric care, heart and lung diseases, pharmacy prescriptions, and much more.