Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Long Narrative Songs from the Mongghul of Northeast Tibet by
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Containing ballads of martial heroism, tales of tragic lovers and visions of the nature of the world, Long Narrative Songs from the Mongghul of Northeast Tibet: d104s in Mongghul, Chinese, and English is a rich repository of songs collected amongst the Mongghul of the Seven Valleys, on the northeast Tibetan Plateau in western China. These songs represent the apogee of Mongghul oral literature, and they provide valuable insights into the lives of Mongghul people--their hopes, dreams, and worries. They bear testimony to the impressive plurilingual repertoire commanded by some Mongghul singers: the original texts in Tibetan, Mongghul, and Chinese are here presented in Mongghul, Chinese, and English. The kaleidoscope of stories told in these songs include that of Marshall Qi, a chieftain from the Seven Valleys who travels to Luoyang with his Mongghul army to battle rebels; Laarimbu and Qiimunso, a pair of star-crossed lovers who take revenge from beyond the grave on the families that kept them apart; and the Crop-Planting Song and the Sheep Song, which map the physical and spiritual terrain of the Mongghul people, vividly describing the physical and cosmological world in which they exist. This collection of songs is supported by an Introduction by Gerald Roche that provides an understanding of their traditional context, and shows that these works offer insights into the practices of multilingualism in Tibet. Long Narrative Songs from the Mongghul of Northeast Tibet is vital reading for researchers and others working on oral literature, as well as those who study Inner Asia, Tibet, and China's ethnic minorities. Finally, this book is of interest to linguistic anthropologists and sociolinguists, particularly those working on small-scale multilingualism and pre-colonial multilingualism.
Tales of Darkness and Light by
Publication Date: 2018-04-25
Soso Tham (1873-1940), the acknowledged poet laureate of the Khasis of northeastern India, was one of the first writers to give written poetic form to the rich oral tradition of his people. Poet of landscape, myth and memory, Soso Tham paid rich and poignant tribute to his tribe in his masterpiece The Old Days of the Khasis. Janet Hujon's vibrant new translation presents the English reader with Tham's long poem, which keeps a rich cultural tradition of the Khasi people alive through its retelling of old narratives and acts as a cultural signpost for their literary identity. This book is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Indian literature and culture and in the interplay between oral traditions and written literary forms. This edition includes: - English translation - Critical apparatus - Embedded audio recordings of the original text
The Anatomy of Hope by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WB 880 G876a 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-23
An inspiring and profoundly enlightening exploration of one doctor’s discovery of how hope can change the course of illness Since the time of the ancient Greeks, human beings have believed that hope is essential to life. Now, in this groundbreaking book, Harvard Medical School professor and New Yorker staff writer Jerome Groopman shows us why. The search for hope is most urgent at the patient’s bedside. The Anatomy of Hope takes us there, bringing us into the lives of people at pivotal moments when they reach for and find hope--or when it eludes their grasp. Through these intimate portraits, we learn how to distinguish true hope from false, why some people feel they are undeserving of it, and whether we should ever abandon our search. Can hope contribute to recovery by changing physical well-being? To answer this hotly debated question, Groopman embarked on an investigative journey to cutting-edge laboratories where researchers are unraveling an authentic biology of hope. There he finds a scientific basis for understanding the role of this vital emotion in the outcome of illness. Here is a book that offers a new way of thinking about hope, with a message for all readers, not only patients and their families. "We are just beginning to appreciate hope’s reach," Groopman writes, "and have not defined its limits. I see hope as the very heart of healing."
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/sleepmysweetbaby00jero
Between the Heartbeats by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine PS508 N87 B565 1995
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Nurses who are also creative writers have a powerful empathetic outlet for the joys and griefs of their everyday experiences. In "Between the Heartbeats" an international, diverse community of nurses write honestly and compassionately about their work. By unsentimentally translating out suffering into prose and poetry, the registered nurses in this brave, graceful anthology perform another enduring act of loving care.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/betweenheartbeat0000unse
Black Jack, Volumes 1-5 by
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WO 21 T253 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
Recognised as Tezuka's third most famous work after Astro Boy and Kimba, the White Lion, Black Jack is an important part of the manga pioneer's canon. Black Jack is a mysterious and charismatic young genius surgeon who travels the world performing amazing medical feats. Though a trained physician, he refuses to accept his license due to his disdain for the medical community. With Vertical's exemplary track record of quality Tezuka releases, Volume One is a highly anticipated addition.
Blood and Bone by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 330 B58 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
An anthology of 100 poems, written by physicians, exploring the connections between medicine and poetry.
Body Language by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 330 B6687 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
In Body Language physicians and medical students chronicle their challenging, often harrowing experiences. The anthology is broken into six sections: Medical Student, First Year; Second Year; Clinical Years; Intern; Resident; and Attending. Other anthologies have featured poems about medicine and healthcare, but the approach of this collection--poems written by doctors-in-training proceeding step-by-step through the medical training experience--is unique in medical literature. By presenting physicians who are also skilled poets addressing a diverse range of medical situations, Body Language offers fascinating insights into the inner world of people who regularly face life-and-death decisions.
The Care of Strangers by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 350 M621 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Sima is a Polish Jewish immigrant working as an orderly in a public hospital in Brooklyn in 1982. She is one course shy of graduating medical school. Mindy is a privileged psychiatry intern struggling with the work and facing dismissal. Over a year of nightshifts, the two women form a close friendship. One day Sima steps up and covers for a grief-stricken Mindy, placing both their friendship and futures in jeopardy. A moving story of vulnerability and friendship, as two women fight to hold onto the places they've carved for themselves when the odds are stacked against them.
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine PZ7.H1165 Cu 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-18
A bestselling modern classic--both poignant and funny--about a boy with autism who sets out to solve the murder of a neighbor's dog and discovers unexpected truths about himself and the world. Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow. This improbable story of Christopher's quest to investigate the suspicious death of a neighborhood dog makes for one of the most captivating, unusual, and widely heralded novels in recent years.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/isbn_9780099450252_o7i9
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine W 21 B234 2006
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
In an elegant hôtel particulier in Paris, Renée, the concierge, is all but invisible―short, plump, middle-aged, with bunions on her feet and an addiction to television soaps. Her only genuine attachment is to her cat, Leo. In short, she’s everything society expects from a concierge at a bourgeois building in an upscale neighborhood. But Renée has a secret: she furtively, ferociously devours art, philosophy, music, and Japanese culture. With biting humor, she scrutinizes the lives of the tenants―her inferiors in every way except that of material wealth.
Paloma is a twelve-year-old who lives on the fifth floor. Talented and precocious, she’s come to terms with life’s seeming futility and decided to end her own on her thirteenth birthday. Until then, she will continue hiding her extraordinary intelligence behind a mask of mediocrity, acting the part of an average pre-teen high on pop culture, a good but not outstanding student, an obedient if obstinate daughter.
Paloma and Renée hide their true talents and finest qualities from a world they believe cannot or will not appreciate them. But after a wealthy Japanese man named Ozu arrives in the building, they will begin to recognize each other as kindred souls, in a novel that exalts the quiet victories of the inconspicuous among us, and “teaches philosophical lessons by shrewdly exposing rich secret lives hidden beneath conventional exteriors” (Kirkus Reviews).
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/eleganceofhedgeh00barb
Family Doc Diary by
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WU Y51 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-06
Family Doc Diary chronicles the journey of family medicine resident physician Phyllis Ying, MD through her first year of residency -- the intern year. Throughout her intern year, Phyllis crafted journal entries that blended prose, pictures and painting. In this print collection, Phyllis shares her art journal and its fifty-two entries.
The Fault in Our Stars by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WK 270 G796 2017
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
The beloved, #1 global bestseller by John Green, author of The Anthropocene Reviewed and Turtles All the Way Down "John Green is one of the best writers alive." -E. Lockhart, #1 bestselling author of We Were Liars "The greatest romance story of this decade.″ -Entertainment Weekly #1 New York Times Bestseller * #1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller * #1 USA Today Bestseller * #1 International Bestseller Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten. From John Green, #1 bestselling author of The Anthropocene Reviewed and Turtles All the Way Down, The Fault in Our Stars is insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw. It brilliantly explores the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/faultinourstars0000gree_m8c8
Fourteen Stories by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 330 B295 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
2007 Book of the Year Honorable Mention, Short Stories, Foreword Magazine "Plunging into one of Jay Baruch's stories is like finding yourself in a busy Emergency Room at two in the morning--here you will meet characters whose lives are urgent and not always what they seem on the surface. Like his characters, Baruch's writing is vibrant and intense, and his vision is prismatic. He speaks in many voices, among them doctor, patient, family member, medical student, and even ER janitor, and so examines the world of health and illness from many points of view. I appreciate the way Baruch acknowledges the complexity of life, and then dissects it for us into so many planes of action and consequence." --Cortney Davis, author of The Heart's Truth: Essays on the Art of Nursing (Kent State University Press, 2009) An emergency physician and faculty member at Brown Medical School, Jay Baruch has long been fascinated by how illness can make people strangers to their own bodies, how we all struggle to maintain control as the body decays and life slowly becomes unrecognizable, and how health professionals discove r and struggle with the limits of their own competence and compassion. In Fourteen Stories, Baruch doesn't present a series of clinically based essays but a rich collection of short fiction that gives voice to a variety of people who, faced with difficult moral choices, find themselves making disturbing self-discoveries. Baruch's unique voice is a welcome addition to the genre of medical narratives--fiction and non-fiction alike--that is becoming increasingly important to medical and nursing schools' and university curricula.
The House of God by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 350 S545h 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Now a classic! The hilarious novel of the healing arts that reveals everything your doctor never wanted you to know. Six eager interns -- they saw themselves as modern saviors-to-be. They came from the top of their medical school class to the bottom of the hospital staff to serve a year in the time-honored tradition, racing to answer the flash of on-duty call lights and nubile nurses. But only the Fat Man --the Clam, all-knowing resident -- could sustain them in their struggle to survive, to stay sane, to love-and even to be doctors when their harrowing year was done. From the Paperback edition.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/houseofgod00shem_0
How to Appear Normal at Social Events by
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WZ 336 M978 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
How to Appear Normal at Social Events is an oddly cheering book of illustrated lists. Largely based on Lord Birthday's popular Instagram account, the book offers excessively absurd, occasionally wise advice on topics ranging from finding your life's purpose to defending yourself against forest clowns. (Hint: Set an oatmeal trap.)
In All This Rain: Poems by John Stone
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 350 S878i 1980
Publication Date: 1980-09-01
In these clean, crystal poems, John Stone Lends a clarity and a piercing gleam to common observation. He has an intense world to impart, and he brings it to us with sensitivity, imagination, and power. There is a generous measure of wit, and his enjoyment of words becomes a gift that we can share. The soul of the poetry, however, is the healer's knowledge of life and death that can make an image resound.
In the Space Between Moments : Finding Joy and Meaning in Medicine. by Pranay Sinha (Physician)
Call Number: Main Collection WZ 305 S617s 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Joy crams itself into spaces between moments that whip past briskly in the unceasing furor of health care. Attuning ourselves to those big and little joys can build resilience to deal with inevitable ups and downs of our professional lives. These (very) short stories in this intentionally short book seek to deliver this simple message. A tired intern, resident, or attending can breeze through the book in about an hour and return to work with a fresh perspective and a lighter heart.
Call Number: Graphic Medicine GN 296.5 H211 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
As young girls in Cairo, Anna and Layla strike up an unlikely friendship that crosses class, cultural, and religious divides. Years later, Anna learns that she may carry the hereditary cancer gene responsible for her mother's death. Meanwhile, Layla's family is faced with a difficult decision about kidney transplantation. Their friendship is put to the test when these medical crises reveal stark differences in their perspectives...until revolutionary unrest in Egypt changes their lives forever. The first book in a new series, Lissa brings anthropological research to life in comic form, combining scholarly insights and accessible, visually-rich storytelling to foster greater understanding of global politics, inequalities, and solidarity.
The Little Prince by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine PZ 8 S137L 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
This beloved, world-famous allegorical classic about a young prince on a quest for knowledge is an essential read for every home library. Few stories are as widely read and as universally cherished by children and adults alike asThe Little Prince. When a pilot crashes in the Sahara Desert, he meets a little boy who asks him to draw a sheep. Gradually the Little Prince reveals more about himself: he comes from a small asteroid, where he lived alone until a rose grew there. But the rose grew demanding, and he was confused by his feelings about her. The story unfolds further from one planet to the next in a thoughtful philosophical exploration of love and the ephemeral. Combining Richard Howard's translation with restored original full-color art, this definitive English-language edition of The Little Prince will capture the hearts of readers of all ages.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/littleprince00sain_0
Magic and Tragic Rosebud by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 112.5.N8 P163m 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
A public health service nurse remembers working at the Lakota Sioux Rosebud Reservation hospital 1973-1974.
Magic and Tragic Rosebud revisits the days of unrest on the Dakota reservations—a time of turmoil, kidnapping, death threats and shootouts between the FBI and members of the American Indian Movement. Witness miracles of survival as well as poignant tragedies. Learn along with her about the rich Lakota Sioux traditions, hear the drums and flutes. Celebrate lasting friendships and the resilience of the human spirit.
Nancy Palker returned to Rosebud in September 2016. “Native history is still being written,” she says, “a history that still calls for public awareness. Rosebud is an isolated pocket of poverty. The hospital and community continue to struggle with inadequate funding and personnel.” Magic and Tragic Rosebud concludes with a reader guide for strategies and resources to offer support to Rosebud and its Native American neighbors.
A Man Called Ove by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 305 B126 2015
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Read the New York Times bestseller that has taken the world by storm! In this "charming debut" (People) from one of Sweden's most successful authors, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door. Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon--the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell." But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn't walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time? Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove's mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents' association to their very foundations. A feel-good story in the spirit of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, Fredrik Backman's novel about the angry old man next door is a thoughtful exploration of the profound impact one life has on countless others. "If there was an award for 'Most Charming Book of the Year,' this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down" (Booklist, starred review).
Monique and the Mango Rains by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WQ 160 H745m 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
"Monique and the Mango Rains is the compelling story of a rare friendship between a young Peace Corps volunteer and a midwife who became a legend. Monique Dembele saved lives and dispensed hope in a place where childbirth is a life-and-death matter. This book tells of her unquenchable passion to better the lives of women and children in the face of poverty, unhappy marriages, and endless backbreaking work. Monique's buoyant humor and willingness to defy tradition were uniquely hers. In the course of this deeply personal narrative, as readers immerse themselves in the rhythms of West African village life, they come to know Monique as friend, mother, and inspired woman."--BOOK JACKET.
Also in Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/moniquemangorain00holl
The Sawbones Book by
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WZ 40 M141s 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
A compelling, often hilarious and occasionally horrifying exploration of how modern medicine came to be! Wondering whether eating powdered mummies might be just the thing to cure your ills? Tempted by those vintage ads suggesting you wear radioactive underpants for virility? Ever considered drilling a hole in your head to deal with those pesky headaches? Probably not. But for thousands of years, people have done things like this--and things that make radioactive underpants seem downright sensible! In their hit podcast, Sawbones, Sydnee and Justin McElroy breakdown the weird and wonderful way we got to modern healthcare. And some of the terrifying detours along the way. Every week, Dr. Sydnee McElroy and her husband Justin amaze, amuse, and gross out (depending on the week) hundreds of thousands of avid listeners to their podcast, Sawbones. Consistently rated a top podcast on iTunes, with over 15 million total downloads, this rollicking journey through thousands of years of medical mishaps and miracles is not only hilarious but downright educational. While you may never even consider applying boiled weasel to your forehead (once the height of sophistication when it came to headache cures), you will almost certainly face some questionable medical advice in your everyday life (we're looking at you, raw water!) and be better able to figure out if this is a miracle cure (it's not) or a scam. Table of Contents: Part 1: The Unnerving The Resurrection Men Opium An Electrifying Experience Weight Loss Charcoal The Black Plague Pliny the Elder Erectile Dysfunction Spontaneous Combustion The Doctor Is In Trepanation Part II: The Gross Mummy Medicine Mercury The Guthole Bromance A Piece of Your Mind The Unkillable Phineas Gage Phrenology The Man Who Drank Poop Robert Liston Urine Luck! Radium Humorism The Doctor Is In The Straight Poop Part III: The Weird The Dancing Plague Curtis Howe Springer Smoke 'Em if You Got ëEm A Titanic Case of Nausea Arsenic Paracelsus Honey Self-Experimentation Homeopathy The Doctor Is In Part IV: The Awesome The Poison Squad Bloodletting Death by Chocolate John Harvey Kellogg Parrot Fever Detox Vinegar Polio Vaccine The Doctor Is In
The Senses by
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WL102 F225 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Step into the world of the senses . . . Meet the four mechanoreceptors of touch, examine our taste buds up close, discover the link between smells and memories, and learn how optical illusions trick the cells in our eyes into seeing things that aren't there... In this humorous, detailed, yet still accessible book, neuroscientist and illustrator Matteo Farinella takes the reader on a wild ride through key figures and fascinating facts about each of our five senses, describing the most up to date research alongside illuminating drawings and diagrams that even the most scientifically un-savvy will enjoy!
Violation: Collected Essays by
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WZ 305 T598 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-29
"Sallie Tisdale is the author of seven books on such varied subjects as medical technology, her pioneer ancestors and Buddhist women teachers. Her many essays have appeared in Harper's, Conjunctions, The New Yorker, Antioch Review, Threepenny Review and many other journals. This first collection of work spans thirty years, and includes an introduction and brief epilogues to each essay. Tisdale's questing curiosity pursues subjects from the biology of flies to the experience of working in an abortion clinic, why it is so difficult to play sports with men, and whether it's possible for writers to tell the truth. She restlessly returns to themes of the body, the family, and how we try to explain ourselves to each other. She is unwilling to settle for easy answers, and finds the ambiguity and wonder underneath ordinary events. The collection includes a recent essay never before published, about the mystery of how we present ourselves to each other and whether it is possible to know even our own inner lives"-- Provided by publisher.