Resource Guides: Book Displays: 5.22 Mental Health Awareness Month

eBooks

Artful living : examining the relationship between artistic practice and subjective wellbeing across three national surveys by Steven J Tepper and Blake Sisk

Publication Date: 2014-02-16

Over the past few decades, elected officials and policy leaders have increasingly focused on "quality of life issues," seeking ways to not only create jobs and grow the economy but also to help people both strengthen family and community life and advance health and happiness. The arts have a role to play in this new agenda. In 2011, the National Endowment for the Arts collaborated with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to host a convening examining the relationship between the arts and wellbeing. From that meeting emerged an interagency task force involving 13 federal agencies and departments with the goal to encourage more research on how the arts help people develop their full potential at all stages of life. Rocco Landesman helped frame the new initiative when he remarked, "How do the arts help build us as a people and as individuals? We share a fundamental mission -- how to improve the quality of life. The arts are central to human development". This report represents an initial exploration of the thesis that the arts are essential to a high quality of life. Using three national datasets, we examine the correlation between artistic practice and wellbeing among a representative national sample of adults, a sample of undergraduate seniors, and a sample of former arts graduates. Overall, we find strong support that artistic practice is associated with higher levels of life satisfaction, a more positive self image, less anxiety about change, a more tolerant and open approach to diverse others, and, in some cases, less focus on materialistic values and the acquisition of goods.

Balancing the Self by Mark Jackson (Editor); Martin D. Moore (Editor); David Cantor (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781526132123
Publication Date: 2020-03-18
Many health, environmental, and social challenges across the globe - from diabetes to climate change - are regularly discussed in terms of imbalances in biological, ecological, and social systems. Yet, as contributions to this collection demonstrate, while the pressures of modernity have long been held to be pathogenic, strategies for addressing modern excesses and deficiencies of bodies and minds have frequently focused on the agency of the individual, self-knowledge, and individual choices. This volume explores how concepts of 'balance' have been central to modern politics, medicine, and society, analysing the diverse ways in which balanced and unbalanced selfhoods have been subject to construction, intervention, and challenge across the long twentieth century.Through original chapters on subjects as varied as obesity control, fatigue and the regulation of work, and the physiology of exploration in extreme conditions, Balancing the self explores how the mechanisms and meanings of balance have been framed historically. Together, contributions examine the positive narratives that have been attached to the ideals and practices of 'self-help', the diverse agencies historically involved in cultivating new 'balanced' selves, and the extent to which rhetorics of empowerment and responsibility have been used for a variety of purposes, from disciplining bodies to cutting social security. With contributions from leading and emerging scholars such as Dorothy Porter, Alex Mold, Vanessa Heggie, Chris Millard, and Natasha Feiner, Balancing the self generates new insights into emerging fields of health governance, subjectivity, and balance.
The Gale encyclopedia of mental health by Brigham Narins
ISBN: 1410388220
Publication Date: 2019
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
A History of Self-Harm in Britain by Chris Millard
ISBN: 9781137529626
Publication Date: 2016-02-02
This book is open access under a CC BY license and charts the rise and fall of various self-harming behaviours in twentieth-century Britain. It puts self-cutting and overdosing into historical perspective, linking them to the huge changes that occur in mental and physical healthcare, social work and wider politics.
The Mindful Twenty-Something by Holly B. Rogers
ISBN: 9781626254909
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
"A 21st century book, grounded in ancient ways of practice." --Sharon Salzberg, author of Lovingkindness and Real Happiness In The Mindful Twenty-Something, the cofounder of the extremely popular Koru Mindfulness program developed at Duke University presents a unique, evidence-based approach to help you make important life decisions with clarity and confidence. As a twenty-something, you may feel like you are being pulled in dozen different directions. With the daily tumult, busyness, and major life changes you experience as a young adult, you may also be particularly vulnerable to stress and its negative effects. Emerging adulthood, which occurs between the ages of 18 and 29, is a developmental stage of life when you're faced with important decisions about school, relationships, sex, your career, and more. With so much going on, you need a guide to help you navigate with less stress and more ease. The Koru Mindfulness program, developed at Duke University and already in use on numerous college campuses--including Harvard, Yale, Princeton, MIT, Dartmouth, and several others--and in treatment centers across the country, is the only evidence-based mindfulness training program for young adults that has been empirically proven to have significant benefits for sleep, perceived stress, and self-compassion. Now, with The Mindful Twenty-Something, this popular program is accessible to all young adults struggling with stress. With Koru Mindfulness and the practical tools you'll learn from this acceptance-based, proven-effective approach, you'll be able to cultivate the compassion and mindfulness skills you need to manage life's challenges from a calm, balanced center, regardless of what comes your way.

Urban nature for human health and well-being : a research summary for communicating the health benefits of urban trees and green space. by United States, Forest Service (issuing body)

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

"Writers, philosophers, and naturalists have praised the benefits of nature for human health, happiness, and well-being for centuries, but only relatively recently have researchers begun studying and quantifying the complex relationship between human health and nature."

Print Books

Animal-Assisted Interventions for Emotional and Mental Health by Cynthia K. Chandler (Editor); Tiffany L. Otting (Editor)
Call Number: MAIN WM 450.5.A6 A598 2018
ISBN: 9780815395102
Publication Date: 2018-04-04
Animal-Assisted Interventions for Emotional and Mental Health provides a unique opportunity to learn from a variety of leaders in the field. Leading scholar Dr. Cynthia Chandler and colleague Dr. Tiffany Otting present interviews with pioneering experts from the U.S., U.K., Israel, India, and Hong Kong, revealing key beliefs, values, and ideas that are fundamental to animal-assisted interventions. Their words will inspire and guide current and future generations of practitioners, teachers, and researchers.
Anxiety Is Really Strange by Steve Haines; Sophie Standing (Illustrator)
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 172 H153 2018
ISBN: 1848193890
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Highly Commended in the 2018 British Medical Association Book Awards What is the difference between fear and excitement and how can you tell them apart? How do the mind and body make emotions? When can anxiety be good? This science-based graphic book addresses these questions and more, revealing just how strange anxiety is, but also how to unravel its mysteries and relieve its effects. Understanding how anxiety is created by our nervous system trying to protect us, and how our fight-or-flight mechanisms can get stuck, can significantly lessen the fear experienced during anxiety attacks. In this guide, anxiety is explained in an easy-to-understand, engaging graphic format with tips and strategies to relieve its symptoms, and change the mind's habits for a more positive outlook.
The Art of Possibility by Rosamund Stone Zander; Benjamin Zander
Call Number: Main Collection BC199.P7 Z36 2000
ISBN: 9780142001103
Publication Date: 2002-09-24
Presenting twelve breakthrough practices for bringing creativity into all human endeavors, The Art of Possibility is the dynamic product of an extraordinary partnership. The Art of Possibility combines Benjamin Zander's experience as conductor of the Boston Philharmonic and his talent as a teacher and communicator with psychotherapist Rosamund Stone Zander's genius for designing innovative paradigms for personal and professional fulfillment. The authors' harmoniously interwoven perspectives provide a deep sense of the powerful role that the notion of possibility can play in every aspect of life. Through uplifting stories, parables, and personal anecdotes, the Zanders invite us to become passionate communicators, leaders, and performers whose lives radiate possibility into the world
Also accessible online through the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/artofpossibility00zand
At War with Yourself by Samuel C. Williams
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 172.5 W727 2016
ISBN: 9781848192959
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
A documentary-style comic that follows two ex-military personnel as they cope with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in civilian life. Always on the lookout for fast exit routes in coffee shops and struggling to connect emotionally with family members, they share their experiences, and how they managed to live with their illness. Honest and informative, it will reach out to anyone who has been affected by PTSD.
Bibliotherapy by Liz Brewster; Sarah McNicol
Call Number: Main Collection WM 450.5.B5 B582 2018
ISBN: 9781783303410
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
The basic premise of bibliotherapy is that information, guidance, wellbeing and solace can be found through reading. This book draws on the latest international practical and theoretical developments in bibliotherapy to explore how librarians, healthcare providers and arts organizations can best support the health and wellbeing of their communities. There is no standard approach to bibliotherapy. This book considers how different theories apply to different types of bibliotherapy, using case studies to illustrate how particular approaches can be used across a broad range of settings and with a variety of user groups. By focusing on the theoretical basis and history of bibliotherapy, as well as current practice, it helps to identify areas in which bibliotherapy could grow as a field of study and of practice. Bibliotherapy programmes using books to support good mental health are found around the world. The editors and their contributors present examples from public libraries, academic libraries and healthcare settings internationally - including the UK, North and South America, and Australasia. Collaboration and diversity are key themes: engaging in bibliotherapy offers librarians key opportunities to collaborate with partners outside the profession, while engaging with more diverse audiences. The book will be of interest not only to researchers and theorists, but equally to those managing bibliotherapy programmes in health, public and academic libraries. It will also be very useful for healthcare providers and those with an interest in wellbeing more generally.
The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WM172.5 V228 2015
ISBN: 9780143127741
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
#1 New York Times bestseller "Essential reading for anyone interested in understanding and treating traumatic stress and the scope of its impact on society." --Alexander McFarlane, Director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies A pioneering researcher transforms our understanding of trauma and offers a bold new paradigm for healing in this New York Times bestseller Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world's foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers' capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust. He explores innovative treatments--from neurofeedback and meditation to sports, drama, and yoga--that offer new paths to recovery by activating the brain's natural neuroplasticity. Based on Dr. van der Kolk's own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score exposes the tremendous power of our relationships both to hurt and to heal--and offers new hope for reclaiming lives.
The Confidence Code by Katty Kay; Claire Shipman
Call Number: Main Collection BF 697 K23 2014
ISBN: 9780062230621
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
New York Times Bestseller Following the success of Lean In and Why Women Should Rule the World, the authors of the bestselling Womenomics provide an informative and practical guide to understanding the importance of confidence--and learning how to achieve it--for women of all ages and at all stages of their career. Working women today are better educated and more well qualified than ever before. Yet men still predominate in the corporate world. In The Confidence Code, Claire Shipman and Katty Kay argue that the key reason is confidence. Combining cutting-edge research in genetics, gender, behavior, and cognition--with examples from their own lives and those of other successful women in politics, media, and business--Kay and Shipman go beyond admonishing women to "lean in."
Instead, they offer the inspiration and practical advice women need to close the gap and achieve the careers they want and deserve.
COVID Chronicles by Sarah Firth (Contribution by); Eduardo Garcia (Contribution by); Mike Garcia (Contribution by) et al.
Call Number: Graphic Medical WC 17 C973 2021
ISBN: 9780271090146
Publication Date: 2022-03-22
In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic brought the world to itsknees. When we weren't sheltering in place, we were advised to wear masks, washour hands, and practice social distancing. We watched in horror as medicalpersonnel worked around the clock to care for the sick and dying. Businesseswere shuttered, travel stopped, workers were furloughed, and markets dropped.And people continued to die. Amid all thisuncertainty, writers and artists from around the world continued to createcomics, commenting directly on how individuals, societies, governments, andmarkets reacted to the worldwide crisis. COVID Chronicles: A Comics Anthologycollects more than sixty such short comics from a diverse set of creators,including indie powerhouses, mainstream artists, Ignatz and Eisner Awardwinners, and media cartoonists. In narrative styles ranging from realistic tofantastic, they tell stories about adjusting to working from home, homeschoolingtheir kids, missing birthdays and weddings, and being afraid just to leave thehouse. They probe the failures of government leaders and the social safety net.They dig into the racial bias and systemic inequities that this pandemic helpedbring to light. We see what it's like to get the virus and live to tell aboutit, or to stand by helplessly as a loved onepasses. At times heartbreaking and at othershopeful and humorous, these comics express the anger, anxiety, fear, andbewilderment we feel in the era of COVID-19. Above all, they highlight the powerof art and community to help us make sense of a world in crisis, reminding usthat we are truly all in this together. The comicsin this collection have been generously donated by their creators. A portion ofthe the proceeds from the sale of this volume are being donated by the publisherto the Book Industry Charitable Foundation (Binc) in support of comics shops,bookstores, and their employees who have been adversely affected by thepandemic.
Dear Scarlet by Teresa Wong
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WQ 500 W872d 2019
ISBN: 9781551527659
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Longlisted for Canada Reads; Finalist, City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize In this intimate and moving graphic memoir, Teresa Wong writes and illustrates the story of her struggle with postpartum depression in the form of a letter to her daughter Scarlet. Equal parts heartbreaking and funny, Dear Scarlet perfectly captures the quiet desperation of those suffering from PPD and the profound feelings of inadequacy and loss. As Teresa grapples with her fears and anxieties and grasps at potential remedies, coping mechanisms, and her mother's Chinese elixirs, we come to understand one woman's battle against the cruel dynamics of postpartum depression. Dear Scarlet is a poignant and deeply personal journey through the complexities of new motherhood, offering hope to those affected by PPD, as well as reassurance that they are not alone.
Full Catastrophe Living (Revised Edition) by Jon Kabat-Zinn; Thich Nhat Hanh (Preface by)
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WM 172.4 K33 2013
ISBN: 9780345536938
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The landmark work on mindfulness, meditation, and healing, now revised and updated after twenty-five years Stress. It can sap our energy, undermine our health if we let it, even shorten our lives. It makes us more vulnerable to anxiety and depression, disconnection and disease. Based on Jon Kabat-Zinn's renowned mindfulness-based stress reduction program, this classic, groundbreaking work--which gave rise to a whole new field in medicine and psychology--shows you how to use medically proven mind-body approaches derived from meditation and yoga to counteract stress, establish greater balance of body and mind, and stimulate well-being and healing. By engaging in these mindfulness practices and integrating them into your life from moment to moment and from day to day, you can learn to manage chronic pain, promote optimal healing, reduce anxiety and feelings of panic, and improve the overall quality of your life, relationships, and social networks. This second edition features results from recent studies on the science of mindfulness, a new Introduction, up-to-date statistics, and an extensive updated reading list. Full Catastrophe Living is a book for the young and the old, the well and the ill, and anyone trying to live a healthier and saner life in our fast-paced world. Praise for Full Catastrophe Living "To say that this wise, deep book is helpful to those who face the challenges of human crisis would be a vast understatement. It is essential, unique, and, above all, fundamentally healing."--Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president emeritus and senior fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement "One of the great classics of mind/body medicine."--Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D., author of Kitchen Table Wisdom "A book for everyone . . . Jon Kabat-Zinn has done more than any other person on the planet to spread the power of mindfulness to the lives of ordinary people and major societal institutions."--Richard J. Davidson, founder and chair, Center for Investigating Healthy Minds, University of Wisconsin-Madison "This is the ultimate owner's manual for our lives. What a gift!"--Amy Gross, former editor in chief, O: The Oprah Magazine "I first read Full Catastrophe Living in my early twenties and it changed my life."--Chade-Meng Tan, Jolly Good Fellow of Google and author of Search Inside Yourself "Jon Kabat-Zinn's classic work on the practice of mindfulness to alleviate stress and human suffering stands the test of time, a most useful resource and practical guide. I recommend this new edition enthusiastically to doctors, patients, and anyone interested in learning to use the power of focused awareness to meet life's challenges, whether great or small."--Andrew Weil, M.D., author of Spontaneous Happiness and 8 Weeks to Optimum Health "How wonderful to have a new and updated version of this classic book that invited so many of us down a path that transformed our minds and awakened us to the beauty of each moment, day-by-day, through our lives. This second edition, building on the first, is sure to become a treasured sourcebook and traveling companion for new generations who seek the wisdom to live full and fulfilling lives."--Diana Chapman Walsh, Ph.D., president emerita of Wellesley College
Also accessible online through the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/fullcatastrophel00kaba
The Golden Hour by Niki Smith
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WS 462.5.E5 S655.5 2021
ISBN: 9780316540339
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
A Kirkus's Best Middle Grade Books of 2021 Pick From the author of The Deep & Dark Blue comes a tender graphic novel, perfect for our time, that gently explores themes of self-discovery, friendship, healing from tragedy, and hope for a better tomorrow. Struggling with anxiety after witnessing a harrowing instance of gun violence, Manuel Soto copes through photography, using his cell-phone camera to find anchors that keep him grounded. His days are a lonely, latchkey monotony until he's teamed with his classmates, Sebastian and Caysha, for a group project. Sebastian lives on a grass-fed cattle farm outside of town, and Manuel finds solace in the open fields and in the antics of the newborn calf Sebastian is hand-raising. As Manuel aides his new friends in their preparations for the local county fair, he learns to open up, confronts his deepest fears, and even finds first love. This title will be simultaneously available in paperback.

The Happiness Advantage : the Seven Principles that Fuel Success and Performance at Work by Shawn Achor

Call Number: MAIN BF575.H27 A175

ISBN: 9780753539477

Publication Date: 01-01-2010

POPULAR PSYCHOLOGY. Most people want to be successful in life. And of course, everyone wants to be happy. When it comes to the pursuit of success and happiness, most people assume the same formula: if you work hard, you will become successful, and once you become successful, then you'll be happy. The only problem is that a decade of cutting-edge research in the field of positive psychology has proven that this formula is backwards. Success does not beget happiness. Based on the largest study ever conducted on happiness and human potential (a survey conducted by the author of more than 1,600 students), Harvard lecturer Shawn Achor shares seven core principles of positive psychology that each one of us can use to improve our performance, grow our careers, and gain a competitive edge at work. He reveals how happiness actually fuels success and performance, not the other way around.

Cover Art Holiday of darkness : a psychologist's personal journey out of his depression by Norman S. Endler

Call Number: Main Collection WM40 E56h 1990

ISBN: 9780921332299

Publication Date: 1990-01-01

A compelling personal account of his own mental illness by an eminent clinical psychologist and professor of psychology. Dr. Norman Endler relates the story of his depressive breakdown, including his early symptoms, his family's reactions, the effect on his work, the prognosis of the illness, and his therapy. His examination of the nature, antecedents, and treatment of depression offers valuable and accessible information and hope for recovery to those who suffer from its effects. Dr. Endler also offers valuable insights on controversial issues such as the stigma attached to mental illness, how the patient attempts to cope, and the use of drugs and electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) in treatment.

It Didn't Start with You by Mark Wolynn
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine BF637 W871 2016
ISBN: 9781101980385
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
A groundbreaking approach to transforming traumatic legacies passed down in families over generations. "This groundbreaking book offers a compelling understanding of inherited trauma and fresh, powerful tools for relieving its suffering. Mark Wolynn is a wise and trustworthy guide on the journey toward healing."-Tara Brach, PhD, author ofRadical AcceptanceandTrue Refuge A groundbreaking approach to transforming traumatic legacies passed down in families over generations, by an acclaimed expert in the field Depression. Anxiety. Chronic Pain. Phobias. Obsessive thoughts. The evidence is compelling- the roots of these difficulties may not reside in our immediate life experience or in chemical imbalances in our brains-but in the lives of our parents, grandparents, and even great-grandparents. The latest scientific research, now making headlines, supports what many have long intuited-that traumatic experience can be passed down through generations. It Didn't Start with You builds on the work of leading experts in post-traumatic stress, including Mount Sinai School of Medicine neuroscientist Rachel Yehuda and psychiatrist Bessel van der Kolk, author of The Body Keeps the Score. Even if the person who suffered the original trauma has died, or the story has been forgotten or silenced, memory and feelings can live on. These emotional legacies are often hidden, encoded in everything from gene expression to everyday language, and they play a far greater role in our emotional and physical health than has ever before been understood. As a pioneer in the field of inherited family trauma, Mark Wolynn has worked with individuals and groups on a therapeutic level for over twenty years. It Didn't Start with You offers a pragmatic and prescriptive guide to his method, the Core Language Approach. Diagnostic self-inventories provide a way to uncover the fears and anxieties conveyed through everyday words, behaviors, and physical symptoms. Techniques for developing a genogram or extended family tree create a map of experiences going back through the generations. And visualization, active imagination, and direct dialogue create pathways to reconnection, integration, and reclaiming life and health. It Didn't Start With You is a transformative approach to resolving longstanding difficulties that in many cases, traditional therapy, drugs, or other interventions have not had the capacity to touch.
Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love by Giovanni Frazzetto
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WL 103 F848j 2014
ISBN: 9780143123095
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
"Neuroscientist Giovanni Frazzetto enters the restless realm of human emotion through the portals of physiology, genetics, history, art and philosophy. Anger, guilt, anxiety, grief, empathy, joy and love are anatomized in turn, enlivened with research on everything from the role of monoamine oxidase A in anger to the engagement of opioid receptors as we thrill to music. And who knew that surrealist Salvador Dali created an art installation in the shape of a giant caterpillar to explore the process of sedation?" --Nature Is science ever enough to explain why we feel the way we feel? In this engaging account, renowned neuroscientist Giovanni Frazzetto blends cutting-edge scientific research with personal stories to reveal how our brains generate our emotions. He demonstrates that while modern science has expanded our knowledge, investigating art, literature, and philosophy is equally crucial to unraveling the brain's secrets. What can a brain scan, or our reaction to a Caravaggio painting, reveal about the deep seat of guilt? Can ancient remedies fight sadness more effectively than antidepressants? What can writing poetry tell us about how joy works? Structured in seven chapters encompassing common human emotions--anger, guilt, anxiety, grief, empathy, joy, and love--Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love offers a way of thinking about science and art that will help us to more fully understand ourselves and how we feel.
Marbles by Ellen Forney
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 17 F727m 2012
ISBN: 1592407323
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Cartoonist Ellen Forney explores the relationship between "crazy" and "creative" in this graphic memoir of her bipolar disorder, woven with stories of famous bipolar artists and writers. Shortly before her thirtieth birthday, Forney was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Flagrantly manic and terrified that medications would cause her to lose creativity, she began a years-long struggle to find mental stability while retaining her passions and creativity. Searching to make sense of the popular concept of the crazy artist, she finds inspiration from the lives and work of other artists and writers who suffered from mood disorders, including Vincent van Gogh, Georgia O'Keeffe, William Styron, and Sylvia Plath. She also researches the clinical aspects of bipolar disorder, including the strengths and limitations of various treatments and medications, and what studies tell us about the conundrum of attempting to "cure" an otherwise brilliant mind. Darkly funny and intensely personal, Forney's memoir provides a visceral glimpse into the effects of a mood disorder on an artist's work, as she shares her own story through bold black-and-white images and evocative prose.
Mindfulness in Eight Weeks: the Revolutionary 8 Week Plan to Clear Your Mind and Calm Your Life by Michael Chaskalson
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine BF 637.M56 C487 2014
ISBN: 9780007591435
Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Find your way into Mindfulness with this engaging and practical step-by-step guide that you can follow in your own time and in the comfort of your own home. Mindfulness training can change your life: recommended by the UK's National Institute for Health and Excellence and prescribed by the NHS, it helps you to experience less stress and anxiety, and to discover more joy and deeper sense of being in each moment. In just eight weeks, people who have learnt these simple and easy-to-follow methods describe how it gives them new zest for life and an increased courage to face whatever obstacles they come across. Michael Chaskalson is an expert instructor. His forty years of practical experience with Mindfulness have enabled him to create a do-it-yourself programme that brings a fresh ease to practising. Endorsed by bestselling author in the field, Mark Williams, this course is a unique hybrid of the two most popular approaches: Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) and Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT). Broken down into eight week segments with step-by-step instructions carefully coordinated for each, Mindfulness in Eight Weeks also comes with audio materials available to download to support home practice, making this book as near as you can get to being a participant on a teacher-led mindfulness course without actually joining one. Simple, supportive and highly recommended, this is THE revolutionary 8 week plan to detox, de-stress and de-clutter your mind.
Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine ML3830 .S13 2008
ISBN: 1400033535
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
Revised and Expanded With the same trademark compassion and erudition he brought to The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain and how it affects the human condition. In Musicophilia, he shows us a variety of what he calls "musical misalignments." Among them: a man struck by lightning who suddenly desires to become a pianist at the age of forty-two; an entire group of children with Williams syndrome, who are hypermusical from birth; people with "amusia," to whom a symphony sounds like the clattering of pots and pans; and a man whose memory spans only seven seconds-for everything but music. Illuminating, inspiring, and utterly unforgettable, Musicophilia is Oliver Sacks' latest masterpiece.
Also accessible online through the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/musicophilia00oliv
Passing for Human by Liana Finck
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WZ 100 F499 2018
ISBN: 9780525508922
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
A visually arresting graphic memoir about a young artist struggling against what's expected of her as a woman, and learning to accept her true self, from an acclaimed New Yorker cartoonist. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Guardian * New York * Refinery29 * Kirkus Reviews In this achingly beautiful graphic memoir, Liana Finck goes in search of that thing she has lost--her shadow, she calls it, but one might also think of it as the "otherness" or "strangeness" that has defined her since birth, that part of her that has always made her feel as though she is living in exile from the world. In Passing for Human, Finck is on a quest for self-understanding and self-acceptance, and along the way she seeks to answer some eternal questions: What makes us whole? What parts of ourselves do we hide or ignore or chase away--because they're embarrassing, or inconvenient, or just plain weird--and at what cost? Passing for Human is what Finck calls "a neurological coming-of-age story"--one in which, through her childhood, human connection proved elusive and her most enduring relationships were with plants and rocks and imaginary friends; in which her mother was an artist whose creative life had been stifled by an unhappy first marriage and a deeply sexist society that seemed expressly designed to snuff out creativity in women; in which her father was a doctor who struggled in secret with the guilt of having passed his own form of otherness on to his daughter; and in which, as an adult, Finck finally finds her shadow again--and, with it, her true self. Melancholy and funny, personal and surreal, Passing for Human is a profound exploration of identity by one of the most talented young comic artists working today. Part magical odyssey, part feminist creation myth, this memoir is, most of all, an extraordinary, moving meditation on what it means to be an artist and a woman grappling with the desire to pass for human. Praise for Passing for Human "In its ambition, framing, and multiple layers, [Passing for Human] raises the bar for graphic narrative. Even fans of [Liana Finck's] work in the New Yorker will be blindsided by this outstanding book."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A sure hit for readers of graphic memoirs, this explores feeling different while recognizing sameness in others and making art while embracing being a work-in progress oneself."--Annie Bostrom, Booklist "This story is as tender as it is wry. . . . Becoming human is a lifelong task--but Finck illustrates it with humor and panache."--Publishers Weekly
Psychological Resilience and Wellbeing v.1-3 by Stephen Palmer (Editor); Kristina Gyllensten (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection WM 172.4 P176 2015 v.1
ISBN: 9781473912120
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Resilience and wellbeing - namely how people cope, handle and even thrive despite stress and adversity - are topics in the psychological literature canon that are gaining increasing attention. Within these fields researchers have aimed to identify individual characteristics that help to protects against hardship and difficulties such as poverty and mental illness. They have also investigated the actual process of resilience in order to understand human functioning in difficult situations. These three volumes provide the reader with access to key documents which demonstrate the evolution of this dynamic area of study over the past few decades, with each volume opening with an introductory chapter written by the editors. Volume One: The history and development of theories: Resilience and wellbeing Volume Two: The measurement of resilience and wellbeing Volume Three: The enhancement of resilience and wellbeing
Rock Steady by Ellen Forney (Artist)
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 171.7 F727 2018
ISBN: 9781683961017
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Rock Steady: Brilliant Advice From My Bipolar Life is the eagerly awaited sequel/ companion book to Forney's 2012 best-selling graphic memoir, Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, and Me. Whereas Marbles was a memoir about her bipolar disorder, Rock Steady turns the focus outward, offering a self-help survival guide of tips, tricks and tools by someone who has been through it all and come through stronger for it.
Rx by Rachel Lindsay
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 171.7 L748 2018
ISBN: 9781455598540
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
A graphic memoir about the treatment of mental illness, treating mental illness as a commodity. In her early twenties in New York City, diagnosed with bipolar disorder, Rachel Lindsay takes a job in advertising in order to secure healthcare coverage for her treatment. But work takes a strange turn when she is promoted onto the Pfizer account and suddenly finds herself on the other side of the curtain, developing ads for an anti-depressant drug. Overwhelmed by her professional life and the self-scrutiny it inspires, her mania takes hold. She quits her job to become an artist, only to be hospitalized by her parents against her will. Over the course of her two weeks in the ward, she tries to find a path out of the hospital and this cycle of treatment. One where she can live the life she wants, finding freedom and autonomy, without sacrificing her dreams in order to stay well.
The Soul Is Here for Its Own Joy by Robert Bly
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine PN 6110 R4 S68 1995
ISBN: 0880013559
Publication Date: 1995-10-21
This book is a poetic exploration of different aspects of spiritual and religious questioning and includes such poets as: Rainer Maria Rilke, Rumi, Emily Dickinson, Rabindranath Tagore, Hafez, Danta Alighieri, Simone Weil, St. John of the Cross, Owl Woman, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Wallace Stevens, Antonio Machado, George Herbert, and Kabir.
Teaming with Your Therapy Dog by Ann R. Howie
Call Number: Main Collection WM 450.5.A6 H861 2015
ISBN: 9781557537034
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
This book reminds all handlers who work on teaming with their dogs that they must focus on their behavior, not just the animal's. It provides general principles of teamwork that they can apply in their own way to work with their therapy dog. As the author writes, ?The book explores a way of being conscious of what you do with and to your therapy dog to support him in his work. It describes functional principles of behavior you can learn and use immediately, independently or together as a package.? Using an exciting new methodology, the author outlines several STEPs for teaming with your dog: Speak conversationally, stay in touch with your dog, keep your eyes on your dog, maintain close proximity to your dog, and (most importantly) be fully present.
Touched with Fire by Kay Redfield Jamison
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine WM207 J32t 1996
ISBN: 9780684831831
Publication Date: 1996-10-18
The anguished and volatile intensity associated with the artistic temperament was once thought to be a symptom of genius or eccentricity peculiar to artists, writers and musicians. Kay Jamison's work, based on her study as a clinical psychologist and researcher in mood disorders, reveals that many artists subject to exalted highs and despairing lows were in fact engaged in a struggle with clinically identifiable manic-depressive illness. Jamison presents proof of the biological foundations of this disease and applies what is known about the illness to the lives and works of some of the world's greatest artists including Byron, Van Gogh, Schumann and Woolf.
Trauma Is Really Strange by Sophie Standing (Illustrator); Steve Haines
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WO 700 H153 2016
ISBN: 9781848192935
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
What is trauma? How does it change the way our brains work? And how can we overcome it? When something traumatic happens to us, we dissociate and our bodies shut down their normal processes. This unique comic explains the strange nature of trauma and how it confuses the brain and affects the body. With wonderful artwork, cat and mouse metaphors, essential scientific facts, and a healthy dose of wit, the narrator reveals how trauma resolution involves changing the body's physiology and describes techniques that can achieve this, including Trauma Releasing Exercises that allow the body to shake away tension, safely releasing deep muscular patterns of stress and trauma.
An Unquiet Mind by Kay Redfield Jamison
Call Number: History of Medicine WZ 100 J32 1996
ISBN: 9780679763307
Publication Date: 1997-01-14
WITH A NEW PREFACE BY THE AUTHOR In her bestselling classic, An Unquiet Mind, Kay Redfield Jamison changed the way we think about moods and madness. Dr. Jamison is one of the foremost authorities on manic-depressive (bipolar) illness; she has also experienced it firsthand. For even while she was pursuing her career in academic medicine, Jamison found herself succumbing to the same exhilarating highs and catastrophic depressions that afflicted many of her patients, as her disorder launched her into ruinous spending sprees, episodes of violence, and an attempted suicide. Here Jamison examines bipolar illness from the dual perspectives of the healer and the healed, revealing both its terrors and the cruel allure that at times prompted her to resist taking medication. An Unquiet Mind is a memoir of enormous candor, vividness, and wisdom--a deeply powerful book that has both transformed and saved lives.
What Doctors Feel by Danielle Ofri
Call Number: Humanities in Medicine W 62 O33w 2013
ISBN: 9780807033302
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
"A fascinating journey into the heart and mind of a physician" that explores doctor-patient relations, the flaws in our health care system, and how doctors' emotions impact medical care (Boston Globe) While much has been written about the minds and methods of the medical professionals who save our lives, precious little has been said about their emotions. Physicians are assumed to be objective, rational beings, easily able to detach as they guide patients and families through some of life's most challenging moments. But understanding doctors' emotional responses to the life-and-death dramas of everyday practice can make all the difference on giving and getting the best medical care. Digging deep into the lives of doctors, Dr. Danielle Ofri examines the daunting range of emotions--shame, anger, empathy, frustration, hope, pride, occasionally despair, and sometimes even love--that permeate the contemporary doctor-patient connection. Drawing on scientific studies, including some surprising research, Dr. Ofri offers up an unflinching look at the impact of emotions on health care. Dr. Ofri takes us into the swirling heart of patient care, telling stories of caregivers caught up and occasionally torn down by the whirlwind life of doctoring. She admits to the humiliation of an error that nearly killed one of her patients. She mourns when a beloved patient is denied a heart transplant. She tells the riveting stories of an intern traumatized when she is forced to let a newborn die in her arms, and of a doctor whose daily glass of wine to handle the frustrations of the ER escalates into a destructive addiction. Ofri also reveals that doctors cope through gallows humor, find hope in impossible situations, and surrender to ecstatic happiness when they triumph over illness.
When Anxiety Attacks by Terian Koscik
Call Number: Graphic Medicine WM 172 K86 2016
ISBN: 9781848192843
Publication Date: 2015-09-21
Frank and full of gentle humour, Terian Koscik's graphic memoirshares her experiences of living with anxiety, finding the courage tosee a therapist, and learning more than she could have imagined. Evenin childhood, anxious thoughts would seep into Terian's day. Yetshe never thought that getting professional help was for her, simplyconcluding that her problems weren't "real" problems. Butwhen her anxiety finally became overwhelming, she knew it was time tosee a therapist. To her surprise, Terian learned endless copingtechniques through her therapy sessions. She shares how mindfulnessstrategies helped her and how "I" statements encouraged herto express feelings more openly. But perhaps the most important thingshe learned was that there really is no right way to feel.